Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 23, 2006
You will end up with full knowledge of the story of the Transcontinental Railroad after viewing this. It leaves nothing out...covers everything completely and fairly as far as I can tell. Chock full of primary source pictures and quotes, it's an interesting and educational production that may be the standard of comparison for future endeavors on this important achievement in American history.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2008
This DVD is amazing. From the visionaries and engineers, to the politicians and RR companies - mostly in it for the money, to the workers - ex-soldiers and Chinese, this DVD covers the building of the Transcontinental Railroad very thoroughly and doesn't sugar coat the greed and self-seeking of some. It includes the bittersweet dialogue via letters of one RR supervisor and his wife back in Ohio. I think it is ideal for high school and above. Maybe more info than middle schoolers want. I loved the maps that showed the RR as it was being built. It includes a Teacher's Guide in Adobe PDF format.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2008
After having read Stephen Ambrose about the Men Who Built the Transcontinental Railroad 1863-1869, "Nothing Like It In the World" I became fascinated by the difficulties experienced in that construction, particularly those of the Central Pacific in building across the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Because there was no one DVD that told the whole story, I bought three of them---the current one under review as well as two History Channel DVDs, "The Railroads That Tamed The West" and "Transcontinental Railroad". Together these three DVDs provide a comparatively good understanding of the hardships and difficulties encountered by those responsible and engaging in this monumental task of construction. Aside from all the hype about the "Robber Barons," these men really took momentous risks in engaging in this construction. And they did become wealthy as a result. But who among you would take the risks they undertook for any less? I give each of these DVDs four stars because each in its own way is good, but none tell the whole story. Read the Book, it's excellent.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2009
"American Experience - Transcontinental Railroad" is a meticulously researched and informative documentary, but it is not well-suited for use in high schools. The film provides a very slow and detailed narrative of events, and no single episode concisely captures the main themes that most teachers are looking to convey to their students. It would be very difficult to use this film as part of a 50-minute lesson without repeated use of the fast-forward button.

The film also does not cover certain facts commonly emphasized in high school classrooms. The Pacific Railway Act is discussed in some detail for example, but the narrator fails to mention the law by name. Railroad workers for the Union Pacific company are correctly described as Civil War veterans, but the fact that they were also disproportionately Irish is left out. The same is not true for the film's treatment of the Central Pacific Company where the fact that the company's workers were Chinese is emphasized at great length.

A strong documentary - but teachers should watch this one at home.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2008
We completely enjoyed the historical accuracy of the piece - it was both entertaining and educational - conveying the vision of some, the greed of others and the shear willpower to accomplish an almost unbelievable task of running rail across the vastness of continental US inspite of the dangers and obstacle associated with the work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2009
This was an excellent film for a person like myself who does not have a background in American History. There were questions in my mind about the workers and their life while building the railroad but I understand there are films available concerning this topic. All in all, I enjoyed learning more about the history of the railroad and how it came to be. I will now take a transcontinental train trip myself to experience the terrain and envision those hardy men enduring the hardships that came with each blow to a spike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
This PBS DVD is a great piece of work. The DVD goes into depth about everything from the railroad construction, the finances and the amazingly blatant corruption of both Thomas Durant and the government officials. Very informative and enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2015
It's on youtube
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2005
I'd watch this documentary, but I don't even have a VCR anymore.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse