Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for Amityville fans
No matter which side of the debate you take (i.e. was it horror or was it hokum?), Stephen Kaplan's The Amityville Horror Conspiracy is required reading. For one, it is the best written book about the Amityville circus that I have read to date (and I have polished off the books by Anson, Holzer, and two by Jones - with only two more to go) and, unlike the others, it is...
Published on January 9, 2005 by Chadwick H. Saxelid

versus
28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting & informative but burdened by the Author's Bias
While I just adore books that expose hoaxes, and I looked forward to this book for a long time knowing that it was in the pipelines and having heard Kaplan on Local radio in NYC, I must say that this book is really only for the serious Amityville researcher since the Author's diary-like approach repeats many statements over and over ad nusaeum and contains too many...
Published on October 17, 1999 by granvier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review from a friend of the Family, January 17, 2002
By 
R. Stacy (San Diego,, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Amityville Horror Conspiracy (Paperback)
I am a friend of Roxanne Kaplan and very familiar with all of the principal persons in the Amityville hoax. This book is an excellent diary of the Kaplans involvement with the Lutzes and their story. Not appearing in the book is Steve Kaplan's polygraph on the F. Lee Bailey show "Lie Detector" in which he passes a polygraph regarding his involvement with the Lutzes and the house at 108 (new number) Ocean Avenue. To this day, Lee Lutz is still attempting to profit with the ghost story and blasts anyone who disagrees with him. While the Lutzes made over $300K from the first book alone by 1979 - according to his Federal Court testimony - Roxanne has only received her initial small advance and no further royalties from the sale of the book. She has not profited from the work. New books are on coming soon further exposing this hoax - post 1979 where the Kaplan book ends, further exposing the greatest haunted house hoax of the 20th Century...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KAPLAN HAS THE LAST LAUGH, May 27, 2000
This review is from: The Amityville Horror Conspiracy (Paperback)
WHY ARE THE WARRENS STILL TRYING TO DEFAME MR KAPLAN AFTER HIS DEATH ...SEEMS TO ME ..DR KAPLAN GAVE THE AMITYVILLE HORROR A HAYMAKER TO THE CHIN I WAS A STRONG BELIEVER IN THIS STORY FOR A LONG TIME AND EVEN THEN I SAW INCONSISTENCIES IN IT THANK GOD FOR STEPHEN KAPLAN AND WILLIAM WEBER FOR GVING US THE TRUTH...WONDER WHY THE LUTZES ARE SO SILENT ABOUT THE BOOK?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good! I wish I had read it sooner!, April 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Amityville Horror Conspiracy (Paperback)
I first saw the movie The Amityville Horror when I was a young teen. I must admit it was a scary movie. But right from the beginning I had doubts about the truthfulness of the story. I read the book and still questioned it. I thought, how could the author have published The Amityville Horror as a true story?

I finally bought a copy of Stephen Kaplin's The Amityville Horror Conspiracy. It was so good, I finished the book in two days! If you're looking for a book where the author did a thorough research of the house, you'll be disappointed. But that's not the angle the author took with this book. Instead he interviewed various people and collected as many articles as possible and revealed the contradictions in each article. He also exposed the contradictions between Jay Anson's hardcover and the later paperback books. He did have a look at the house a few times, the last one being an invitation to a Halloween party he described in the last chapter of the book. It's too bad the author didn't live to see the book in print but I'm glad he at least exposed AH for what is was, a hoax. God bless his sacred memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great topic, okay book, August 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Amityville Horror Conspiracy (Paperback)
The book tended to be a bit repetitive. I enjoyed reading it, but wouldn't really recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject...boring book., December 14, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Amityville Horror Conspiracy (Paperback)
Too many details - this book sounded like a jumble of facts all thrown together, but not interesting enough to really hold my attention. Given the subject matter, it could have been much more interesting. I sold it back to the bookstore without even finishing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Conspiracy, April 11, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Amityville Horror Conspiracy (Paperback)
I did not think this book was as good as amityville but it was interesting to say the least.

Dr.Kaplan did have some very good points.

such as the red eyes seen looking in the window were the eyes of the cat that lived next door. and the front door that was ripped off was really the screen door that was blown off by a very strong thunderstorm that night. those are just some of the things Dr. Kaplan explains to us in this book. but what I do not understand is why Dr. Kaplan speaks about the Lutz family as if he really dislikes them so. other than telling their story whay did they do? this is a pretty good book but somthing happaned in that house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kaplan should have gotten a life, December 7, 2004
By 
Jill Leightonn (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Amityville Horror Conspiracy (Paperback)
First the positive. This book has some factual information. It illustrates some inconsistencies in Amityville Horror. There is little doubt that Jay Anson, Amityville Horror's Author, took some liberties with the Lutz's story in order to make AH a better book. However, Amityville Conspiracy reads as a 20 year obsession of Mr. Kaplan with the Lutz's because of a personal vendetta. Why did Kaplan feel the need to spend the last 20 years of his life as an adversary to George Lutz? Kaplan takes minor issues and extrapolates endlessly on them to prove his case. A case that really should have been dealt with via biopharmaceuticals and therapy between himself and a professional therapist. If you want the standard Amityville is a hoax propaganda researched over 2 decades. This is a good book. If you want Amityville analysis, Kaplan's OCD issue with the Lutz's pollutes what could have been an interesting case study on Amityville

Jill Leighton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, November 8, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Amityville Horror Conspiracy (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have ever read. It makes you think more about the supernatural world. A 5 star book! Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Kind of People Still Believe in this case?, August 13, 2006
This review is from: The Amityville Horror Conspiracy (Paperback)
I must say it's kind of funny to find grown people who still believe in this nonsense. Just like all the crazies who believe in Bigfoot, UFO's, Loch Ness Monster, etc. It's pathetic that's someone (who might be a parent) believe, that ghost and spirits caused a man to murder his family. I bet any defense attorney would like a couple of these loons on the jury for the next murder trail. Just like the hosts of the T.V. show Ghost Hunters say:

" You find a lot of nut jobs in the field".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Great Vampire Hunter Didn't Believe In Ghosts, February 24, 2011
This review is from: The Amityville Horror Conspiracy (Paperback)
OK, Jan Anson may have jazzed up the story. The Defoes were certainly killed in the house...that much is certain. George Lutz and his wife still stand by their story. Their own lawyer sued them and George can't discuss what went on for fear of another lawsuit. Since the people who were there can't answer questions, we'll never know.

Gerald Brittle who was actually there said there was something to Amityville.So who to believe...the people who were there, or the fearless vampire hunter? Kaplan also seemed to have a real beef with the Lutzes in this book...maybe he was mad he got left out of a book deal.

I might take Dr. Kaplan more seriously if I hadn't found an article on the Internet about him which reads in part:

"Dr. Stephen Kaplan (September 19, 1940 - June 9, 1995) was a noted paranormal investigator, vampirologist, and founder of the Vampire Research Center in Elmhurst, NY."

Vampires...yeah, right. His PhD was in Sociology, not Parapsychology. So basically you have one crackpot saying other people were crackpots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Amityville Horror Conspiracy
The Amityville Horror Conspiracy by Stephen Kaplan (Paperback - December 1, 1995)
Used & New from: $15.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.