Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of The New American Medical Dictionary & HealthManual
Robert Rothenberg's Medical Dictionary & Health Manual is a very useful book not only as a dictionary but as a manual covering many health related topics that are beneficial to all health care workers. My Health Careers students in high school purchase these each year for use in class for studying Anatomy & Physiology, using them for term papers, and as...
Published on August 23, 2000 by Thomas Ammann

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Out dated
Did not noticed that it was published in 1999. With all the advances in medicine it is out dated. Hope a new edition will be out shortly.
Published 13 months ago by Robert H.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of The New American Medical Dictionary & HealthManual, August 23, 2000
This review is from: The New American Medical Dictionary and Health Manual (Mass Market Paperback)
Robert Rothenberg's Medical Dictionary & Health Manual is a very useful book not only as a dictionary but as a manual covering many health related topics that are beneficial to all health care workers. My Health Careers students in high school purchase these each year for use in class for studying Anatomy & Physiology, using them for term papers, and as reference to the many health related topics found in the "manual" section. My students have found these very useful as I do as a Health Careers instructor. There are many labeled diagrams throughout the text and useful charts in the manual. The easy language this dictionary uses makes it useful to a wide range of health workers. It can be a useful quick reference for a nurse or as a great learning tool for students. This dictionary not only defines words but is a great manual including sections on the latest Medicare guidelines, medical insurance policies, and Social Security programs. As a health instructor I highly recommend obtaining this very useful health dictionary and manual. At this price, no one can lose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medical dictionary & Health Manual by Bob Rothenberg MD, July 22, 2004
This manual contains thousands of simple and complex medical

terms written for the sophistication of the layperson. Here is

a sample definition:

ankylosis- inability of a joint to function , because of stiffness or fusion of the joint surfaces

There is an extensive section on anatomy tables which contains

definitions of key bones, blood vessels and joints. There is a

comprehensive chart of the adult teeth depicting the positioning

and individual names of the numbered teeth. There is a separate

section on what to include in a medicine chest. Another section

defines blood and urine analytic tests. For instance, 1200+cc

of urine is considered the norm for a 24 hour period of

measurement. The names and addresses of National Health related

institutes are set forth for ease of reference. This would be a very valuable guide for the layperson. The purchase is well worth

the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can be a training tool, June 3, 2001
By 
coleen (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New American Medical Dictionary and Health Manual (Mass Market Paperback)
Besides using this at home, I have found it can be used as a training tool in a heathcare setting. Medical receptionists can use it to expand their medical terminology. The easy to use format is great for the lay person or a health care professional support staff. It is great. Coleen, Healthcare Administrator from Seattle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Out dated, August 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New American Medical Dictionary and Health Manual (Mass Market Paperback)
Did not noticed that it was published in 1999. With all the advances in medicine it is out dated. Hope a new edition will be out shortly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saves many worries, May 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New American Medical Dictionary and Health Manual (Mass Market Paperback)
When ever I wonder about something this is the first book I go for. It gives me many thoughts and ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BEGINNING NURSING STUDENTS PLEASE READ!!, September 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New American Medical Dictionary and Health Manual (Mass Market Paperback)
BEFORE YOU TAKE YOUR FIRST NURSING CLASS BUY A MEDICAL DICTIONARY. EVERY DAY YOU LEARN A NEW MEDICAL TERM HIGHLIGHT IN THE DICTIONARY AND REVIEW AT THE END OF THE WEEK. THIS DICTIONARY IS GREAT BUT I SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT IT IN HARDBACK FORMAT. THE PAPERBACK DOESN'T STAY OPEN.....LISTEN TO ME CAREFULLY. IF YOU WANT TO GET A'S AND B'S BUY A MEDICAL DICTIONARY....YOU HAVE SO MUCH READING 100PAGES PER NITE...THERE IS NO TIME TO GOGGLE ALL THE WORDS. AND WHEN YOU ARE IN CLASS YOU CANT ALWAYS USE A LAPTOP.....YOU WILL SEE MEDICAL WORDS ON "ALL" TESTS... KNOWLEDGE = POWER AND GOOD GRADES...!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Medical Dictionary, March 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New American Medical Dictionary and Health Manual (Mass Market Paperback)
This is my second copy of this excellent book, the first got worn out and all the pages fell out. This is a very useful book to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 6, 2014
Good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The New American Medical Dictionary and Health Manual
The New American Medical Dictionary and Health Manual by Robert E. Rothenberg (Mass Market Paperback - April 1, 1999)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.