Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Tap Giveaway Headphones for Everyone Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer TL256 TL256 TL256  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 19, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My daughter has also tried the raccoon kit and I've been really impressed with how sturdy everything is in both kits. The directions are easy to follow and with a bit of patience, the finished product actually looks like the picture on the outside of the box. I think the age recommendation is fairly accurate and some parental supervision or help may be required, especially for learning how to thread the need and such. Overall, it's a nice, basic kit that gives you a cute display piece.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 5, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My girls love McKenna, so I thought this craft kit would be fun for them. The kit comes with everything you need to sew a stuffed hamster for McKenna: Felt pieces for the hamster and all the details, stuffing, needle, all colors of thread you will need, adhesive gems, and a detailed instruction booklet.

The hamster is larger than I imagined, although the dimensions were given (6.5"x10").

The kit says ages 8+. I would suggest to follow this recommendation. This is definitely for my older 8 year old daughter. Most younger minds would be overwhelmed and loose interest and younger hands would fumble. But this will be the perfect beginners sewing project for my 8 year old.

I appreciate the detailed instructions with pictures. They're easy to follow. Be aware, there are a lot of small pieces to sew on. There are also three different items the hamster can hold. A flower, heart, or cherries attach to the hamsters belly with velcro so you can change them out.

Fun idea for young ladies!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2013
The hamster is cute and while the directions were occasionally confusing, we could figure them out together and my daughter (age 10) could execute. And at the end of the day, she wound up with a cute stuffed animal she made herself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 21, 2012
This felt kit makes a great gift for anyone who enjoys stitch crafts. The pieces are well shaped and the instructions are easy to follow. The kit includes everything that the stich hobbyists needs to make a cute little hampster. A fun addition to any doll collection or craft project.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
Bought this for my granddaughter who is 11. It was fun to work with her and teach her to sew. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. The only thing I would recommend is to plan to do a bit and then take a break, as there are a lot of steps involved and it's much better to take your time than end up with a frustrated child on your hands. Make it fun! and plan it over a couple of "lessons".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 22, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This hamster is so, so cute! But it was a real challenge for my eight year old, a beginning sewer. If you want your daughter to sew this independently, then purchase this for intermediate stitchers. I had to help my daughter with knotting her thread, threading the needle, and showing her what sides to sew on.

What I really liked about this kit was that the felt pieces had pre-punched sewing holes. It made a very easy way of keeping her sewing evenly spaced.

The hamster was not truly durable. It is a nice accessory piece for her American Girl so long as it is not in rough play. It will fall apart unless it is hand washed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 4, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The American Girl Crafts Sew and Stuff Kit, Hamster, is a cute craft for an older girl. The kit comes with all the pieces needed to create the hamster as seen on the box, a bag of polyfill stuffing, plus an embroidery needle to stitch it together. The felt pieces are punched for ease of assembly, and the instructions are clearly written with pictures of each step.

The reasons I gave it four stars are as follows:

1-the pre-cut holes do not necessarily line up completely, making it a bit of a challenge to get the pieces stitched on without piercing the felt outside of the holes. This may have been a problem with my kit, and may not apply to any other kits.

2-I am not sure that the felt will be terribly durable, particularly if the parts are sewn together with the holes not aligned properly.

3-The lack of alignment may cause frustration for younger children.

The hamster is cute, and colorful, and this kit would be appropriate for children in the suggested age group with supervision for the younger range, as the metal needle is (slightly) sharp.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 27, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This little sewing kit comes with everything your child needs to make a little hamster friend except for scissors. The actual hamster ends up being larger than I anticipated. The hamster is made of felt and comes pre cut with all his spots, facial features, hands, feet, and decorations. His front has changeable accessories (flower, heart, or cherries) and he has a pocket on his back for holding the accessories not in use. The felt has prepunched holes so your child knows exactly where to sew. The eyes are not sew on, which disappointed me a little, since they are just stickers, which will come off. I plan to replace them with buttons once they fall off. It will take your child some time to make this little hamster. (My daughter made hers in about 4 hours.) This is a cute craft that kids will enjoy making. My daughter is so proud of her little hamster she sewed herself.

Kit includes: Pre-cut felt pieces, thread, needle, needle threader, jewel sticker, and filling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 18, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
McKenna, American Girl's 2012 Girl of the Year, has definitely been one of the most successful Girls of the Year yet. All of her collection has been a big hit and most of it has been sold out for weeks. So this kit is a perfect gift for all those McKenna fans out there. The craft kit reminds me of the Build a Bear stuffed animal kits that I've seen in the stores before. If you know anyone who has enjoyed doing those, this is a perfect for those people.

The hamster is based on the one that is featured in McKenna's story. The kit has all you need to put the hamster together. If you or whoever is receiving the kit does not know how to sew, don't fret because it comes really good directions on what to do. The hamster is really cute when he's all put together.

Great gift idea for any American Girl fans out there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 16, 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My 11-year old granddaughter loves American Girl and she loves crafting so this is the perfect kit for her. The kit contains everything a young crafter needs to make an adorable stuffed hamster. Just add scissors, tape measure, and adult supervision. The step-by-step directions are illustrated and thorough. They even show how to use the needle threader, which is also included, to thread the needle. Hand sewing the felt pieces is challenging because in the process the child learns that sewing requires patience and precision, skills all young crafters need to work on. However this project is also fun because the stitch guides make it easier to sew with precision. My granddaughter really wants her finished hamster to look like the one pictured on the box so she is taking her time to do it right. This is a great craft kit that gives youngsters the chance to practice their sewing skills. Makes a great gift!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.