Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Guide to US Foreign Policy
Now in its 16th edition, American Foreign Policy Since World War II has become one of the most respected guides on the ins and outs US foreign engagement in the 20th century. Combining theory and insight to this historical perspective, Hook and Spanier have created a very thorough book that takes a balanced look at both the domestic and international issues that have...
Published on July 6, 2005 by AMD

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine book
This book is pretty informative, though it's more like a text book than I thought it would be. Dry and without any real philosophical perspective, there's lots of information but little in the way of insight, imo. For my taste, history is about putting things into context and extrapolating insight from past events. This book doesn't go that far, just a recitation of...
Published on April 14, 2012 by J.Carver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Guide to US Foreign Policy, July 6, 2005
This review is from: American Foreign Policy Since World War II (Paperback)
Now in its 16th edition, American Foreign Policy Since World War II has become one of the most respected guides on the ins and outs US foreign engagement in the 20th century. Combining theory and insight to this historical perspective, Hook and Spanier have created a very thorough book that takes a balanced look at both the domestic and international issues that have shaped US foreign policy. This book is comprehensive and comprehensible, making it perfect as leisure reading for those interested in international politics or a text for an international relations course. The fourteen chapters:

1. The American Approach to Foreign Policy

2. From World War to Cold War

3. Containment: From Theory to Practice

4. Developing Countries in the Crossfire

5. Vietnam and the Cost of Containment

6. The Era of Superpower Detente

7. Jimmy Carter and World-Order Politics

8. The Revival of Superpower Confrontation

9. The End of the Cold War

10. America's "Unipolar Moment"

11. Old Tensions in a New Order

12. The Shifting European Landscape

13. America under Fire

14. A World of Trouble

are useful individually to address a specific issue, region, or time period, and as a set to provide a broad overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building Blocks, January 10, 2005
By 
This review is from: American Foreign Policy Since World War II (Paperback)
Steven W. Hook and John Spanier's book on American foreign policy since WWII is a great introduction for those seeking a detailed yet concise elucidation. The authors exploit all levels of analysis (unit, state, and system), and posit a "peculiar national style" and a degree of continuity as underlying the nature of US foreign policy since 1945. Despite the lucanae bound to be found in a wide-ranging account, Hook and Spanier's book is still an excellent building block for understanding post-WWII US foreign policy as well as basic international relations' theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great course book on American foreign policy, November 18, 2008
I had to buy this book for one of my classes in college. Usually textbooks are dry, boring, and not all that informative. However, I really enjoyed reading this and I have kept ahold of it because it contains a great deal of information. It's interesting, never really all that dry and boring, and it will help any college student who is taking a class on international relations and U.S. foreign policy. If your professor hasn't already recommended this, I highly recommend it. It's also a great book for anyone who is a history buff or just interested in international relations and foreign policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars used it for college class, May 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I read this book for a college class and it was one of the few books i have ever actually read. Had a "B" in the class but it's a really interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Written by Neo-Cons, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is a comprehensive review of American Foreign Policy with an obvious Neo-Conservative slant. It does not disparage Carter, Kennedy, Johnson, or Clinton but it clearly glorifies Nixon, Reagan, and Bush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought it for class, but it is not a bad read, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Foreign Policy Since World War II (Paperback)
This book is used in my American Foreign Policy class, but it is very easy to read. Not bad for a "textbook"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for my Foreign Policy course, November 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great insight for my FP course, complementing a theoretical review with the practical exercise of the policy. I particularly liked the insights on local politics and the interaction of the Presidents with the Congress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fine book, April 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is pretty informative, though it's more like a text book than I thought it would be. Dry and without any real philosophical perspective, there's lots of information but little in the way of insight, imo. For my taste, history is about putting things into context and extrapolating insight from past events. This book doesn't go that far, just a recitation of events in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, February 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The quality of the book is great! No marks, no colors, no random sketches. Every page is clean. It looks like a completely new book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 12th Ed is Very Good, February 12, 2012
I found a copy of the 12th Edition from 1992 in the for sale rack from the library (50 cents). It is a very good book. The first chapter alone gets your mind thinking with a good discussion on what makes American Foreign Policy. Spanier shows the policy in many shades of grey which it actually is. This is not a catch phrase book like you here in modern politics, this is a good realistic approach to Foreign Policy that digs deep into what actually happened. Even though this edition of the book is missing out on the last 20 years it covers the time to the first Iraq war very well. I can only expect more current editions continue on the tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

American Foreign Policy Since World War II
American Foreign Policy Since World War II by John W. Spanier (Paperback - July 2003)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.