Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Amish Winter Wonderland"
Well Samantha Bayarr did it again! While this is Book 2 a sequal to "Jacob's Daughter", it could stand alone, although I wholeheartedly encourage you to read "Jacob's Daughter" first.

This is a wonderful book about Lillian and Seth, who are in their twenties and were bypassed by fate to have been married earlier in life, as are most Amish couples. The antics...
Published on February 6, 2012 by Eleanor (Skippy) Roosevelt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its just like the other one
Its a copy of the last book. Too much introspective stuff. Same plot, same old thing. The guy is in love but thinks the girl don't like him. The girl is in love but misreads his every move. The writing is good but needs a better story plot.
Published 16 months ago by Marietta Skeens


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Amish Winter Wonderland", February 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amish Winter Wonderland: BOOK 2 (Jacob's Daughter Series (An Amish, Christian Romance)) (Kindle Edition)
Well Samantha Bayarr did it again! While this is Book 2 a sequal to "Jacob's Daughter", it could stand alone, although I wholeheartedly encourage you to read "Jacob's Daughter" first.

This is a wonderful book about Lillian and Seth, who are in their twenties and were bypassed by fate to have been married earlier in life, as are most Amish couples. The antics of Lillian's sister Hannah in trying to "match" her with Seth are hilarious, seemingly negative, but ultimately the best possible result - to say the least. Samantha creates a wonderful seasaw atmosphere between Lillian and Seth as each are dubious as to the other's feeling and are hesitant to take the first step to avoid being disappointed.

The descriptive scenery with which Samatha treats her readers is so romantically heartwarming. As an example, she describes a gorgeous sceen where the young folks in the community gather at the frozen pond to go ice skating. She describes how each one brings their lanterns and place them in the perimeter of the pond to illuminate it. While at the pond a very, almost unprecedented scene takes place between Seth and Henry. I won't spoil it for you, you need to read it and enjoy it for yourself.

Another scene Samantha depicts takes place one evening as Lizzie is walking home, the snow is falling, everything is so quiet, all you could hear is the snow falling, then she hears an owl, she looks up to see it, his yellow eyes shine at her and he tilts his head as if to say hi Lizzie. Samantha does a marvelous job in describing this scene.

The gift Seth gave Lizzie, through her niece Abby, is the quintessential gift of oneself. When you read this book to see Seth's birthday gift to Lizzie, you'll wonder why you never thought of giving such a meaningful treasure to a cherished loved one.

In an effort to try to get a better reading on Seth, Lizzie, who owns her own bakery, commissions him to build some furniture for her to fill the lobby of her bakery. Samantha does a terrific job here when Lizzie first sees a chair Seth made for her. One can visualize the satisfaction Seth experiences when he sees the delight in Lizzie's eyes as she sees the first of four chairs he'll make for her.

The color blue is significant in this book, when you read it, you'll know why.

The conclusion Samantha provides in this book is anticipated, but the manner in which she presents it is more than the reader can expect. Again, a fantastic Christian read coupled by the very affordable price. Get this book, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its just like the other one, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amish Winter Wonderland: BOOK 2 (Jacob's Daughter Series (An Amish, Christian Romance)) (Kindle Edition)
Its a copy of the last book. Too much introspective stuff. Same plot, same old thing. The guy is in love but thinks the girl don't like him. The girl is in love but misreads his every move. The writing is good but needs a better story plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amish Winter Wonderland Book 2, July 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amish Winter Wonderland: BOOK 2 (Jacob's Daughter Series (An Amish, Christian Romance)) (Kindle Edition)
Samantha Bayarr you have done it again....I LOVED IT!!!! I have read this series not once but twice...sometimes I have to refresh my memories of what the book was about if I read it long ago but I am not disappointed in reading it twice...it allows me to relive why I bought it in the first place....keep them coming :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amish Winter Wonderland: BOOK 2 (Jacob's Daughter Series (An Amish, Christian Romance)) (Kindle Edition)
Good Christian story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amish Winter Wonderland: BOOK 2 (Jacob's Daughter Series (An Amish, Christian Romance)) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this story. can not wait for book three. good, good, good book. love the characters. buy buy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amish Winter Wonderland Book 2 review..., July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amish Winter Wonderland: BOOK 2 (Jacob's Daughter Series (An Amish, Christian Romance)) (Kindle Edition)
After reading Jacob's daughter, I knew there had to be a sequel to the book, and when checking I found it was a series and I purchased all of them...I enjoy the simplicity of the Amish people, and I am enjoying all the books so much. Very good reading...I am 78 years old, but you never get to old to appreciate Love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amish Winter Wonderland, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amish Winter Wonderland: BOOK 2 (Jacob's Daughter Series (An Amish, Christian Romance)) (Kindle Edition)
The second book in the Jacob's Daughter Series was as delightful as the first book! I was surprised that this story happened several years after the first story in the series, but it was easy to pick up the plot, from book 1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happy Story, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amish Winter Wonderland: BOOK 2 (Jacob's Daughter Series (An Amish, Christian Romance)) (Kindle Edition)
it is a pleasure to read of happiness in this community and how they came together to work out problems and differences. Ms Bayarr keeps the reader's interest throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amish Winter Wonderland, June 8, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amish Winter Wonderland: BOOK 2 (Jacob's Daughter Series (An Amish, Christian Romance)) (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written and pretty accurate series about the Amish by Jillian Bayarr. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars SO SO!, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amish Winter Wonderland: BOOK 2 (Jacob's Daughter Series (An Amish, Christian Romance)) (Kindle Edition)
SLOW TO DEVELOP A STORY. I FOUND IT HARD TO STAY FOCUSED. I USUALLY LOVE THE AMISH, CHRISTIAN ROMANCE BOOKS, BUT I FOUND THESE FIRST TWO IN THE SERIES A BIT BLAH! DON'T THINK I'LL READ THE OTHERS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.