Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice Suitcase Overall; Color Not What I Expected
This is a really nice suitcase. The 4 wheels roll smoothly and don't strain my shoulder and arm like the type of case that you tilt to roll. It also has lots of space and the handle is sturdy. Lastly, it is very light in weight, which is important these days with the airline fees. The only thing that was disappointing was the color. The photo leads you to believe it's red...
Published on July 6, 2012 by Sofia Reynolds

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's okay- dirty easily
I've had cheap-ish American tourister microlite luggage for 14 years now- the same rolly suitcase and carryon, not multiple- and they are still fantastic with only a single inner zipper on the rolling suitcase breaking and a flat back edge starting to show serious wear recently and it's been to the other side of the world and back twice and numerous other trips. Thus, I...
Published 6 months ago by thelse


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice Suitcase Overall; Color Not What I Expected, July 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Tourister Luggage Ilite Supreme 25 Inch Spinner Suitcase (Electronics)
This is a really nice suitcase. The 4 wheels roll smoothly and don't strain my shoulder and arm like the type of case that you tilt to roll. It also has lots of space and the handle is sturdy. Lastly, it is very light in weight, which is important these days with the airline fees. The only thing that was disappointing was the color. The photo leads you to believe it's red or maroon. It's pink-Barbie pink. Don't order the Honeysuckle color if you don't like pink. I decided to keep it because I don't have time to send it back, plus I figure it will stand out coming down the conveyer belt at the airport. Could even be a conversation piece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It withstands the test!, February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been on several trips, including a cruise, since I have purchased this bag and have been thrilled with it's performance! I love the spaciousness on the inside. I could almost fit the kitchen sink if I had too! I am so pleased with the handles, especially the extra one on the bottom which makes lifting it so much easier. I am so delighted with the multi-directional wheels. I can just walk normally while moving the suitcase to the side of me, while holding onto the handle, with practically no effect. I am so happy I chose this bag over the many options to be had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far - so good, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this luggage because I need to take a longer vacation than normal and well, wasn't going to play the game of shoving everything into a carry on. I carefully read through many reviews before choosing and I'm really glad I picked this one.

First of all - the color is nothing like the seller image which was mentioned in reviews. In bright light or flash, yes - but in reality it's darker and I love it more than the shown color. I wanted something that stood out and I got it - within a reasonable price.

Another concern in the reviews was with the zippers. I played with every one of them over and over again and have no idea what the problem is so it's either fixed or it's misunderstood that you can't run a zipper over fabric. :)

The spinner wheels are so smooth! I put my carryon bag on top of this one and I could probably take down a family of 5 like bowling pins at an alley this thing rolls so well. Look out folks, here I come!

Last, bag has so much room it's not even funny and it has a zipper to allow additional space if needed. There is no doubt that I will be able to pack a week's worth of clothing, shoes and toiletries and have plenty of room for souvenirs for the trip back. Since its total size is 53 inches it's well within my airline's limitations of 62 inches (total length+width+height), how could I not love it? Now if I can just keep it under 50 pounds.

If it falls apart on the first trip like it did for others and I didn't cause the problem to happen, I'll be sure to let you know. For now - I would highly recommend this as a great alternative to an overpriced bag. Now if I can just keep it under 50 pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality but wheels do not move as smoothly as Samsonite suitcase when it is fully packed, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just the right size for long distance travel given the 50-lbs weight restriction. I had a bigger one from Samsonite but if that one is fully packed, it will be over the weight limit. However, the 4 wheels on this American Tourister luggage do not move as smoothly as the Samsonite. Everything else meets my expectation. If I purchase suitcase again, I will go for Samsonite even if I have to pay more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's okay- dirty easily, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've had cheap-ish American tourister microlite luggage for 14 years now- the same rolly suitcase and carryon, not multiple- and they are still fantastic with only a single inner zipper on the rolling suitcase breaking and a flat back edge starting to show serious wear recently and it's been to the other side of the world and back twice and numerous other trips. Thus, I thought this was a great brand to go with.

The quality on the newer ones (this green suitcase) is not anything like the old.
So far, I've taken this one on 6 car rides and 1 domestic round trip flight- loaded to 40 pounds each time.

First- it's heavier than the old microlite even though this is smaller. The fabric is thicker. No big deal, but it was a little disappointing since you'd think things would have gotten better.

Wheels- the spinny wheels are OK. They aren't annoying like the cheap kind and they are heavenly like the samsonite that looks almost the same as this model. They are pretty good and rolled well with 40+ pounds in the suitcase. I'm a fan of spinny wheels in general but after having one break off on a cheap suitcase, I only wanted them on a trusted brand. Let's hope these stay on. So far they've made it longer than the cheap suitcase ;)

color- the green is nothing like the pretty fun green on the green. It's multitone with different colors on different sections and is pretty neon with a very yellowy ugly color that lacks the smooth appearance in the picture. it's not what I expected or wanted at all, but hey, you can find it on the belt!

dirty- I've had plenty of suitcases in sizes and colors- black, navy, red. I found black gets somewhat dirty and red and blue don't. However, the grainy weird fabric and light color of this suitcase made is look abysmal after the first flight. It came down the belt and we thought immediately it must be ours but as it got closer it looked so dirty and old we second guessed it. One flight and it will look ancient, dirty and worn like it has traveled the world.

Front pockets- be warned, the front pockets are flat files. The way that they open makes it so only something really flat like paper can go in them. I'd max out that bottom pocket at maybe 2 calendars MAX.

Zippers- they aren't the greatest and I"d hoped for more. They work ok. Well most of them worked OK. However, after returning after the roundtrip flight, the zipper on the front large pocket broke- you know the zipping but the zipper doesn't actually close. :/ you'd expect that only with extremely low quality luggage. I've gotten no name brands from target for 20 bucks that had zippers that lasted longer. I'm hoping we can fix this somehow. I've got to look into this warrantee since that was certainly a pull in buying this over something less expensive.

size- this is within the guidelines for checked baggage without going over. This is really important. I bought this one after having to return another suitcase whose listed dimensions calculated out to be under the required size but in actuality were over the max baggage (hundred in oversize baggage fees? no thank you!- always check reviews and with tape measure for real outer dimensions). This one, again, is perfectly fine for checking. Obviously, don't try to bring it as a carry on. It's actually a bit smaller than was expected and the bottom (wheel side) is a little deeper than the top.

durability- beyond what's written, we'll have to see. I was expecting this to be another investment piece and last at least another 15 years but it's not looking good.

Overall- it's not a bad suitcase. it's a little ugly but easy to see. It wheels around pretty well even when packed with 40 pounds. However, those expecting the quality that used to come with American tourister or a lightweight bag may be disappointed.
Here's hoping the zippers and wheels hold up at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
worked out great. large, light and easy. this bag holds a LOT of stuff. we have two and are very happy with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice suitcase, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought for my mom to take on a cruise. Very roomy and extremely light weight. Easy to spot a purple suitcase in a sea of black and navy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love the purple - makes it so easy to find, February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Plenty of room, rolls easily, carry on loops over handle. After 7 flights in 10 days this luggage still looks like brand new. I love the plastic zippered compartment and shoe compartments. It holds a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad zipper, October 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The zipper was defective. I realized this as I was packing hours before leaving to Europe. Had to purchase a luggage strap at the airport and hope for the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Suitcase was trashed after one flight, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was extremely disappointed in this suitcase. One flight and the suitcase came out bent up in the frame and torn around the seams. Some of the things in it were missing. The airlines gave me a suitcase to bring my stuff home in and because I was a bit shocked I never thought to take the destroyed suitcase with me so there was nothing to get my money refunded from the company. I ended up paying for the suitcase when my credit card statement arrived a couple weeks later. I wouldn't have given it a one except that was the lowest I could go.

Seriously do not buy this suitcase. I have been flying the same airlines for the last 4 years over 6 times a year and have never had a problem with a suitcase until this one just plain fell apart on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

American Tourister Luggage Ilite Supreme 25 Inch Spinner Suitcase
$240.00 $97.54 - $239.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.