Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique and valuable source on a broad and varied subject
Mike Bussard's 3rd Edition of AMMO ENCYCLOPEDIA is a well written, unique and valuable reference for this broad and varied subject. People who have known the author over the years know how extensive and reliable his knowledge and capabilities are in this diverse and fascinating field.

For a bargain price ($29.95) a reader gets a 912 page, 60 chapter...
Published on February 23, 2011 by EK.O

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Listed $999.99, really?
This is listed on here as $999.99, really? You can buy this on Midway USA for $23.82, it's time to bring the price way down.
Published on July 31, 2012 by Derrick M. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique and valuable source on a broad and varied subject, February 23, 2011
By 
EK.O (SAN DIEGO, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition (Paperback)
Mike Bussard's 3rd Edition of AMMO ENCYCLOPEDIA is a well written, unique and valuable reference for this broad and varied subject. People who have known the author over the years know how extensive and reliable his knowledge and capabilities are in this diverse and fascinating field.

For a bargain price ($29.95) a reader gets a 912 page, 60 chapter comprehensive reference book directed at anyone wanting and needing concise, accurate information about aspects of the ammunition/firearms interface. All this covers such diverse subjects as cartridge development and performance, propellant histories and trademarks. The intended audience includes shooters, writers, designers (amateur and professional), wholesalers, retailers, handloaders, instructors, law enforcement labs and LE personnel (Customs, ATF, FBI, USSS Coast Guard).

It is not a loading manual but an educational source that correlates closely to and expands upon those numerous publications from various manufacturers. Even well informed gun experts will appreciate the concise, informative and closely written style of the manuscript and illustrations. Beginning shooters will be amply challenged and correctly informed about general as well as specific aspects of the technical side of their sport and/or profession.

James D. Mason
Las Vegas, NV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, July 20, 2011
This review is from: Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition (Paperback)
The best of the bunch.
Dimensional drawings on all cartridges, great history included on each.
Considerably more informative then "Cartridges of the World".
More complete then "Ammo & Ballistics".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ammo Encyclopedia, November 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition (Paperback)
BRAVO! This book truly gets to use the word "fabulous". I have been an avid shooting and reloading fan for 35 years and I have read and own dozens of books related to this hobby. This book is absolutely the best book ever printed on the subject of ammunition, and not just cartridges either. It supplies detail as to how ammunition and all of its components are made and the history for all. All cartridges have their blueprint drawing with dimensions to help you identify unknown cartridges by measurement. I own several other books that also cover cartridges but none with nearly the amount of detail as this book provides. If you buy only one book to educate yourself regarding cartridges, this is the only book you need to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3Rd Edition Ammo Encyclopedia, October 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition (Paperback)
A great resource includinge a brief history of most ammo ever manufactured. Great to have European and North American cartriges cross refrenced. Highly recommended for any avid reloader or collector of ammo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves top ranking..., July 25, 2013
By 
TolkienFan "Howard" (The Old North State) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition (Paperback)
First let me say that I have been reading this type of book since the 1960's. I spent a lot of time in the trade (firearms..) and have carved out my own little niche of space that suits me. I read a lot of these books each year. Some are pretty good, others not so much so. I will admit that this 3rd edition of Ammo Encyclopedia is the first one I have owned (although I have read through a couple of others..). I have found it thoroughly enjoyable and a tremendously useful text.

I currently own and use Ammo & Ballistics 4--For Hunters, Shooters, and Collectors, 4th Edition: Ballistic Data out to 1,000 Yards for over 169 Calibers and over 2,400 ... for Hunters, Shooters, & Collectors) (as well as an earlier version..) and find that the 'Ammo Encyclopedia' is very complementary in nature to that fine publication. I also own Cartridges of the World: A Complete and Illustrated Reference for Over 1500 Cartridges which is more a direct comparison to this effort. I believe that this book 'Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd Edition' is probably better at what it does than COTW.

There are several things about this book that intrigue me. There is a very nice historical treatise in the front that covers almost anything you would want to know about ammunition and its development over the years...to include manufacturers, propellants, projectiles, primers, and cases (including shotshells..!!), as well as a fairly complete discussion of ballistics (interior, exterior, and terminal..). This reads like a true compendium of information that is not only "nice to know" but that all gun folks SHOULD know. In addition, the treatment of the individual cartridges is also very nicely done. Each one has a complete line drawing of dimensions and a discussion of the history and any changes the cartridge has undergone.

In all books of this kind there are some things that are a little confusing at times. I would say that some of the cartridges are placed in the wrong sections perhaps, maybe....... but everything is well indexed (and cross-indexed..), so it is relatively easy to find.

One of the things I really like about this book is the way the information is presented. Each major division is treated to its own chapter. Chapter 47 is "Centerfire Sporting Handgun - Current" and Chapter 48 is "Centerfire Sporting Handgun - Obsolete." Within the chapter each cartridge is given its own heading and includes the following topical information: (Example: 9mm LUGER) ALTERNATE NAME(S); RELATED CALIBER(S); CARTRIDGE HISTORY; CARTRIDGE DESCRIPTION; CARTRIDGE BALLISTICS; CURRENT MANUFACTURER(S); GENERAL COMMENTS; and TECHNICAL COMMENTS. This format is followed almost exactly for each and every entry in the book. There may be the odd occasion when a specific heading does not apply, but for the most part every cartridge has all of those entries. Then, at the end of each chapter, before moving on to the next major division, there is a section on ballistics listing bullet weights, types, velocities and energies out to practical distances.

So far I haven't found any GLARING errors although the odd spelling blunder or typical reference error may occur. I have found this effort very easy to read and understand. It contains a LOT of information and appears to be well conceived. Is it "perfect"?? No, of course not. But if you want the latest and best presented information on sporting ammunition, this might very well be the best choice. In comparing this effort to 'Cartridges of the World'.....there is no comparison. This one wins on every count.

Worth 5 stars, because I think it is the best available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent !, August 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition (Paperback)
It is at least one or two notchs above last editions of "Cartridges Of The World" (of which I own 1st, 4th -my first-, 7th and 10th, and now that I have discovered this Ammo Encyclopedia will probably not buy 13th), although the editions while Frank C Barnes were alive were exceedingly good.

This book is in a class by itself, not only has the end-user customer view and technical information, but the industrial view also.

However do not supplants (but completes) "Ammo & Ballistics" which gives the ballistic of every individual load, not just generics of the caliber, nor any good reloading manual (which give the reloading data).

I notice that 1st edition is selling in Amazon Market Place starting at 400$, for a paperback book three years old. So somebody else thinks too it is good.

Best wishes, hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, but 4th Edition is now in print., December 28, 2013
By 
Monac (Milwaukee, WI, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition (Paperback)
This is a very good reference on individual cartridges, plus an fine explanation of how ammunition is manufactured today, and how the process of design and manufacture has evolved. It also touches on colorful bits of history or important milestones, such as the evolution of chronographs to measure bullet velocity.

It merits the title of "Encyclopedia", and Mr. Bussard's writing is generally a pleasure to read. I did notice the omission of a couple of obscure cartridges (the 8mm Bergmann Simplex pistol round, and the 11.35mm Madsen machine gun round), but it includes many more that I had never heard of.

HOWEVER, THE FOURTH EDITION OF THIS BOOK IS NOW IN PRINT, AND THERE IS NO REASON TO PAY THE ABSURD PRICES BEING ASKED AS OF 12/28/2013.

I apologize for shouting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference!, August 18, 2014
By 
Clay G. (Detroit, MI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition (Paperback)
Great reference book; every gun collector and reloaded should have one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To have absolutely,, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition (Paperback)
To have absolutely, a must for for the obsolete case reloading.

A avoir dans sa bibliotheque, un must pour la cartouche obsolete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for any reloader, August 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone reloading regardless of your knowledge level. The book gives detailed drawings for all cartridges listed in it. This book even has the ODD ball cartrigdes that are hard to find now-a-days! One of the most informitive books out there. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition
Ammo Encyclopedia, 3rd edition by Mike Bussard (Paperback - February 1, 2011)
Used & New from: $427.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.