Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family secrets.
A good movie with a decent plot and an unexpected ending.

Martin (Mathieu Demy) lives in France. His mother who lives in California dies and he must travel abroad to take care of her estate. During the first part of the movie we realize that he only has negative memories of his mother after his father took him back to France to live with him when he was...
Published 19 months ago by zeus

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Okay
The cover is what caught my eye. The movie was okay.
Its one of those movies you wish you saw before you bought.
Published 17 months ago by Charles A. Crosby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family secrets., December 23, 2012
This review is from: Americano [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A good movie with a decent plot and an unexpected ending.

Martin (Mathieu Demy) lives in France. His mother who lives in California dies and he must travel abroad to take care of her estate. During the first part of the movie we realize that he only has negative memories of his mother after his father took him back to France to live with him when he was younger. A friend of his mother (Geraldine Chaplin) tries to change his negative attitude towards his mother. Slowly everything becomes clear, and he realizes that his mother, who suffered after the divorce, had a close friend that used to be his playing partner when he was younger. He finds a picture of the girl and learns that she is now in Mexico. He travels to Mexico with a red Mustang to find her and he learns that she works in a rundown strip joint. He meets Lola (Salma Hayek) who is supposed to be the lost friend he is looking for. He is losing his passport and all his belongings when his Mustang is stolen. From there on the story takes off and we are in for a good forty five minutes and an unexpected ending. Of course the red convertible Mustang is destroyed! That happens when you park a convertible in the street unattended in any country!

This is a solid movie with very good performances from Mathieu Demy and Salma Hayek, a good script, and very good direction. On top of everything else we have a surprising ending. Four stars for a good movie that is worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Okay, February 16, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Americano [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The cover is what caught my eye. The movie was okay.
Its one of those movies you wish you saw before you bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulossssss !, March 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Americano (Amazon Instant Video)
Was a good story, Salma Hayek Amazing, interesting see three places in one movie France , LA, and Mexico .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars americono was the worst movie i ever tried to, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Americano (DVD)
americono was the worst movie i ever tried to watch, it was so bad i ran it through my shredder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Americano (DVD)
very nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For Selma Hayek lovers, August 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Americano (DVD)
Selma is quite good in the title role. Overall, a 4 rating is probably a little high but I really like Ms Hayek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Language sub-titles., September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Americano (DVD)
Interesting if you spoke the different languages. But tedious trying to keep up with the sub-titles and the movie. So So
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it was good, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Americano [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
after watching this film i was suprised i did end up enjoying the film and selma hayak was just awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Americano (DVD)
This movie is excellent movie enjoy but you need a strong stomic to watch so be a wear of the movie it is very sexuality not for kids at all do not bring kids only adults you need a good head to focus enjoy no girl friend recommended enjoy if girls watch it remember its only a movie not real life .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars only english in subtitles, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Americano (DVD)
I didn't enjoy this due to the fact that it only had english available in sub-titles and this was my fault for not checking that when i bought it, overall it was a good film otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Americano
Americano by Mathieu Demy (DVD - 2012)
$24.98 $11.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.