Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less salt with good taste!
Due to high blood pressure, I have been trying to cook healthier for my husband and myself; mainly low-salt and low-fat.

This cookbook is informative: telling how to avoid hidden sodium in foods, list of foods high in sodium and healthy cooking techniques, plus many great recipes. We especially liked the Chicken, Barley and Spinach Casserole, the Chicken...
Published on December 7, 2011 by Pam

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars recipes are too repetitive with ingredients.
These recipes used lots of peppers and spicy ingredients I don't use. I was looking for ideas for simple recipes that taste good without salt or sugar. Too many recipes with ingredients I can't get in a small town.
Published 13 months ago by bloempje


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less salt with good taste!, December 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Due to high blood pressure, I have been trying to cook healthier for my husband and myself; mainly low-salt and low-fat.

This cookbook is informative: telling how to avoid hidden sodium in foods, list of foods high in sodium and healthy cooking techniques, plus many great recipes. We especially liked the Chicken, Barley and Spinach Casserole, the Chicken Dijon and Scalloped Potatoes. I just wish it included some photo shots of the dishes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate low sodium cookbook, April 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Finally, a low sodium cookbook worth buying. It has a good tutorial on sodium's place in our diet. The recipes are truly tasty and truly low sodium. The Kindle edition's bookmarking and notes capabilities are especially convenient. The barbeque sauce is especially good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low Salt, February 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this cookbook because I was put on a very low salt diet. It has proven to be a great addition to my cookbooks and I have used many of the recipes. My husband, who is a salt addict, also enjoys the recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, July 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've ordered several low sodium cookbooks after my husband was put on a low sodium diet. This one has some of the best recipes of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Alternative to how to eat properly, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Heart Association Low-Salt Cookbook, 4th Edition: A Complete Guide to Reducing Sodium and Fat in Your Diet (Paperback)
I got this book because it fits in with the cardiac diet that my partner was told to low fat, low salt and low-cholesterol and this fits right in with what we needed.

The meals are easy to fix and are very good. It doesn't make us feel like we are going without things we like to eat, just in a different format of ingredients.

Yes, I would recommend this book to anyone I know that would have to watch what they have to eat to maintain good health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars recipes are too repetitive with ingredients., November 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
These recipes used lots of peppers and spicy ingredients I don't use. I was looking for ideas for simple recipes that taste good without salt or sugar. Too many recipes with ingredients I can't get in a small town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cookbook, September 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Previously I had checked out this cookbook from my public library to figure out if it would be worth the price. And, it was. I'm using the low-salt salad dressings and cole slaw dressing which are full of salt at the supermarket. We love the Tuna Pasta casserole. If you need to reduce sodium in your diet, this cookbook is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a low sodium diet, April 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Heart Association Low-Salt Cookbook, 4th Edition: A Complete Guide to Reducing Sodium and Fat in Your Diet (Paperback)
Perfect recipes for low sodium diet...............easy to digest material and recipes easy to make. I would like to see more vegan recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yuck!!!, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My husband will eat anything but 5 out of 5 recipes got got thrown in the trash. Horrible, bland, tasteless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, May 11, 2013
By 
L Kirby (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Heart Association Low-Salt Cookbook, 4th Edition: A Complete Guide to Reducing Sodium and Fat in Your Diet (Paperback)
Gift for my sister who had a heart attack and has high blood pressure. She started using it right away and enjoyed it but did say that she wished they had fewer ingredients in the recipes. She likes it a lot though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

American Heart Association Low-Salt Cookbook, 4th Edition: A Complete Guide to Reducing Sodium and Fat in Your Diet
$16.00 $13.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.