Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a woman she was!
As a history minor in college and one who has remained very interested in the field, I have occasionally read material about Eleanor Roosevelt. However, it was always on the periphery of my main interests, so I had no idea what I was missing until I saw this tape. She was one of the most dynamic and influential people that this country has produced. Having had a miserable...
Published on February 23, 2002 by Charles Ashbacher

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A retread of the FDR series
I am a great admirer of this wonderful women and the place she deserves in history. The other reviewers have gone into detail about what the PBS documentary covers so I will not repeat that in this review. Since this is an older series, I would recommend that you buy FDR the PBS version as there is a lot more live footage of Eleanor in this than in the PBS show on...
Published on February 8, 2010 by JD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a woman she was!, February 23, 2002
As a history minor in college and one who has remained very interested in the field, I have occasionally read material about Eleanor Roosevelt. However, it was always on the periphery of my main interests, so I had no idea what I was missing until I saw this tape. She was one of the most dynamic and influential people that this country has produced. Having had a miserable childhood, where even her mother commented that she was ugly, she seemed destined to take up a life as a dutiful wife to a successful husband. However, and fortunately, that was not to be as she found herself and began a life of activism that made her enemies, but also made her the most powerful woman of the first half of the twentieth century. In many ways, she was the perfect counter to her husband, as she could go out and take the heat for actions that FDR simply could not do.
In this tape, stocked with newsreel footage, photographs and interviews with relatives and family friends, you learn much about what drove her to succeed. As seems so common, it was partly due to deep-seated feelings of early inadequacy and her hectic pace was the preventive cure from having to stop and perhaps be overcome by depression. Nothing is kept from you, even the supposedly platonic love affairs she had with men and women.
Her relationship with FDR was interesting, but probably not all that unique. As the story unfolds, it reminds you in many ways of the relationship that must exist between Bill and Hillary Clinton. Certainly, if times had been different, Eleanor could also have served in Congress.
Eleanor Roosevelt was one of the bravest, most dedicated people the world has ever seen. Sure she made enemies, but being hated by the likes of bigoted segregationists and J. Edgar Hoover is a point of commendation. The most interesting fact in the tapes is that Hoover hated her and her FBI file is one of the thickest on record. But then, so is her record of achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Misunderstood First Lady", September 2, 2000
By 
Julia C. McWhorter (Bremen, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
A very interesting biography. Through interviews with friends and family members and extensive excerpts of her own writings and quotes, the viewer will come to know facts about Mrs. Roosevelt not known before. Scorned by her mother and betrayed by her father and husband, she was a remarkable woman nonetheless. Although rich in material things, she was very fragile emotionally. Watching this video will convince the viewer that Mrs. Roosevelt was this country's most controversial and hardest-working First Lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "FIRST LADY OF THE 20th CENTURY", August 9, 2007
By 
Joel Soboul "Joel4500" (Eastampton, New Jersey USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Experience - Eleanor Roosevelt (DVD)
I have found the entire PBS American Experience series to be nothing short of excellent, both in the accuracy of the historical facts of it's subjects as well as the candid and plain truth about their lives, all in unvarnished detail. The latest one I purchased and watched was on Eleanor Roosevelt, the First Lady of FDR and the Champion of Human Rights for all People. Both educational as well as fascinating, if you are a history buff and are intrigued by the gifted lives and legacies of these historical figures whose stories are told in a rich narrative accompanied by a beautiful and awesomely appropriate musical sountrack, then any one episode of this series is for you!! I now own PBS AE documentaries on Bobby Kennedy, Jackie Kennedy, LBJ, Harry Truman, Jimmy Carter, Huey Long, Woodrow Wilson, Franklin Roosevelt, Malcolm X, Teddy Roosevelt, Mao Tse Tung, as well as a couple of others I can't recall at the moment! Do yourself a favor history lover, get a copy of the life stories well told of one of these great people of the past and present, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A retread of the FDR series, February 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Experience - Eleanor Roosevelt (DVD)
I am a great admirer of this wonderful women and the place she deserves in history. The other reviewers have gone into detail about what the PBS documentary covers so I will not repeat that in this review. Since this is an older series, I would recommend that you buy FDR the PBS version as there is a lot more live footage of Eleanor in this than in the PBS show on Eleanor specifically. In fact much of this documentary is taken from the FRD PBS show but without as much live footage. Also consider the drama, Franklin and Eleanor, as it is a wonderful presentation of their life and I actually learned as much from this about her as I did in the documentaries. Try the above mentioned first and you will most likely feel satisfied that the amazing life and time of Eleanor is covered in fine detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing inspiration for all women, March 23, 2008
This review is from: American Experience - Eleanor Roosevelt (DVD)
I stumbled upon half of this documentary on PBS late at night and decided I wanted to buy a copy. Eleanor Roosevelt is such an incredable women and this film has done an excellent job of protraying all sides of her personality. I particularly relate to her struggles with depression and am amazed that she was able to pull out of each episode and accomplish so much. Whenever I feeling down and need some inspiration, I am going to watch this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent portrait of a great American, January 20, 2008
By 
Bach Forever (Northern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Experience - Eleanor Roosevelt (DVD)
As with most "American Experience" shows, this production is exceptionally well done. It provides photo and video coverage of the life of a true American Hero. A testimony to the contribution of women to our Country, the life and work of Eleanor Roosevelt provide a beacon to all those concerned for the welfare of others around the world. I was raised in a home where she was adored and loved (my sister was named for her). She is and to many who know her an exemplar of the best of the progressive tradition. For young people, not familiar with her accomplishments, this is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good film about a great lady., November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Experience - Eleanor Roosevelt (DVD)
I have admired this lady since I was a little girl at the end of WWII and read about her. I have seen other programs about her and have watched the wonderful "Eleanor and Franklin" mini series at least 20 times. I really enjoyed this DVD about her life with the many photos and film of her during her life. I recommend it to anyone who is interested in the life and times of this great lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eleanor roosevelt, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Experience - Eleanor Roosevelt (DVD)
Good quality. It really gives alot of insight into her life and this video really goes into depth about her and Franklin Roosevelt. If you like Eleanor... this is a welcome edition to your library that you won't be sorry you purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eleanor Roosevelt, August 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Experience - Eleanor Roosevelt (DVD)
If your studding Eleanor Roosevelt, then this is your video. American Experience always puts out exceptional great productions. Eleanor was an exceptional person and this two hour and thirty minute video covers a lot of territory. Interviews with her closest relatives, friends and biographers as well as rare films, this video reveals the hidden dimensions of one of the country's most influential women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History told well, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Experience - Eleanor Roosevelt (DVD)
Beautifully crafted history of the life of Mrs. Roosevelt. Great photos and film accompanied by the thoughtful writing of David McCullough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

American Experience - Eleanor Roosevelt
American Experience - Eleanor Roosevelt by Sue Williams (DVD - 2006)
$19.99 $11.99
In stock on September 24, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.