Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode List and Features Information
I noticed that as of Today(4/24/10) Amazon has the incorrect information listed as far as the episodes and features on this set. The information they have( again, as of 4/24, for all I know they could change it by the time you read it ) is actually from the Family Guy Volume 5 set. Here is the info for this set:

Disc 1

Phantom of the Telethon...
Published on April 24, 2010 by Joe P.

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars It really sucked Dont buy it really poor From kick ass
It really sucked
Dont buy it really poor
From kick ass
Published 1 month ago by kelley peach


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making the World Safe for Democracy, June 22, 2010
By 
R. J Rey (Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
The wild misadventures of ultra-right-wing C.I.A. weapons specialist Stan Smith and the uproarious Smith family continues with "American Dad!" Volume Five. Join Stan on a guys' night out that goes from wild to reckless when he finds himself in one compromising situation after another. Housewife Francine gets a backup husband when she learns that Stan plans to marry his dentist if she dies before him. Alcoholic extraterrestrial Roger discovers that he wasn't sent to Earth to determine the fate of mankind. Daughter Hayley gets a job as a bartender in Roger's makeshift bar in the attic for college credit. Son Steve goes on a drunken bender and learns the meaning of the phrase "beer goggles". "American Dad!" is the hit animated Fox sitcom from the twisted minds of Mike Barker, Matt Weitzman and Seth MacFarlane, the creative team behind "Family Guy". These final fourteen episodes from fourth season deliver some outrageous humor and feature memorable guest stars like Sandra Oh, Jon Cryer, Forest Whitaker, Ken Jeong, Seth Green, Patrick Wilson, Will Forte, David Koechner and Patrick Stewart.

Though many primetime shows are released on a season-by-season basis, it is difficult to believe that Fox doesn't give the same attention to "American Dad!" that is about to start its sixth season and has gain a strong fan following. The 3-disc DVD set arrives in a slim lackluster packaging similar to the previous volume set. All 14 episodes of "American Dad" are presented in full screen format. The picture quality holds up nicely and its 5.1 Dolby Digital audio isn't impressive but still clear and well balanced. All episodes include uncensored audio commentaries by the show's crew and voice cast. Other special features include dozens of deleted scenes, a pop-up trivia track in the episode "Bar Mitzvah Hustle" and "The Power Hour Drinking Game" featurette. Overall, "American Dad!" Volume Five scores a "B".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, June 29, 2010
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
It's easy to label most cartoons on television today as nothing more than glorified garbage. American Dad! as a series defies this qualification with it's own brand of zaniness mixed with palpable self-awareness. Seth Macfarlane, famous for creating and voicing many of the characters in the hit show Family Guy attempted a different style of humor when Ameican Dad! Went on the air five years ago. And this vast difference made the show the side note which it remains to this day.

I argue that American Dad! Is a program which possesses the same glorious brand of awkward, off-color humor as Family Guy, but implements it in a more subtle way which can ultimately lead to bigger laughs. Stan Smith stated in the first season "I don't learn lessons" and five years later the suited CIA agent is still ad dull and hilariously headstrong as he always was. Roger functions as an almost blank space, adopting a disguise every episode and thus a new persona, either to help or hinder the efforts of the Smith family. Francine is a funny caricature of modern motherhood raising Haley, a free spirit hippie, and Steve, a nerd with a friend who speaks only Japanese. Klaus the fish was once a German and instead sits in his bowl, resenting life.

American Dad! Is a colorful and offbeat show which almost redefines the idea of an animated sitcom. And it does it with a very sarcastic smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American dad season #5, September 11, 2010
By 
dyogo2 (Miami Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
this show has easily become one of my favorite animated series ive watched in along time. well written and the animation is fantastic! the characters are unbelievably hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roger is the best!!!!, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
I got this two days earlier then expected on free shipping which was great. These are funny episodes that countine to make me laugh again and again. Roger and his crazy antics you never know what this guy will do next. I recommend this volume along with 4,6,7.So get this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It really sucked Dont buy it really poor From kick ass, January 27, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
It really sucked
Dont buy it really poor
From kick ass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love american dad., June 22, 2010
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
I use to hate american dad until I started to watch it more carfully then I found it hilarious. I dont own all of them but, I hope to complete my collection soon. I also own all of the family guy series but, they seem to be going down hill lately but, I think that american dad will soon take its place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another American Dad classic, January 2, 2013
By 
CZerega (Oklahoma, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
I picked this product since I have the previous ones already and have to pace myself because when watching it since I would fly through it in a day.

The season came in at a good time and I would definitely order from this seller in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, September 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
discs were not damaged but disc casing were broken
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series, June 16, 2010
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
Love American Dad. I always liked Family Guy but wasn't in love with the series. I love American dad its funny and even though Seth McFarlane just recycled his other shows it works so much better in this format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 10, 2014
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
Everything was great and as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.