Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Holiday Music in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now PlasmaCar

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars10
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on February 15, 2004
American Gun is an independent film that was adapted in part from a book that was written about the travels of a gun. I was able to see this movie in the theatre and writer director Alan Jacobs was there to later answer some questions about the film. Jacobs was interested in telling the story of a family that was faced with tragedy, and over this story he also brings in what he thinks is a balanced debate about guns. Though he fails in this, and at times too much effort is put into the gun debate side of the movie, the movie is still a great story.
The story is fairly fresh; a WWII veteran (played by the then 72 year old Coburn) who has had a relatively successful life loses his daughter to a gun. He goes on a long sabbatical in which he traces the history on the gun that killed his daughter. Positive and negative aspects are explored. A poor inner city student shoots his friend then commits suicide with the gun. A young woman who was kidnapped and put in the back of a trunk uses the gun to save her life. As Coburn is investigating the history of the gun, he is writing letters to his deceased daughter in an effort to cope with the pain. All this is set to flashbacks from his war experience where he first learned to kill a man with a gun.
There are several subplots that are put into the movie; the story of Coburn is coupled with the rebellion of his only granddaughter and the ongoing tale of the gun that killed his daughter. Though it at times is a little messy, Jacobs brings the entire movie together at the end very nicely.
The best part of the movie is Coburn. At the age of 72, he successfully portrays a man that is in pain but who is still tough as nails. In one scene Coburn confronts a man much younger than him and his presence intimidated me. If anything else, this film is worthwhile for this fact alone.
In total, this film is entertaining and thought provoking. Though the general conclusion of Jacobs is that guns are lose-lose, the film doesn't suffer because of this fact. As a member of the NRA and firm gun rights advocate, I thought I was going to be annoyed at this film. I wasn't. The end has Coburn not fighting against guns, nor advocating confiscation, but merely moving on with his life and family.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon October 24, 2004
_American Gun_ seems to set people off in two distinct directions: either you love it's subtle anti-firearms message or you run screaming for the hills and feel like the movie falls apart in the last fifteen minutes. Regardless of my own political/moral views concerning guns, I was pulled into this film by two aspects. First, the story was a fresh one and did not (for most of the film) descend into a well-traveled plot. The idea of tracing a gun's history, letting the owner's lives and experiences tell the story of self-defense and homicide, is an original one that made the movie fresh and exciting. This device, the gun, also provided a source for constant change in the movie and kept the movie afloat on its current. The second thing that pulled me in is the powerful final performance of James Coburn, an actor who always succeeds at playing his parts with style, grace, and a deft control of the character. Coburn manages to communicate the pain of a man who loses his daughter to an act of gun violence. His ability to remain strong, shutting out those around him while privately grieving for his daughter, honestly connects up to my experiences of strong men of the old guard. James Coburn was a wonderful actor and _American Gun_ is a fine film to cap one's career.

As to the final section of the film, I do not agree with those who believe the film falls apart or becomes unravelled. I enjoyed the sudden twist of the final few moments (though I can't say it was completely unexpected) and thought that it gave the film a final powerful blow. Rather than depict the lives of saints who are completely sympathetic and understandable, director Alan Jacobs decided to portray real characters-complete with moral ambiguity and problems. If you enjoy smaller films and will not be completely chaffed by a subtle movie that explores the issues concerning the Second Amendment, you should check out _American Gun_ . While it may not be the best thing you've seen in years, it is a fresh film, with a fresh outlook, that guarantees to entertain.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on April 23, 2005
Just when I think I have seen all the films that could possibly leave me vulnerable, I find this under-rated and powerful DVD. I watched this on Showtime the other evening and it left me in that "wow" fog a good movie can leave behind.

If you start watching AMERICAN GUN and are tempted to stop because Virginia Madsen apparently leaves the storyline early, don't! Not only is her character crucial to the overall plot, James Coburn knocks you out cold with his caring, but angry-at-the-world-and-himself portrayal of a father who loses a family member to a fatal gunshot.

I hesitate to describe too much of the plot since there are unexpected turns and twists that shouldn't be revealed, but I can elaborate on the style and lovely quietness of AMERICAN GUN. Maybe "quiet" isn't the whole truth since various gunshots explode throughout the movie as James Coburn explores the history of one gun that has traveled through many different hands. The loudness is also there when he looks back at his own experiences with ammunition in war.

AMERICAN GUN hit me so hard because it is an emotional film more than anything else. At first it seems to be about how a husband and wife each handle grief differently or how one man is determined to find his daughter's killer. In a way, that could sum it up, but there's also a lot about closure and what we think we see versus what is actually there.

The reason this indie deserves more acclaim is because it takes you places you don't expect to go and you are able to experience that great mental process called "thinking." Watch this by yourself--or better yet, rent it with a group of friends who truly enjoy discussing (but not talking to death) a great work of art.

On a side note: The whole cast is just spectacular (a small role by Alexandra Holden will get you a bit teary-eyed), but Coburn and Madsen shine.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 20, 2009
This is James Coburn's last film. It's an anti-gun movie with a twist near the end. It's relentlessly downbeat, but the violence is relatively restrained, so you don't have to witness much blood and gore. Not exactly a laugh riot here, but it's well-made.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 8, 2004
James Coburn's very last movie and probably one of his best ever.
In the Christmas Eve, his daughter gets shot to death, and the only thing that consoles him in those difficult times is taking a journey to trace the owners of the gun who killed his lovely daughter.
It's one of the best thrillers I've ever seen but also one of the worst as the screen-writer made an enormous error that will leave you deceived when the movie is over.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 4, 2004
This movie is about a man played by James Coburn, who is determined to find out the origins of the gun that killed his daughter. He tracks its history and finds out it has been all around the United States and has been used for both good and bad reasons. Very interesting twist at the end. Definitely a good movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
AMERICAN GUN offers the marvelous actor James Coburn in his last screen role. Director Alan Jacobs captures a surreaslistic atmosphere as he explores the trajectory of a gun that was used in the killing of Coburn's daughter (a pre-Sideways Virginia Madsen). Jacobs cleverly dispenses clues as to this gun's path, but the viewer is caught up in the tragic dilemma of Coburn, who wants to know how this gun reached the point of where it resulted in his daughter's death. Coburn is excellent in his performance, as is Masden in her understated delivery. Barbara Bain (Mission Impossible's Cinnamon Carter) adds some level headed credibility in the role of Coburn's wife, and Alexandra Holden is very good as Masden's wayward daughter.

I must admit I didn't see the ending coming, but if one thinks back to Jacobs' clever manipulation, you can see how it ends up this way.

At times depressing and fatalistic, there is a warmth and a lot of familial integrity shown in this well made indie.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
This movie is a great suspensefull movie. I love James Coburn. This seems to be one of his last movies he made. It has some slow areas in the movie, but it keeps you thinking.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2014
amazon rips you off on this rental----they do not paly the whole movie = you only get to watch 55 minutes of it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on December 14, 2003
Great movie that was quite surprising and stayed with you for at least a while after watching it. Heston, you should watch this movie and maybe learn a thing or two!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
American Gun
American Gun by Marcia Gay Harden (DVD - 2006)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.