Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode List and Features Information
I noticed that as of Today(4/24/10) Amazon has the incorrect information listed as far as the episodes and features on this set. The information they have( again, as of 4/24, for all I know they could change it by the time you read it ) is actually from the Family Guy Volume 5 set. Here is the info for this set:

Disc 1

Phantom of the Telethon...
Published on April 24, 2010 by Joe P.

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
discs were not damaged but disc casing were broken
Published 3 months ago by kevin lee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode List and Features Information, April 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
I noticed that as of Today(4/24/10) Amazon has the incorrect information listed as far as the episodes and features on this set. The information they have( again, as of 4/24, for all I know they could change it by the time you read it ) is actually from the Family Guy Volume 5 set. Here is the info for this set:

Disc 1

Phantom of the Telethon
Chimdale
Stan Time
Family Affair
Live and Let Fry
Roy Rogers McFreely

Disc 2

Jack's Back
Bar Mitzvah Hustle
Wife Insurance
The Delorean Story-an
Every Which Way But Loose
The Wiener of our Discontent

Disc 3

Daddy Queerest
Stan's Night Out
Bonus Features: Deleted Scenes and Power Hour Drinking Game

And as always, there will be commentary by the staff for every episode.

Now, my literary and reviewing talents are not great, so I won't give you a long in depth review of the episodes. But I can say that I have liked the show from the beginning, and these episodes are as good as ever. If you like the show, you'll like this set. If you are just a fan of the other animated shows, comedy shows in general, satire, or just a fan of random 80's references, you will also like the show. Hope the info helped.

UPDATE: Got the set today, a few days after I had planned, unfortunately. In addition to the bonus features listed, on Disc 2 there is a Fact Up version of Bar Mitzvah Hustle. For those not familiar with what that is( I really wasn't either) Basically you can watch the episode, and as you watch little facts about the episode (or related to the episode in some way) pop up every few seconds. Kinda like those old VH1 Pop up videos. I thought it was pretty interesting and neat, and fans of the show should enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not Family Guy but it's still pretty funny once you get to know the characters, September 7, 2010
By 
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
14 Episodes on 3 Discs, released June 16, 2010

"American Dad" is in its fifth volume! Weird, huh? It seems like that show just started. Even though "The Cleveland Show" has just finished its first run, that show already has more buzz collectively I've noticed than "American Dad" also from the some of the same minds. "Family Guy" is a huge hit and while with "American Dad," the apple does not fall far from the tree in terms of style and timing, the different mash-up of characters can make the show expansive or limited depending on the situation hatched from the minds of creators Mike Barker, Seth MacFarlane, and Matt Weitzman.

To explain better, the premise of "American Dad" is that CIA Agent Smith (Seth MacFarlane) has an average family with a flighty blond wife, Francine (Wendy Schaal), two kids: Steve (Scott Grimes) the nerd who takes after his dad and Hayley (Rachael MacFarlane) the liberal hippie who is at odds with her dad and then a couple of kookie characters are thrown in. Klaus (Dee Bradley Baker) the German trapped in the body of a fish who lusts after Francine and Roger (also Seth MacFarlane), the alien who happens to live with them and dresses in disguise constantly.

Family formula plus a couple of off the wall factors makes for creative and interesting situations. On the plus side, this show gives an easy platform for making fun of political situations and conventions taking into account Stan's job and Hayley's leanings. On the negatives, sometimes the jokes are almost outdated by the time they get put on the air due to the time it takes to animate and sending to Korea. The broader the comedy, the better it works. Occasionally it seems like there are too many CIA plots and feels limiting to the spectrum of the show.

What works for the show are the jokes and the great voice acting, particularly by Seth MacFarlane. Only having seen a few episodes before, after seeing a bunch more here it is easy to see the show has grown into its own and is more fluid now, much in the way that "Family Guy" started and progressed. It's worth checking out if you love this type of humor, but you'll probably still love "Family Guy" more.

Bonus Features:

There is uncensored commentary on EVERY episode of the 14 in this set. Creators Matt Weitzman and Mike Barker are on commentary for almost every episode. They talk about how ideas came together, sending the animation for final touches in Korea, and how jealous they are that all they have is one t-shirt and bendy toys compared to all the board games, etc. that "Family Guy" has. Seth MacFarlane surprisingly does not do any episode commentary. It is clear that this show is more the other creators' baby.

For the Deleted Scenes, you get to see the many, many quips were cut from episodes for time or just not being funny, or alternative takes. For example, there was a scene with a bunch of bald kids that were originally called the "cancer kids" and when you watch the episode, you see it was switched to the "Lex Luthor Fan Club." Other stuff would have been absolutely hilarious if time allowed, but sometimes less is more and it works for the best.

There is pop-up trivia available for the "Bar Mitzvah Hustle" episode where fun facts with American Dad cast members about the making of the episode and other tidbits get thrown in and is pretty cute. The Power Hour Drinking Game is an hour's worth of one-minute clips intermixed with shots of Roger commanding the audience to take a shot...of milk or apple juice, of course. *wink* It is a very funny hour of quick clips from some of their best scenes which can be funny on their own without the episode around it. However, if you actually did drink harder stuff every time Roger popped up, that's 60 shots so beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated cartoon on TV, August 18, 2011
By 
shane englefield (SAN YSIDRO, CA, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
I don't understand why this show isn't more popular. Its writing is fantastic its characters are likeable and creative. I can't rave enough about this show and it just seems to get better with each season. A must buy for anyone who is a fan of Family guy but the show has a little more structure and feels more well rounded. I've watched this season alone about 10 times through and it still makes me laugh every time. I put it on before bed and fall asleep happy every night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny., February 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
I have all volumes of American Dad and they are very, very funny. The uncensored episodes are a scream. Seth McFarland and his staff have wild imaginations and the funniest scripts ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Dad, need I say more!!, September 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
American Dad Vol. 5: This is what it is! If you are a collector of the American Dad series, then this is a Volume you must have in your collection. Great show, as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Rad!, July 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
Just a laugh out loud type of show with something crazy going on every second. The animation is just as good as Family Guy (the same people make both series) and they have a "take no prisoners" attitude toward everyday situations and behaviors.

Stan, C.I.A agent and head of household, is a riot: zany yet all the time insisting he's the sane one. Francine, his wife, is HOT! Too bad she's just 2D :). Everybody else in the home, the alien Roger, the son Steve and the daughter are just as nutty as the adults.

I have every DVD set so far. I can't get enough of these guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another American Dad classic, January 2, 2013
By 
CZerega (Oklahoma, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
I picked this product since I have the previous ones already and have to pace myself because when watching it since I would fly through it in a day.

The season came in at a good time and I would definitely order from this seller in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Dad is absolutely hilarious!, June 9, 2010
By 
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
I love American Dad! and find it hilarious and unique. The setting of the show is different from many of the other animated comedies and the characters are cute, crude and hilarious. I have spoke to a lot of people who don't like the show very much and I just don't understand how they couldn't. I have noticed the ratings are slowly declining year after year. I certainly hope more people start to watch this gem so it doesn't get canceled anytime soon. The show has been consistently getting better and better year after year. I really think Roger (the alien) makes the show so hilarious and fun to watch. Please check the show out if you haven't already--I bet you will adore it!!

The show revolves around the Smiths, a family with the breadwinner working for the CIA. They harbor an alcoholic/cross-dresser alien and a fish with the brain of a German ski professional. The episodes involve the antics of Stan Smith of the CIA, the alien, the son Steve and his "dork" friends, Halie the liberal daughter and Francine the oblivious housewife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I can tell by your lack of interest that I was kidding"---Stan, July 18, 2010
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
Volume 5 is not quite as solid as 4, but there is enough good stuff to well out-number the few weaker moments. One of the best episodes is "Stan Time." AD is at its best when it incorporates weird CIA experiments into the storyline ("Vacation Goo" is an example). In "Stan Time" Stan takes CIA-lab pills that gives him the same results as a full night's sleep so he can spend nights doing what he likes--silly, nonconstructive things like playing video games (probably what I would be doing, too). Also, episodes where Roger is at his most evil and conniving is AD gold (i.e. Tearjerker). This volume has "The Wiener of Our Discontent" where Roger is "The Decider." "The Phantom of the Telethon" uses both themes: the CIA's torture fund and Roger as the Phantom. Other excellent episodes include "Bar Mitzvah Hustle," "The Delorean Stroy-an," and "Daddy Queerest." Only two episodes I consider a little weak: "Chimdale" and "Family Affair" and the suicide part of "Every Which Way But Lose" was a bit much.

Disc 1:
1. "Phantom of the Telethon"--Stan wants to save the CIA's torture fund and steals Roger's idea of a telethon. Demanding credit for the idea, Roger takes on the persona of the Phantom to sabotage said telethon.
2. "Chimdale"--Steve is horrified because he has to wear a scoliosis brace. Stan tells him to man-up until it is discovered Stan has something he's been hiding. Also, Roger and Francine smuggle Hayley into an expensive hotel room. I didn't care too much for this one because it went against my vision of Stan.
3. "Stan Time"--Stan needs alone time so he takes CIA-lab pills that removes the need to sleep. Now he has all night to do whatever he wants without having to be with his family. When Francine finds out she makes Stan give her the pills, too, but she uses her extra time so constructively she may end up leaving the family for an extended period to pursue her new interest. Good one.
4. "Family Affair"--The Smiths find out Roger is cheating on them with another family. Strange episode. Klaus doesn't seem like a Fabulous Thunderbirds fan. And what is that koala with the brain of a homeless guy?
5. "Live and Let Fry"--Trans fats are declared illegal in Langely Falls so Stan turns his good-doer son into a trans fat smuggler. What's up with that Chimdale country market guy who's in love with Stan? Yuck! Meanwhile, Roger pretends to be Klaus to collect his inheritance.
6. "Roy Rogers McFreely"--Roger gets back at control freak Stan by joining the Home Owners' Association and hassles him with bylaws passed exclusively for the Smith house. Stan then finds himself on the same side as system-fighting Hayley.

Disc 2:
7. "Jack's Back"--Stan's father's parental neglect is getting in the way with his relationship with Steve. Then Steve finds his grandfather in prison claiming he's changed. Meanwhile, Hayley is working for her internship at Roger's bar.
8. "Bar Mitzvah Hustle"--A spoiled rich kid steals Steve's girlfriend Debbie by putting on airs of being mature so Steve tries to get back at him at his bar mitzvah. This episode includes an extra where you can view it with pop-up trivia boxes.
9. "Wife Insurance"--Francine is mad when she finds out Stan has a back-up wife so she gets a back-up husband--Stan's stakeout partner who is expert with the ladies. Also, Steve and Roger team up as the crime-solving duo "Wheels and the Legman."
10. "The Delorean Story-an"--Stan and Steve bond while trying to find a door to complete Stan's Delorean car and run into competition. Good one!
11. "Every Which Way But Lose"--To prove his worth to his father, Steve joins a football team. Stan becomes coach of said team and cuts his son. Steve and Roger conspire to get even. The ending with the suicide stuff is a little much. Meanwhile, Francine is trying to win a pie-baking contest and is ridiculed by the anti-domestic Hayley. I like when Hayley is caught baking a pie and protests, "It's not what you think! I'm cooking meth!"
12. "The Wiener of Our Discontent"--Roger claims to have big stuff going on--all through the decades. Stan doesn't believe him so Roger discloses that he is "The Decider" who will determine whether the earth should be destroyed or saved. "You know Stan, it's too bad. I actually liked Francine. The rest of them can suck it, but Francine I'm sorry to see die." When Roger finds out it was all a hoax, he must find another way to wield power over life and death.

Disc 3:
13. "Daddy Queerest"--Francine always embarrasses Stan at dinner parties. Terry's father, an ex-football player, visits his son and is unaware he's been in a 9-year relationship with Greg, so Terry pretends to be in a relationship with Francine. Stan finds Greg to be a much better dinner party partner but now Greg is the embarrassed one. Good episode.
14. "Stan's Night Out"--Stan decides to participate in his co-workers' night out and it turns into a night of violence. Stan decides dinner in front of the TV with Francine doesn't seem so bad anymore. Also, Roger and Hayley compete over who can attract the guys. Roger's outfits are hilarious!
Extras: The deleted scenes are nothing special and the drinking game is clips from the show (not just from episodes in this volume) followed by a picture of Roger with the text "Take a Shot." Actually, the clips just made me want to go back and watch the episodes again (like the one where Roger plays the alcoholic, mentally challenged, Jewish boy during the Holocaust).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still great, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Dad Vol. 5 (DVD)
And getting better. Although they should have called this show "The Roger and Francine Show," because it's always funnier when the main story line focuses on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

American Dad Vol. 5
American Dad Vol. 5 by Jennifer Graves (DVD - 2010)
$39.98 $12.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.