Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder, Chemistry, New York, American History-- something for everyone
I was enthralled with this episode of American Experience. There is not a boring minute in it. The murder mysteries are each worthy of their own documentaries (there are innocent-faced female murderers and a Rasputin-like male victim of an insurance fraud, to name a few).The dramatizations and period pictures are fantastic. Even the sets and costumes and worthy of an...
Published 8 months ago by Amelia J. Brideson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you are interested in forensic history
Pretty slow. Stories are very similar.
Published 8 days ago by Jeoffrey S Gardner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder, Chemistry, New York, American History-- something for everyone, January 16, 2014
By 
This review is from: American Experience: Poisoner's Handbook (DVD)
I was enthralled with this episode of American Experience. There is not a boring minute in it. The murder mysteries are each worthy of their own documentaries (there are innocent-faced female murderers and a Rasputin-like male victim of an insurance fraud, to name a few).The dramatizations and period pictures are fantastic. Even the sets and costumes and worthy of an award for documentary-making. Two hours very well spent! It will make you appreciate the FDA. If you ever thought a show about chemistry would be a snooze-fest, think again. Students of American history and chemistry will be especially enthused, but please watch this with your family-- you may inspire a budding scientist or forensic detective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing Forensic History Lesson told in an Entertaining Way, January 10, 2014
This was a wonderfully done documentary. It explores the pioneering work of Charles Norris (medical examiner) and Alexander Gettler (toxicologist). Viewers are transported to a time period when chemistry and science began to take a more prominent role in forensics. The element that makes this documentary so compelling is that it shares Norris and Gettler's story in the context of historical events that took place during the time period when they conducted their work. There are also some reenactments and real photos to give viewers more context. After watching this documentary, viewers are educated about forensics and American history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how forensic science came to be ..., June 2, 2014
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Experience: Poisoner's Handbook (DVD)
This is a incredible and true story of one doctors story , as he helps create forensic science in regard to poisoning. which is why that form of murder is so rare now. He does get it wrong sometimes though and he even helps a murderess get off twice , only to his horror realize that on the third time that she was guilty all along. There's many stories here and this would make a great movie! HE looked at over 100,000 cases in his long career which begins way back in the early 1900's. You will learn a lot here and it's a good thing men like this existed. The show is full of recreations with a good narrator to provide information as well. So it's a entertaining watch from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT WHAT YOU MIGHT THINK, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Experience: Poisoner's Handbook (DVD)
Despite it's title, this is NOT a lesson on how to kill people. It does illustrate however, before forensic evidence became a precise science, poisoning was the most popular and successful way to commit murder. Thanks to Charles Norris and Alexander Gettler, it eventually became one of the least successful methods to get away with.

This program also shows how many incredibly toxic, deadly substances believed to be innocuous or actually beneficial, were as easy to obtain as a loaf of bread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A History Lesson in Modern Day Forensics, August 29, 2014
Enjoyed this American Experience! This is one of the best American Experience episodes that I have seen. I watch a lot of true crime documentaries so I found this to be very informative and intriguing. As other have pointed out, this has a blend of history and science. I was not very familiar with early forensic science and this brought things to light. This was excellent and I would recommend it for those that are interested in chemistry, history and forensic science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love American Experience and this is perhaps the best one ..., August 21, 2014
I love American Experience and this is perhaps the best one I have seen. The story of the two pioneers Norris and Gettler is simply remarkable. It a beautify account of the emergence of forensic science. In addition, the production level in this episode (reenactments, photography, etc) its higher than in previous episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, April 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw this on PBS when it aired and had to watch it again. Dark, but absolutely fascinating and inspiring. I was transfixed from beginning to end, just incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scary history repeating itself..., August 24, 2014
This is so interesting...It really makes you appreciate everything we take for granted. Who would think that scientific fact would be doubted in the courts? Wait, this is still happening....get a great insight in how science has to fight it's way to the frontlines. It's like history repeating itself, and this shows you how we need strong, devoted people to lead us to progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Chemistry Classes, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Experience: Poisoner's Handbook (DVD)
I am a high school chemistry teacher and showed this video when we had a little extra time at the end of the year. The students genuinely loved it (and I did too). The film combines dramatizations of gruesome murders by poisoning mixed in with chemistry to explain how forensic chemistry came to be.

After hearing, "This movie is awesome!" and "I would watch this again" from the students, this movie is going on my "to watch" list for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Use in Chemistry Classroom, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Experience: Poisoner's Handbook (DVD)
I purchased this for use in my high school chemistry classroom. I thought it was very interesting how forensic chemistry and criminal investigations kind of developed hand in hand. I was intrigued by the historical perspective and thought my students might find it equally interesting. We haven't used it yet, but I know that the few students I had talked to who saw this on PBS thought it was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

American Experience: Poisoner's Handbook
American Experience: Poisoner's Handbook by American Experience (DVD - 2014)
$24.99 $14.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.