Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


152 of 162 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Governor Ventura is right on: " I don't get intimidated, I get angry."
Jesse starts out by telling us his first days as Minnesota's first Independent governor and how he was requested to meet with and answer some questions by those wonderful folks with the CIA down in the lower area of the Minnesota Capitol Building. He is obviously a conspiracy nut (and I don't mean that in a derogatory way) who takes his research seriously and is...
Published on April 22, 2010 by Kenneth W. Kassen

versus
34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American Conspiracies: Interesting concept, hard to follow
As an X-Phile and someone who has always been intrigued by conspiracy theories, I was looking forward to reading this book and wasn't disappointed (though I also wasn't blown away). Jesse Ventura, along with co-writer Dick Russell, explores history-changing events, from the assassination of Abraham Lincoln to the Wall Street scandal. Each chapter delves into one of these...
Published on March 27, 2010 by T. Petrella


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A crash course in the most famous conspiracies, November 13, 2010
Former wrestler, former governor, and now host of his own cable TV reality show, Jesse Ventura is also a conspiracy theorist which, depending on your point of view, makes him either a "nut" or a crusader for truth. I call him a crusader for truth because the only people who are not conspiracy theorists are those who sit back and impassively let the government and the media force feed them whatever lie they need to hear to keep them quiet and docile.

In American Conspiracies, Ventura and co-writer Dick Russell examine some of the more notable conspiracies in search of the truth that the media knows but refuses to acknowledge and which the average citizen would rather not know anyway. There isn't a lot here that's new to anyone who has already read earlier books about both Kennedy assassinations (the best of which, by far, is The Assassinations edited by James DiEugenio and Lisa Pease), Watergate, the attempt to oust FDR in favor of a dictator (a plot in which Prescott Bush of THE Bush family was involved) and 9/11, but Ventura has the benefit of a high profile which most conspiracy experts lack, so his crash course on these and other plots (the Lincoln assassination, the Jonestown Massacre, the CIA's role in the crack cocaine epidemic, and more) has the potential to reach and sway a wider audience than more thorough exposes (many of which are cited at the end of the book and are worth checking out).

During his one term as governor of Minnesota, Ventura also gained first-hand knowledge of the shadowy forces, most tied to the CIA, that are sneaking around even in local governments. "Sometime early in 1999," he recalls in the introduction, "I was 'asked' to attend a meeting in the basement of the Capitol building, at a time when the state legislature was not in session." Ventura found himself being grilled by CIA agents eager for inside info about the campaign that successfully sent him to the governor's mansion. Simply put, they wanted to know how someone over whom they had no control managed to slip through the wires. Also, how could they prevent it from happening again.

Each chapter ends with a question - "What Should We Do Now?" - followed by the author's advice on how to take back a government that no longer represents the people.

Brian W. Fairbanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great conpiracies overview, May 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gov. Ventura does a great job of coverage of the various conspiracies. Obviously in covering 14 conspiracies there isn't a lot of detail, but it should wet the appetite to look into these issues more closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reopening old wounds is necessary, we can only lead by example,, March 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
and so we must relive the awful events described in this book, and other events like Waco and Oklahoma City, barely mentioned, nevertheless also pieces of the puzzle. It is enraging, has to be, but truth has to be brought to the light, and one truth leads to another. So thank you Jesse and Dick for presenting us with fine, sharp operating tools.

One truth leads to another, and as Jesse said on tv, as the pieces begin fitting together, a picture begins to emerge. Perhaps we shall never see the whole picture. Don't get me wrong, I hate as deeply as anyone in these matters, especially re 911, I grew up in the New York area and those firemen who died were my childhood heroes. People still catch traces of my New York accent. So I would love to see the perpetrators blinded and eviscerated, let's start with Guiliani, or maybe Kean. But already I regret my hate, probably these individuals are already blind, and time will punish them and all the perpetrators and cover-up artists.

It is the doubting that is so hard to live with. Are we supposed to doubt everyone and everything now? This must be one of the main reasons for our media's refusal to open up the 911 and other related wounds, and for people to ridicule "truthers." "So what is your THEORY?" they all say, as if to entertain doubts of official explanations necessitates totally new theories. Of course if you actually DO present a theory, then they can say, well, I don't like this part, or that word over there. I myself have been bewildered over the years by the plethora of evidence on BOTH sides of, for example, the JFK assassination conspiracy theories.

To SEE, that must be the main focus. As don Juan was always telling Carlos, "We want you to SEE!" And to learn to walk gracefully in that place where you can see, and carry the rage and the heartbreak, and carry the people who are temporarily blinded.

If 9/11 did not give us the impetus to see, to wake up and see, and if the present economic crisis added to that, with the years and years of corruption behind both events -- well, then, we deserve in our old age the new red guard throwing us into re-education camps.

There are still good things to see as well as evil. But the evil should wake us up. And we need to gather more strongly into communities where we can KEEP each other awake, the price of liberty is everlasting vigilance, it is going to take ever increasing sacrifices, we can only learn enough by learning to live more closely together. Thank you again Dick and Jesse, but I also admire EVERYONE who has fought the battle to keep truth before our eyes. GOD BLESS YOU ALL!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, March 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent research, everything said, is documented. This man wrote nothing from " the top of his head " he did painstaking homework, before he sat down to actually write this book.
I mentioned his name and book to a friend who remarked:" This guy has no credibilty at all..." I told her I begged to differ.
This man has shown more courage and brains, than just about anyone I can think of. ^ 5 Jesse !
A disturbing read, if one was naive before, and uninformed.
Awesome, read.. painstakingly detailed, not an " easy" read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much needed book, March 17, 2010
This isn't the book that will definitively prove that the Kennedy assassination was an inside job or that the government knew about 9/11 beforehand and did nothing. This is a 200 page book covering 14 fairly varied conspiracies, it will make you curious, but leave you to find out more. What makes this book important is that it fully addresses the darker side of our history, specifically our recent history. The last chapter is especially frightening as it shows how the groundwork has been laid in recent years for an authoritarian state that is slowly creeping up on us. This is a book everyone should read, not so much for the conspiracy theories but to get a good perspective about our government and our history. Sure most of the theories proposed in the book are probably just that - theories - but it sure is a lot of coincidence. It is important for us to understand what is happening and what has happened in our country and this book sheds some light on that.

Ventura is both easy and frightening to read and is a welcome independent voice in a debate where it seems like everyone is always trying to fight for their own side by blaming the other, and, no matter how crazy some of the writing is at points in the book, the man was an elected governor so there is quite a weight behind all these accusations.

Buy and read this book, it is a necessary addition to our history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesse Ventura is a brave true American, March 13, 2010
We have at least 1 brave and true American, Jesse Ventura. He has been a Navy Seal, althetics actor, Governor of Minnesota. Now he is bringing out the truth of what really happened on 9/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, the TRUTH!, April 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jesse Ventura is an amazingly brave man and a TRUE Patriot, to expose what millions did not know; that our government is, and has been for decades, run by homicidal, paid-off despicable amoral felons.

Many tens of millions of us already knew what really happened in matters like the US government conducted JFK/RFK/MLK murders, and the mass murdering bush/cheney/ashcroft/rice/rumsfeld/rove 9/11/01 attacks, which these filthy roaches all conducted under a false flag, so as criminally invade other countries and make defense companies scum ceo's rich. But tens of millions more need to know the TRUTH.

Governor, do ALL of us a massive favor, and run for President in 2012, so that we may get our freedom restored, and see this police/gestapo state in which we have lived for decades, totally eradicated.

America needs President Ventura, and now!! We need you, Jesse, to prevent what is going to be a revolution in this country.

WE, the PEOPLE have had: E-N-O-U-G-H!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do your homework., March 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Don't just take Ventura's word on any of this, do your own research. I didn't find any inaccurate statements or exaggerations in the book.
It's a quick read and well worth the price. American's need to stop fighting each other and start demanding answers and accountability from the government.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read in American history, April 14, 2011
This is ridiculous, how can any objective person reading this book not like what Governor Ventura compiled? This book is filled to the brim with government documents that are for the most part of curiosity for any living American. Remember Ventura was the Governor of Minnesota, despite his past of wrestling fame. Ventura was also a Navy Seal and served this country. So where do all these one star people come from, perhaps decoys, or trolls?

This isn't Governor Ventura's thesis on American corruption; this is merely a collection of documents that suggest a darker side to America the beautiful. Documents like Operation Northwoods isn't an opinion, it's a fact! Did the American government want to stage and provoke the invasion of Cuba through false attacks and sabotage? Yes.

Is Gorvernor Ventura making up the Tuskegee syphilis study up? Read it for yourself. The problem is most will not read the documents in this book or simply chose to ignore them.

The failed Bay-of-Pigs were CIA agents trained a number of Cuban defectors lead to Operation Northwoods. You see history is funny that it repeats itself. Today we have the CIA training rebels in Libya in what seems like the Bay-of-Pig part 2. The question is what other secret operations will the U.S. concoct in order to outst Libyian leader Gaddafi? But I digress.

The point of reading the documents Governor Ventura provides will only help you in understanding what's going on today.

Bring back Conspiracy Theory with Jesse Ventura!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, these are very important topics, December 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Does a good job of bringing up some very important American History events and raises numerous questions about what really may have happened. Even if you don't believe in "Conspiracies" this book does a good job to show that there is cover up on the highest levels. American history is totally different when you begin to study it from different perspectives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

American Conspiracies: Lies, Lies, and More Dirty Lies that the Government Tells Us
Used & New from: $2.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.