Qty:1
  • List Price: $24.00
  • Save: $7.09 (30%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by hippo_books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Item qualifies for FREE shipping and Prime! This item is used.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

American Widow Hardcover – September 9, 2008


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$16.91
$3.48 $0.01
Paperback
"Please retry"
Showcase%20Weekly%20Deal

Frequently Bought Together

American Widow + Maus II: A Survivor's Tale: And Here My Troubles Began
Price for both: $26.68

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Villard; Gph edition (September 9, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345500695
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345500694
  • Product Dimensions: 9.4 x 7.5 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #202,786 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Torres's husband, Eddie, started work at Cantor Fitzgerald in the World Trade Center on September 10, 2001. The next day, Alissa became one of the terrorist widows of 9/11. American Widow chronicles Alissa's first year without Eddie—including the birth of their child, two months after his death. It also traces their courtship, marriage and the last few days of Eddie's life. This deeply personal book is at times raw, angry, bleak and lyrical. The best prose comes out of Torres's moments of pure, lonely grief, which punctuate her confusing and at times horrifying experiences with various aid agencies, family members, friends and strangers. Choi's art is reminiscent of the work of Andi Watson and Craig Thompson, and complements Torres's writing by emphasizing the ordinary in Alissa's extraordinary circumstances. Torres and Choi do best with the confusion and shock that come with a sudden death, laying out scene after scene without quite connecting them—just as events seem to go on and on without meaning when one has lost someone important. What this book lacks in technique and narrative drive, it makes up in its heartfelt look at the universality in one woman's loss. (Sept.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Alissa Torres lives in New York with her family.

Choi is a graduate of the School of Visual Arts in New York City and has produced short comics as well as illustrations for The New York Times.

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
6
2 star
2
1 star
0
See all 18 customer reviews
The drawing and art of the novel are beautiful and extremely well done.
Dante
We used it in one of my college classes to understand and relate comics to modern and post modern art.
N. Spearman
It's an interesting book because the author tells us both too much and not enough.
E. A. Montgomery

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Tim Lasiuta on September 10, 2008
Format: Hardcover
The events of September 11, 2001 will go down as the day international terror began to rule the United States and an era of battle readiness gained prominence. For Alissa Torres, and those left behind by the deaths of the thousands in the towers, a painful chapter in life began.
On many levels, Torres bares her soul as she wades through the intense emotions surrounding the loss of Eddie Torres, her husband. Pregnant on September 11, 2001, the birth of her child by a dead husband put her into a situation even more intense. Betrayal, loss, anger, loneliness, and desperation ooze through in the sparse diary/dialogue laden narrative. The art by Sungyoon Choi is simple, and does not overwhelm the angst filled text.

Content wise, most Americans will never get a more honest education in the politics of humanitarian aid, whether Red Cross, or government based. The frustration the survivors must have dealt with are intimidating in lowpoint emphasis. The transformation from wife, to widow, to victim, to charity dependent, and finally to independence is compelling.

This will be a controversial book given the subject matter. Agree with Ms Torres or not, you will find yourself wanting to find out `the rest of the story'.

Tim Lasiuta
[...]
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Monie Garcia VINE VOICE on August 23, 2008
Format: Hardcover
American Widow is a graphic novel revealing the story of Alissa Torres who was left widowed at seven months pregnant by the tragedy of 9/11.

The story includes that fateful day up to the one-year anniversary with alternating flash backs including scenes of Eddie at 10-years old, his life before meeting Alissa and their courtship, marriage and pregnancy. In chapter one alone, my arms were covered with goose bumps. 9/11 was just Eddie's second day at his new job with Cantor Fitzgerald. Included is Alissa's deeply frustrating struggle with several assistance agencies and the government plus you see how different friends and family react to her circumstances.

The story exposed shows us just a glimmer of what surviving family members endured that I would have never imagined. When Alissa's private thoughts are shared you get a sense of how difficult and confusing this time in her life was and you can't help but be affected by this deeply personal story.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By E. A. Montgomery on June 2, 2009
Format: Hardcover
This is a biographical graphic novel in the tradition of "Maus" or "Fun Home", with flashbacks intercut into the narrative. It's an interesting book because the author tells us both too much and not enough. There are things that you want to know, because to know them would allow you to sort your emotions about her experience into more easily labeled boxes. It's too much, in a sense, because aspects of the story (which I won't spoil) may make it too easy to sort it into boxes. It's a bit contradictory, I know, but what about 9/11 is ever easy?

One of the most powerful aspects of American Widow is how the story of 9/11 changes around her, while her circumstance has not changed at all. She wakes up a widow, and she goes to sleep a widow. In the hours between the public has their own needs, their own opinions, their own exploitative desires. She just has a husband to bury. The common perception that aid flowed freely to help the victims of 9/11 due to the generosity of the American people is a bit too good to be true. Where large sums of money go, so go people invested in that money. 9/11 was no different. American Widow details the maze set up for those who lost loved ones, a maze ironically easier to navigate if you weren't lost in grief.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Ennio Ranaboldo on September 11, 2008
Format: Hardcover
With time inexorably passing by, and amongst the far too many pointless narratives exploiting 9/11 to nobody's gain, here comes Alissa Torres' extraordinary book. The blessing of truth, unmitigated and at times scathing, as it emerges page after page in American Widow, does more for our collective and individual insight than any increasingly pale, and vain, anniversary celebration. And the splendid drawings make this book highly recommendable for any curious and intelligent child and for all New Yorkers, really.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By N. Spearman on July 1, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I loved it and it was very modern :) We used it in one of my college classes to understand and relate comics to modern and post modern art.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By IV on November 3, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Wow. What an amazing book this is. It really opened my eyes. I loved that this book was from the perspective of someone who actually lived this. It was so real. I felt every emotion in this book as I was reading it. My class just skyped with Alissa Torres and I was able to relate my feelings about certain situations with her views. It really was great to see her (almost) face-to-face. Just one question...Alissa, when will you publish another book?! I can't wait until that day comes.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Dante on October 27, 2008
Format: Hardcover
I happened to come across this book at a bookstore not too long ago. I opened it out of curiousity, and ended up reading it entirely in one sitting.
The subject of the book was very emotionally powerful for me, the story of a 8 month pregnant women whose husband is killed in the WTC on 9/11 and the ensuing struggle to cope with the tremendous loss despite the ongoing, stubborn everyday life that the world brings. Mixed in with the life story of her husband, it is a saddening yet powerfully revealing read.
The drawing and art of the novel are beautiful and extremely well done.
I am slightly amazed this book hasn't gotten more attention, which it is well deserving of.
I clearly remember the emotions of the actual day seven years ago. The ensuing turmoil of political situations over the years to now have been only too clear. But reading this marked the very first time tears have been brought to my eyes.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?