Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 23, 2010
I think all of the people complaining about the lack of academic level detail and scholarship in this series are missing the point. This 12 episode series is a really fantastic overview of American History. Oftentimes when we study history in school, through long, detailed books, over the course of several months, we tend to lose the forest for the trees. This medium of learning has it's place, watching this series you get a feel through a quick succession of stories, as to how America began and developed over the last two and a half centuries. What it lacks in "legitimate" scholarship it more than makes up for by it's production quality, compelling story-telling and entertainment. Another thing to note is the populist perspective of the series. Most history textbooks and academics focus too heavily on the actions of political leaders, but this series is truly about the "story of us" as indicated by its title. I was surprised to find that there was almost no discussion about the writing of the constitution, not much talk about the Presidents and the legislation they pushed through or the policies they enacted. Instead, the series incorporates a lot of anecdotes and stories of people and movements that shaped the course of this country, from the Chinese immigrants who built the railroads to the construction workers who built New York City, to historic figures like Frederick Douglas, Harriet Tubman and Andrew Carnegie. If I were a school teacher I would show my students this entire series at the beginning of each year, if for nothing else but to pique their interest in history and what they're about to learn in greater detail over the course of the term.
1616 comments|353 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2010
First off, I am well aware that this documentary is not perfect. Having studied history, I feel that this documentary was lacking in some parts. Still, this series is solid and tight.

I learned a lot of neat trivia from this that I had not known before. This documentary feels to be geared more towards beginners, rather than scholars. If you're a history expert, you will find some parts lacking. (I am not a expert, but I do love history) but you will also most likely also learn some new things here. This would be a fun documentary for middle or high school students, as well as people who would like a basic (NOT a complete) overview of American history. I mean, it's impossible to give a complete overview of 400 years of history in twelve episodes, (less than twelve hours when you take out the commercials)

I can't say that I enjoyed all of the guest speakers, but some of them were rather relevant. Donald Trump talked about the Great Depression. Al Sharpton talked about the role of black people. And so on and so forth. Some of the guest speakers were better suited for their roles than others - I can't imagine why they would have Sheryl Crowe on this, but Rudy Guilliani was good. My biggest gripe was that they had P Diddy on there. COME ON. Why him? They also had the guy from Pawn Stars in the final episode, and I was excited to see him, but he didn't really contribute anything worthwhile, what he said didn't add anything to the documentary.

This is different from other History Channel documentaries in the past. It concentrates more on PEOPLE, not things/artifacts (this is why it's called The Story of *Us*) and the struggles, trials, and tribulations of a growing country. Yeah, this series did not say much about World War 1 or the War of 1812, but remember, the History Channel has separate documentary series on all different wars and other things, so if you wish for a more complete overview on a particular war or event, you can search the History Channel site or YouTube for documentaries that are more specific on one subject. This is not a documentary about war or politics, but how we have changed through our history, what innovations effected these changes (the Transcontinental Railroad, the Model-T and assembly line production, etc)

The writing's solid and fairly well-written. If you're looking for a documentary that is fun and interesting to watch, this is the one for you. Kids will also enjoy this. My roomate (who's not a geek like me) found herself enjoying this and learning a lot from it even though history isn't what she is interested in. I will say that some things became more clear for me in this documentary - some 'aha! I get it now!' moments. A few parts were repetitive, but overall the series moved at a smooth pace.

If I had to grade this, I'd give it a solid B. It might not be History Channel's best series, but for those of you wishing to learn something new or want a different perspective on American history, it's worth watching.

It would be cool to see a 'Story Of Us' for other countries, though since most countries are older than America (China's history is over 5000 years old) that would be a difficult task that needs to be carried out carefully (meaning no celebrity speakers who have nothing to add to the documentary!)
44 comments|148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2010
This six-night miniseries is a quick tour of American history from the first English colonies in the New World to the present. To properly hit every important event, person and place throughout American history is far beyond the scope of a series of this length. Nevertheless, it is a good view of all the most important developments that explain how the United States became what it is, without glossing over the darker spots such as Indian removal and slavery.

Some omissions (such as skimming over almost all of World War I) and some factual "Yeah, but..." moments in an otherwise good series would have earned a 4-star rating, but the 3-star comes from some of the people that they had commenting in the series. While some, such as Michael Bloomberg, make sense in the context of the material (for instance, New York City during the Revolution), there is no good reason to have celebrities along the lines of Sheryl Crow, Margaret Cho or Michael Douglas appearing in what's supposed to be a serious look at history. If there had been more historians offering their views instead of celebrities, then I would have gladly given this series 4 stars. As it is, it is enjoyable yet flawed, and receives three.
66 comments|180 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2011
The History Channel has been criticized for its recent specialty in "he-man" reality shows about truckers, sharpshooters, and lumberjacks or wacky conspiracy theories and New-Agey faux history topics (Templars, Nostradamus, ancient astronauts, etc.). This series has been widely heralded as the History Channel's return to its roots, but they might have been better off sticking with Ancient Astronauts and the Templars. Quite simply, this series is awful.

Even a lot of the negative reviews miss the point. If it was just a problem of using celebrity commentators rather than historians, questionable emphasis, or leaving things out, I'd have no problem with this series. As a US History teacher, I'm fully aware of how ponderous specialist history can be. There's a place on TV and in the classroom for accessible, interesting presentations of US history, even if they "leave some things out." I bought this specifically with the idea of showing it to my students. But it's not a matter of celebrity talking heads or "leaving out something real important," it's a matter of inventing US history out of thin air. Quite simply, this ISN'T US History. I'm not really sure what it is, but anyone who subjects their history students to this garbage is really being irresponsible.

OK, first of all, you have to swallow the weird videography: the endless, repetition of sweeping airborne pans of the wilderness or the seacoast, slow motion close-ups of a bullet flying through the air, and animated shots of the bottoms of sailing vessels. Either they have a very small video-clip library or the world's most unimaginative video editor.

Then there's the hype - the narrator's favorite line, used every few minutes and as every fadeout for commercials, is "What happened next would change the course of US History forever."

But those are nits: the real problem is that this video ISN'T US HISTORY. One simple example demonstrates the point. Their coverage of the Revolution says there were three main reasons we won: Washington's leadership, Daniel Morgan's sharpshooters assassination of General Burgoyne's Indian scouts and British officers during the Saratoga campaign, and the machinations of the Culper Spy Ring in New York City. Are you kidding?

Washington's leadership clearly was an important cause of victory, but even this one has some problems. Some of their examples about Washington's leadership are a little weird. For example, they make a big deal about his inoculation of the army for smallpox while it was at Valley Forge, which was at best the 4th most important thing Washington accomplished over that momentous winter -- fighting off the Conway Cabal, holding the army together, and appointing Steuben drillmaster were far more important than this sideshow story. Seemingly, the main reason they tell about the inoculations is because it fits their template -- Americans and technology, conquering the world.

But that's a quibble. I can think that the smallpox inoculations are a pretty minor incident, but that's an editorial decision. The other two big "causes" of victory, the Culper Spy Ring and Morgan' sharpshooters, are the problems.

First Culper's Spy Ring. The best thing that can be said about the Spy Ring is that at least it did exist, and it's a legitimate, minor story about a theater of the war (New York City in the last couple years of the war) where no major battles were fought (while the action took place in the South and the Caribbean, both areas not mentioned in the series). But it's a minor story, barely mentioned, if at all, in the textbooks, not covered in any curriculum. And the show spends more time on a step-by-step description of how the ring passed a message than they spend on the debates of the 2nd Continental Congress on independence.

And the story they tell about the Culper Ring? Well ... the British navy is planning to attack Newport, which will endanger the French fleet, but the Culper Spy Ring finds out and gets a message to Washington, who moves his army forward to fake an attack on New York City. The result is yet another time that "the course of the Revolution is changed:" the British don't move and THE FRENCH NAVY IS SAVED, so they can be used decisively in the next campaign. What? Are you kidding? Something that didn't happen is something that "changed the course of the war?" A non-campaign that's not mentioned in any high school textbook I've ever read "changed the course of the war?"

Later, there's no mention of the critical part played by the French navy in the Yorktown campaign, so the viewer is left to wonder why saving the French navy was so important. You have to wonder why the producers make such a big deal out of such a trivial story -- until you remember that the Culper Spy Ring was the subject of an episode of the History Channel's weird, conspiracy theory show called "Brad Meltzer Bays at the Moon" (or something like that). Why worry about trivializing US history when you have a chance to do some good cross-promotion?

But at least the Culper Ring, minor as it is, actually happened. The coverage of Morgan and Saratoga is even worse because they simply MADE IT UP. The story they tell of Burgoyne's travails totally ignores the real problems Burgoyne faced: problems with St. Leger's expedition, Howe's failure to move up the Hudson to meet him, and his losses at the Battle of Bennington, all vital parts of the campaign and significant contributors to Burgoyne's failure. Instead we get this simple-minded narrative that Daniel Morgan and his rifle-armed sharpshooters invented a totally new style of warfare: hiding in the woods and bushwhacking the Redcoats (in reality, this "brand new" type of warfare was routinely used by both sides in the Indian wars that had been going on for 150 years). And Morgan's strategy, throughout Burgoyne's long march, was to pick off Burgoyne's Indian scouts (thus causing the remaining ones to desert so that Burgoyne's knowledge of the local area was lost) and then assassinate his officers. In short, another custom-built example of America's triumph through the use of new technology.

One of his talking heads says "the guy who fired the shot that killed Simon Fraser may have contributed as much to independence as anyone." Give me a break. Without question, Saratoga was the turning point of the Revolution but the story this video tells is unrecognizable. Burgoyne didn't fail because Morgan assassinated his scouts and officers.

For one thing, Morgan didn't arrive in the area until nearly a month after the Battle of Bennington, which marked the point where Burgoyne's situation went from serious to dire. Morgan's leadership and troops certainly played a key role in the pitched battles at Freeman's Farm and Bemis Heights. But the attribution of Burgoyne's defeat (and, in fact, American victory in the Revolution) to this "new way of warfare" that Morgan invented and applied throughout the campaign is pure fantasy. Morgan and his riflemen played no role whatsoever during Burgoyne's march -- they weren't even there for most of it. And the rifle, far from being a magical technology that revolutionized warfare, was actually a minor, difficult to use, niche weapon -- useful for sharpshooting but worse than useless in most combat. And it's simply irresponsible to turn Fraser's death into one of the pivotal moments of the Revolution. It was an important moment in the battle and probably prevented the British from rallying, but there was a lot of hard fighting still to go and many twists and turns (Arnold's heroic arrival on the field, for one thing) after Fraser was killed. Yet they endlessly recycle this summary of the reasons for our victory: leadership, technology, and spying. One (leadership) true but argued with bogus examples and the other two utterly fabricated. And in case you miss the point, they must remind you another dozen times over the course of later episodes that the rifle basically won the war.

The other parts I watched were very mixed. The section on the Great Depression is almost as bad as the American Revolution. It is simply unrecognizable. Like most of the video, they stitch together 3-4 10 minute segments to tell the whole story -- everything else is ignored. The story of the Great Depression? Well ... the stock market crash didn't really have any effect on anything, everything was hunky-dory until a bank run the next year. We apparently didn't have a President at any point during the Depression. I don't think Hoover is mentioned at all and FDR gets just one quick mention. No mention of the New Deal. "The Depression" is pretty much defined to mean "the Dust Bowl." And our efforts to fight the Depression pretty much consisted of building Hoover Dam and carving Mount Rushmore. To show how silly this is, the carving of Mount Rushmore started two years before the Depression and it only involved 400 workers. It was a tourism-promotion scheme, not a jobs program. Hoover Dam involved more workers and was partly conceived as a jobs program, but it too started while Hoover was president. And a one-sentence mention of some public works programs that didn't work. Seriously. Any history teacher using that segment of trash to supplement their lesson on the Great Depression should lose their teaching license.

I didn't like their portrayals of the Civil War or WWII at all. While I didn't spot the egregious fabrications of the Revolutionary War episode, they had no narrative of events at all and instead picked a couple themes and beat them to death (for example, in the Civil War, mass production of bullets, the scale of the slaughter, medicine, and the impact of the railroad and telegraph).

Then there's their weird fixation on high explosives and accidental explosions as a key driver of American history. When they tell us (at length) the dramatic story about some ridge that was supposedly the key barrier to the construction of the Erie Canal and how dangerous it was with the Irish immigrants using gunpowder to blow the ridge up, that was a little weird but ok. But then there's the even more dramatic story how the key to the Transcontinental RR was the Donner Pass tunnel and nitroglycerine was so dangerous that even the Irish quit and only the Chinese would go in and plant it -- and then we hear about this thunderstorm that accidentally blew up the dynamite while they were making Mount Rushmore -- and the detonators that were accidentally spilled on the floor by a bunch of female factory workers during the middle of a thunderstorm. Really? No mention of Guadalcanal, Midway, Iwo Jima, or any European battle other than D Day, and we get 10 minutes about dropping detonators on the floor? And of course finally we get the "Challenger" explosion.

Some other sections aren't atrocious. The introductory section on Jamestown and Plymouth, the Battle of Lexington and Concord, the controversy about slavery, and civil rights were a little simplistic and hyped, but they were ok. I wasn't sure the Donner Party was worth 10 minutes for any reason other than sensationalism (and foreshadowing that story about the TCRR tunnel through the same pass), but the basic story of the Oregon Trail and the Gold Rush was well told. The section on the boom of the early 20th century was ok: Ford really did make the car available to the common man and in the process changed the nature of work, having a car really did "change everything" as Liev Schreiber told us (for about the 87th time), and Spindletop really was the oil well that inaugurated the whole Texas-Oklahoma oil boom and made oil an inexpensive industrial commodity.

Other assertions -- cotton looms led directly to the computer industry, for example, or the major social impact of whale oil -- seem a little overheated. And they have this way of dropping in dramatic factoids, some of which are ridiculous (Morgan's riflemen could fire 3X as far as the "average range of a modern FBI sniper shot") and many of which make you go "huh?" (whale oil is still used in the Hubble telescope).

Their sections on what happeed after World War II are mixed. They eventually get around to the Cold War and mention the space race (briefly) in that context. But that comes at least 20 minutes after their first run-through on the US in space. First time through, the story is literally "we led the way in flight with the Wright brothers, and aviation was built through WWI and WWII and then the Boeing 707 came along and people could fly nonstop from coast-to-coast so a trip that took the pioneers 5 months (show recycled image of covered wagons) now took 5 hours and then we went in to space and JFK said let's send a man to the moon by the end of the decade so America's wonderful engineers and that wonderful NASA worked together and we made it." Wow, great story, left out one or two little details like the fact that Sputnik was as big a deal at the time as Pearl Harbor and the nation gathered around the TV in dread whenever the Russians beat us to another milestone in space (first dog in space, Yuri Gagarin, etc.) So their basic story about the US in space totally misses the main theme that it was an intense Cold War competition and that we were behind most of the time ... But it's a nice story.

Some of the modern stories were ok, though I got tired of the device they used for every one of them, tying it back to one of their themes (show image of people in canoes, Daniel Boone on the Wilderness Trail, wagons headed west, Transcontinental railroad, primitive cars, and then lead into the building of the Interstate Highways; rinse, recycle, repeat endlessly).

And there are parts -- the Donner Party, the specifics about the Erie Canal construction, the important role of African Americans in the whaling industry -- where I just don't know enough to evaluate what they assert. And was the whaling industry and whale oil so important in US history that it deserves perhaps 5X as much time as the debates about independence and the constitution combined? Problem is, there are so many inaccuracies that I don't know whether I can trust the parts where I don't have detailed knowledge.

I think their problem is that they developed a template (Americans are adventurous, entrepreneurial, fight back, use advanced technology, have highly organized industrial systems, and use both new technology and spying in wars). And then they go out and manufacture a story to fit the template, whether the story fits the template or not. And the steady flow of superlatives (this next thing we're going to talk about "changed everything") wears you down.

The people who see the video as "anti-American" or "left wing" or "just telling the bad stuff" simply demonstrate how over-sensitive the flag-wavers have become. Does the video say slavery was bad and that we stole the land from the Indians? Well, duh. But despite acknowledging certain unpleasant facts, the overall message is overwhelmingly pro-American, in fact kind of jingoistic. We're rugged, we're individualists, we're entrepreneurs, we're risk-takers, we civilize the wilderness, we tame everything in our path, "we turn our dreams ..... into reality." Yes, Al Sharpton and Sheryl Crow are featured as talking heads, but for the most part it's a "hurray for us, we conquered the world and provided opportunities for lots of people -- eventually" message. And, I did see three one-time GOP presidential candidates (Gingrich, Giuliani, and Trump; not exactly Santorum, Bachmann, and Perry, I realize, but still 3 GOP candidates) as well as Sean Hannity on the list of commentators. No, the problem with celebrity talking heads isn't their political bias; it's their lack of independent knowledge. When you see one of them chiming in with a quote that supports the producers' thesis, that's not because a lifetime of research led them to that conclusion -- they're just actors, reading the script the producers gave them.

I'm all for accessible US history. But if you showed this to your history class, your discussion of errors would be longer than the video. Mel Gibson's movies "Braveheart" and "the Patriot" have been rightly criticized for their inaccuracies, but they're better history than this video. Heck, "Ax-Men" is better history.
3030 comments|213 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2011
This is an unbelievable series! From the time I sat down and watched the first episode until the end of the final episode this show kept me wanting more! The beauty of this show is that after each episode, I feel like I have learned everything that I didnt care to pay attention to in Middle School and High School! The story is perfect, and its done in an entertaining way. This is a great series for the entire family or anyone that wants a better understanding of american history.
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2011
Once I started watching this, I could not turn it off. It is such a beautiful tribute to our great country and those courageous Americans that made it great. I firmly believe it should be shown in all our schools as part of the history classes; it would capture the attention of the kids better than the usual boring history books. I have given "America the Story of Us" to several of my grandchildren and they loved it!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2011
Great series so far except each time I see Sheryl Crow talk about rugged individualism, or Michael Douglas talk about hard work, or Sean P Diddy talk about American work ethics I just have to cringe. Why did they have to include these people in the series and to what effect? I can see Neil Armstrong (Modern Day space pioneer), GEN Colin Powell, Giuliani and Bloomberg since they actual worked on behalf of the country. But the authors like Balducci (not a historian) and all the movie stars and music artists detract from the story. I don't hate these people I just don't think they represent real America in the least. They are entertainers and coincidentally not many entertainers have been mentioned so far in this story of America. Are we supposed to believe that in the future people will be reading in history books about the great contributions Hollywood made to this great nation we call America? I hope not.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2010
This series is clearly not for serious historians. I have always had an interest in US History, but my expertise ended with a 5 in AP US History in 11th Grade 23 years ago.

My wife, who is a high school English teacher, and I thoroughly enjoyed the first 2 hours this past weekend. We have set the rest of the series to record and I have pre-ordered the BluRay set. The first 2 hrs covers about 160 years of US history from 1621 thru 1782, which includes the first settlements in the US thru the end of the Revolutionary War. Obviously 90 minutes of television is woefully inadequate to cover such a time period and such pivitol events.

Still, the episodes fly by and they do a great job of including key events along with highlighting key individuals who are less known. They also provide a great deal of context into what is going on.

I would give this 5 stars if they had stuck to credible people to discuss some of the events. The first 2 episodes include sound bites from Rudy Guliani, Michael Bloomberg, Donald Trump, Michael Douglas and I saw Cheryl Crown in a preview for the next episode. I think they should have limited themselves to actual historians for the commentary. Still, probably most of what they say was scripted, so it isn't a total farce.

I feel i covered most of this information in jr. high and high school. Still, i think there are many people who can benefit from this series. My parents are not from America and they won't have covered any of this in school. I live in Miami which is full of immigrants who also might not know a lot of American history. I think that it is entertaining enough that children who find history boring might give it another chance. Covering almost 400 years in 12 hrs isn't going to give you the difinitive work on American History, but it is great for people who might not realize how rich this country's history is.
22 comments|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2011
Why, oh why, did they feel the need to have hollywood celebrities, who know nothing of anything, bring commentary to this documentary? I expected historians, archaeologists, and professors, and instead they ruined this show with celebrities who contribute nothing to program in terms of knowledge or expertise. I couldn've been on this show for all that was worth, but I'm not famous.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2015
This is one,if not the best ,stories of how our country evolved. The Indians who helped the first settlers, the settlers' courage and determination to push always ahead, the struggles they encountered. Their endurance was a miracle.
This is one DVD that I will keep for my grand daughter so she will never forget what it took for America to become the land of the free. It didn't just drop down from heaven but, in my opinion, God had a great hand in giving to us the greatest land in His dominion.
I shutter when I see what is happening now.
There may not be a follow up for the next generation. No "Story of Us" for them. The melting pot of people, who helped America to become great nation, are now ruining it ,because of greed and power. Where did OUR America go? Our true Americans, who have been giving their lives
to keep us free from oppression. Did they and are they dying in vain? Just think about it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.