Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely valuable contribution to the understanding of religion in the U.S.
When many writers describe religion in America, they compare and contrast Catholics with Protestants; or Evangelicals with Mainline denominations and liberal faith groups; or religious adults with Atheists. This book goes much deeper and assesses people's belief in the nature of God. It turns out that a person's concept of God can predict many of her or his beliefs and...
Published on October 18, 2010 by Bruce Robinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting and true
America is becoming a Christian nation in name only. Froese uses actual statistics to help the reader get a handle on the Christian beliefs that address God.
Published 6 months ago by L. Osborne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely valuable contribution to the understanding of religion in the U.S., October 18, 2010
By 
Bruce Robinson (Kingston, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When many writers describe religion in America, they compare and contrast Catholics with Protestants; or Evangelicals with Mainline denominations and liberal faith groups; or religious adults with Atheists. This book goes much deeper and assesses people's belief in the nature of God. It turns out that a person's concept of God can predict many of her or his beliefs and actions.

People's belief in God is assessed according to two criteria: To what extent is God believed to interact with the world, and to what extent is God believed to judge the world. These two criteria produce five very different descriptions of God: An authoritative God who is both engaged and judgmental; a benevolent God who is engaged but nonjudegmental; a critical God who is judgmental and disengaged; a distant God who is nonjudgmental and disengaged; and the Un-God -- the belief held by Atheists that no God exists, or that they have no concept of God. Many people select one of the five concepts of God as a result of their childhood experience with religion, as modified by later life experiences.

The authors of "America's Four Gods" demonstrate "... how images of God influence our beliefs and behaviors regardless of our upbringing, our religion, our political identity and an array of other factors."

A very valuable contribution to the understanding of religion in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, December 28, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found this book to be very interesting and thought provoking. Didn't fit my
beliefs for any of the four god categories, but learned a lot more in general. The
authors spent a great deal of time on referencing and researching, which truly shows
their devotion to giving the reader adequate coverage of the material. I would
recommend this book to both religious and non-religious individuals who just want
a basic evaluation of American religious beliefs. Very well written, easy reading
and not top heavy with intellectual interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The type of God you believe in correlates well with your attitude, May 4, 2011
By 
Angela M. Hey (Portola Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The research here is thoroughly documented, with questionnaire and references provided. Whether God is Authoritative, Benevolent, Critical, Distant or non-existent, in your belief system is likely to affect your attitudes to climate change, abortion, evolution and other popular themes. Note "likely", it's not absolutely certain that you will believe in a certain way, neither is it certain that you will have a view of God that matches the categorization put forth in this book. It is however, a jolly good piece of research.

The case studies, which range from mid-western outposts to trendy Aspen, will be credible to those with a religious upbringing, others will gain insights into worldviews different from their own. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to understand Americans' beliefs.

The thesis of the book is that how you think of God is a much better predictor of how you will behave than some more widely accepted categorizations of people.

No longer should discussion of religious beliefs be taboo in certain circles, because this is what determines how many act, think and behave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The God Perception, March 28, 2011
America's Four Gods is a fascinating and unique look at how Americans perceive God. When the right questions are asked, we find that people claiming the same religion, and even worshipping within the same church, believe in different versions of the same God. These beliefs color much of each person's views on life, from personal morals to politics.

While this book is well researched, documented and detailed, it is also easy to read and entertaining. A great read for anyone interested in religion and/or human behavior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: America's Four Gods: What We Say about God--and What That Says about Us (Hardcover)
This book wasn't earth shattering, but it was interesting. It basically categorizes American theologies into four main groups, and whatever group one can be categorized in usually has predictable ways in which the treat the Bible, money, politics, science, etc. This is quite predictable and what we all expected, but it is proven with data. Sometimes, stereotypes are real.

Although, the book doesn't really account for the more complicated religious people in this country like moderate mainline protestants or Conservative Judaism, or moderate Islam, which are very difficult versions of religion to categorize .in the way that Froese categorizes. Liberals of the religions call think these groups are conservative; conservatives of these religions think these groups are liberal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful, comprehensive survey of American religious beliefs, January 21, 2011
America's Four Gods: What We Say About God - & What That Says About Us provides a powerful, comprehensive survey of American religious beliefs to explore how Americans view God. Many social and political conflicts actually arise from religious convictions rarely discussed: original survey data from thousands of Americans blend with interviews to consider the influence of differing beliefs in God on the American social and political system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
okay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interesting and true, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
America is becoming a Christian nation in name only. Froese uses actual statistics to help the reader get a handle on the Christian beliefs that address God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and informative, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed the comparison of the different beliefs in America and how they relate to how we interpret and response to issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Controversial, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Brought to my mind some important questions about my faith and why I need to set an example for others as a Christian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

America's Four Gods: What We Say about God--and What That Says about Us
Used & New from: $5.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.