Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the series, but plenty of meaty material to sink your teeth into
AMERICAN VAMPIRE VOL. 4 isn't the best in the series, but it gives fans plenty of meaty material to sink their teeth into (terrible pun completely intended). This volume of American Vampire is divided into two portions. The first takes place in the 1800s during the Indian Wars, and the second portion takes place during the 1950s. It's a Skinner Sweet-heavy volume, which...
Published 22 months ago by Eric Christensen

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars meh
i loved the first 3 trades vol 3 being my favorite this vole has too sub pat stories and 1 great 1 being deathrace but the other too do offer some back story and move the story to the next arc but all i n all its worth a buy but sad to say american vampires going on break for a year so read while u can
Published 22 months ago by shadowman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the series, but plenty of meaty material to sink your teeth into, October 15, 2012
This review is from: American Vampire Vol. 4 (Hardcover)
AMERICAN VAMPIRE VOL. 4 isn't the best in the series, but it gives fans plenty of meaty material to sink their teeth into (terrible pun completely intended). This volume of American Vampire is divided into two portions. The first takes place in the 1800s during the Indian Wars, and the second portion takes place during the 1950s. It's a Skinner Sweet-heavy volume, which is great, because Skinner is such a fun character (and by fun, I mean evil and terrible. But the worst villains make the best characters). Pearl barely makes an appearance, which is a fault in my opinion, but that speaks to the quality of Snyder's and Albuquerque's work-I get upset because they have not given me enough awesomeness.

The first story takes place before Skinner was turned into a vampire. He's in the US Army, fighting the Indian Wars, along side his best friend, James Book. This portion gives readers some great backstory on Skinner and how he has always been a monster of one sort or another, even as a boy. It also hints at other types of vampires running around the American West.

The second portion has two protagonists. The first is Travis Kidd: teenager, greaser, vampire hunter. Another badass in a world that seems to be lousy with them, Travis is obsessed with killing vampires because they killed his family. But Travis has a sense of style. He has to do it his own way, outside of the Vassals of the Morning Star, as much as they would love to have him as a new recruit. He's a smart, vicious, and capable guy. I hope this isn't the last time we see him. Oh, and Travis's story offers readers just a hint about the big things that happened between the Vassals and Skinner after Volume 3. I hope we get to learn more about that.

The second protagonist is Calvin Poole, last seen as part of the secret group the Vassals sent to the Pacific during WW2 (i.e., Volume 3). While investigating rumors of new vampires, he was infected with Pearl's vampiric blood. 10 years later, he's now a vampire, but working for the Vassals, still searching for new strains of vampires, while also learning what it means to sacrifice everything to be a member of the Vassals. But what's great about the one-two punch that is the stories of Kidd and Poole is that people-just everyday, non-Vassal people-are fighting back against the vampires. They are learning, adapting, and maybe even scoring a win here and there.

Like I said earlier, this wasn't my favorite volume in the American Vampire series, but that's really because the other volumes set such a high bar. I wasn't as engaged by the plots as I was in earlier American Vampire volumes. They were good, but not great. And even as I write that, I feel like I'm splitting hairs. Kidd's story was the best in this volume, and there was a big reveal and some hints at great things to come. I just wish a couple of those big moments could have happened in Volume 4.

That being said, I love Snyder's writing as well as Albuquerque's and Bernet's artwork. I'll be a fan of their across all their projects. I can't wait to see what they do next, in the American Vampire series and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kind of a mixed bag, but Travis Kidd is just too cool for school!, October 7, 2012
This review is from: American Vampire Vol. 4 (Hardcover)
AMERICAN VAMPIRE gives us something rarely seen in comics since the days of the old Wolfman/Colan TOMB OF DRACULA comics: Really scary vampires. I know that Steve Niles and Ben Templesmith really did some nice work with 30 DAYS OF NIGHT, but despite all the tie-ins and films and so on in regards to that title, it was really a one-off. AMERICAN VAMPIRE, created by Scott "The Best Writer DC Has Had In Years" Snyder, Stephen King (yes, THAT Stephen King), and artist Rafael Albuquerque have introduced a vampire tale for the times. It's a tale that spans centuries, but it's a uniquely American take on what essentially is a mythology for the entire world at this point. And Snyder keeps taking us to new times and new characters, but never losing sight of the mission of this comic: creating a new mythology that branches out on the old.

The first half of this trade is, sadly, not terribly good. While having some really nice art by Jordi Bernet, "The Beast in the Cave" is something of a letdown, where we get a pre-vamped Skinner Sweet and his once-upon-a-time best friend James Book and their duty as soldiers and their battle against Indians. The tale just never really picks up a lot of steam and kind of plods along with a more anecdotal quality to it that seems forced. Basically, a little too much of Snyder's English degree shows through here.

Fortunately, this trade also introduces us to the coolest member of the VMS to ever hit the streets in "Death Race". Set in the early 1950's and wearing the traditional garb of the "greaser", Travis Kidd seems to be as much of the problem as he is the solution. He's THE rebel. When killing vampires, he wears false fangs. He's totally anti-authoritarian. He's every bit as dangerous as the vampires he's hunting and his superiors at The Vassals of The Morning Star know it. But the race referred to in the title of this arc is indeed a deadly race as a long-thought-dead villain returns as two vehicles go racing through the southern California deserts as the villain has Travis' girl in the trunk.

"Death Race" is something of a small miracle, because it clearly deals with a time and a culture that Snyder is very much in love with, and it shows with vivid detail. Via Kidd's internal monologue, we get something of his own personal journey as well as details about the archetypal "juvenile delinquent" that pervaded the youth culture during the 50's. But Kidd is a rebel WITH a cause, as we find out in his own tale. As a character, he breathes new life into a comic that is never stale, and being able to surprise and stun readers is something that Snyder effortlessly pulls off in this arc and leaving them hungry for much more. And as per usual, Albuquerque's art is just delicious icing on an already delicious cake. His renderings of vampires are very reminiscent of Gene Colan's work, working to make them hideous grotesqueries rather than your Lugosis or your Pattinsons.

Vol 4 of AMERICAN VAMPIRE may not be the best volume of this comic you'll ever get, but it is certainly contains one of its best arcs and freshest characters.

4/5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing read, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Vampire Vol. 4 (Hardcover)
Great collection by a great team. One of my favorite arcs in the series other than the most recent. Loved the extra little notes and drawing at the back as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A solid entry in the series, June 20, 2014
My library finally got in the next several volumes of American Vampire, among other things! So that’s awesome, and has the side-effect of placing a large stack of graphic novels next to my bed for the immediate future. Since this is a series, this review will unavoidably offer some spoilers for previous volumes (Volume I/Volume II/Volume III). You’ve been warned….

This volume contains three different stories from the world of American Vampire. First off, we have The Beast In The Cave, which shines a light on the relationship between Skinner Sweet and Jim Book before the one became an outlaw and the other became a lawman, starting with their childhood as near-brothers and continuing into their actions in the Indian Wars. Turns out, Skinner Sweet wasn’t the first vampire forged in the New World. That honor goes to Mimiteh, the young native girl who played Sacajawea to an expedition led by a pair of vampires. The experience proved…transformative. Now rogue Apache leader Hole In The Sky plans to unleash Mimeteh and her fury on the Cavalry forces hunting him. If she cooperates, that is…. On the whole, this was good stuff. It was good to see some more of the backstory between Book and Sweet before their eventual parting of the ways, and Jordi Bernet’s artwork was a good match to the general feel established by Rafael Albuquerque–enough so that I didn’t realize it wasn’t him doing the work on this particular story. You could, however, argue that Mimiteh and her story somewhat undercuts the significance of the events in the first volume and steals the thunder from Sweet. Oh well, moving on.

Returning to the forward-moving portion of the story, i.e. 1954, we meet young vampire hunter Travis Kidd in Death Race. Kidd is on the hunt, taking down vampires wherever he can find them, nest by nest, always looking towards the day he finds himself face to face with the man he holds responsible for the death of his family: Skinner Sweet. Throw a pretty girl and the Vassals Of The Morningstar into the mix, and things are about to heat up…. This story was decent, if a little disjointed due to all the flashbacks. I like the character of Travis Kidd, and hope he shows up again in future volumes. I could have done with a little more explanation of how Sweet survived his apparent demise in 1945, but I suspect that may be a story saved for a future flashback session while Albuquerque catches up on his penciling.

Rounding out the volume, we have an adventure with Calvin Poole in The Nocturnes. You may remember Poole from Volume III, he was the young African-American Marine that went in with the Vassals Of The Morningstar to clean up the vamps on Taipan. When we saw him last, he was lying in an army hospital as a surgeon dug the fragments of a glass vial out of his chest. A glass vial which Pearl Jones had sent with her husband Henry in case of emergency. A vial that contained just enough of her blood to turn a man into a vampire….Now Poole works as a taxonomist for the Vassals, identifying what species they’re dealing with in a given situation. Today, however, Poole is taking a day off to go see his brother play a gig in a sleepy little Alabama town. Turns out, however, that Alabama is generally not a healthy place for a black man in 1954. And this particular town? It’s worse than usual. A decent story focused on an interesting side character, marred slightly by the artwork in my humble opinion. The first half of the two-part story, penciled by Roger Cruz, was decent. It was noticeably different from Albuquerque’s style, but aside from that there was nothing to complain about. That’s not even necessarily a problem. For whatever reason, however, Cruz didn’t draw the second half. That torch was passed on to Riccardo Burchielli, who either failed or never even tried to match Cruz’s artwork. It just didn’t work for me somehow. Maybe you’ll disagree, I can’t say.

CONTENT: As I’ve stated before, Vertigo comics are not for kiddies. R-rated language. Bloody, disturbing violence, as you should expect from a comic with the word “vampire” in the title. No overt sexual content, but there is some nudity. Mimiteh doesn’t wear a stitch of clothing outside of her origin flashbacks, and we get a nightmare-image of Calvin Poole’s wife naked and covered in vampire bites. I have no idea what that’s about, I imagine we’ll find out in future volumes. There is some implied sexual content, but nothing explicit. Mimiteh spent her childhood first as servant then as wife to a French trapper, who then sold her services as a guide to the vampire exploration party. You can draw your own conclusions as to how old she was when her duties changed, since she never says. You can also draw your own conclusions as to what Travis and Piper have been doing all night in his car before he takes her home at the beginning of Death Race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great as usual, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved this book just like all the others in the series. Wish there was more than 6 books in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars woohoo, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Vampire Vol. 4 (Hardcover)
A great continuation of a great series i have not been disappointed by any book that Scott Snyder is involved with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love all of them!!!, December 25, 2013
By 
Roxana Wilson "Roxana" (COOS BAY, OR, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read all of them so far. I just love them. This one was my favorite. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Volume 3, but 3 was epic, August 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Vampire Vol. 4 (Hardcover)
It would have taken an amazing book to top American Vampire Vol. 3 and, honestly, this book isn't amazing. But it is still really enjoyable.

There are three main stories. The first, a flashback story with Skinner Sweet (pre-vamp) and James Book felt a bit contrived. I was surprised to see something that felt so much like a ret-con so early in the series. Honestly, I'd be happy if Snyder and co. never went back to the old west in the series if this is what is left to present, especially when there is so much fun to be had in the 1950s and beyond.

Travis Kidd, the hip rocker vampire hunter featured in the second story, is as much fun as one could hope for . . . and more. I was also over-joyed to see a return of Raphael Albuquerque's art. His lush women and terrifying vampires are a bit part of the heart of the series for me and I never enjoy a story as much when he isn't drawing it (even through the other artists are usually quite good). I loved this story and I would have been happy to have it comprise the whole book.

The final story, starring Calvin Poole (but now in vamp form) was enjoyable, but never really got full legs for me. I'm looking forward to future stories with Calvin.

All in all, this is well worth the read. I missed Pearl (she only features slightly and then mainly to hint at future story developments), but am very much looking forward to reading the next volume. This is one of the most satisfying comics in years for me and the hardcover volume's high quality is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still good, August 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Vampire Vol. 4 (Hardcover)
It's a fun addition to the series but it really is just a bridge from 3 to 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love American Vap!!!, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Vampire Vol. 4 (Hardcover)
I really like these books!! I hate that i have to leave a certain amount of words. I love lamp!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

American Vampire Vol. 4
American Vampire Vol. 4 by Scott Snyder (Hardcover - October 2, 2012)
$24.99 $18.29
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.