Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Impressive Melodeath Album
Sylosis is one of those bands that flies below everyone's radar, yet if you're a Melodic Death Metal fan who has a heat-seeking missile like taste, the pure heat from this album will be sure to appear on your radar. Sylosis cannot be explained very easily, due to their rather unique take and style of Melodic Death Metal that does not sound exactly like any other bands...
Published on November 5, 2010 by Siklootd

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - it's trendy, but it works
One of the more exciting bands on the aggressive metal scene, UK-based Sylosis is back after a pair of EPs with their debut full length Conclusion of an Age. Similar in style to bands like Abigail Williams, Black Dahlia Murder and Revocation, Sylosis is part of a wave of younger bands that aren't afraid to cross genre boundaries and incorporate elements of death, thrash,...
Published on June 13, 2010 by Justin G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - it's trendy, but it works, June 13, 2010
By 
This review is from: Conclusion of an Age (Audio CD)
One of the more exciting bands on the aggressive metal scene, UK-based Sylosis is back after a pair of EPs with their debut full length Conclusion of an Age. Similar in style to bands like Abigail Williams, Black Dahlia Murder and Revocation, Sylosis is part of a wave of younger bands that aren't afraid to cross genre boundaries and incorporate elements of death, thrash, and even metalcore. Slayer, At the Gates, Pantera, Hatebreed and the Haunted may be the foundation of this new breed of metal, but they're only the beginning.

It's good to see a death band that doesn't rely overmuch on the Gothenburg sound (though that's undeniably an influence) or the clean-growl-clean-growl formula (though there are some clean vocals here and there). And on the thrash side, it's nice to see at least some degree of melody. Sylosis has cherry picked the best, most effective elements from the modern death and thrash metal styles for a vital blend of aggression and...well, more aggression.

The songs on Conclusion of an Age are sharp, vicious and completely aggressive. There's also an almost prog metal technicality to some of these songs, including some guitar solos that wouldn't have been out of place on a later Death album. I also sense of something epic on this album, particularly songs like "After Lifeless Years" and the title track, even though they're just as brief and fast as the rest of the album. They just make you feel like you're witnessing destruction on an epic scale.

Of course, listening to Conclusion of an Age can make those of us who think death metal was perfected in Sweden a decade ago feel a bit old and out of touch, but it's still reassuring to know that younger generations are taking metal in new and exciting directions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Impressive Melodeath Album, November 5, 2010
By 
Siklootd (Santa Fe, NM) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Conclusion of an Age (Audio CD)
Sylosis is one of those bands that flies below everyone's radar, yet if you're a Melodic Death Metal fan who has a heat-seeking missile like taste, the pure heat from this album will be sure to appear on your radar. Sylosis cannot be explained very easily, due to their rather unique take and style of Melodic Death Metal that does not sound exactly like any other bands. However, if comparisons were necessary, Sylosis could be summed up as a mixture between: Epicurean, Mercenary, Sonic Syndicate, Mors Principium Est and Zonaria. They take the growling styles of Epicurean and Zonaria and mix them with the riffs and tempos of Mercenary, then combine these with the occasional clean singing of Sonic Syndicate, mixed with the speed and guitar solos of Mors Principium Est. The resulting mixture is a recipe for one of the most enjoyable Melodic Death Metal albums in recent years.

Starting off with their debut release "Casting Shadows" back in 2006, the band continues to evolve into a more complex, and unique band with each sequential album. With their latest release "Conclusion of an Age", Sylosis showcases not only their best instrumental work, but also their best song arrangements and vocal styling to date. Jamie Graham showcases his best vocal performances on the album, utilizing high pitched growls, low guttural grunts, deep screams, and rhythmic and catchy clean singing that suits the song structures and accompaniment beautifully.

Starting off with a heavy hitting track "After Lifeless Years", which is slowly introduced by the soft, melodic instrumental work of the track "Desolate Seas", the album begins to release its brutality on the listener. Jamie doesn't hesitate to utilize high pitched growls that are held for several seconds on end, all while guitarists Josh and Alex play some very progressive sounding riffs. The album continues to mix up clean vocals with death growls throughout its entire play length, yet manages to maintain a balance between the two.

Stand out tracks include "After Lifeless Years", "Reflections Through Fire", "Conclusion of an Age" and "Withered". All of these songs mix up fast tempos, quick double bass patterns, progressive riffs, and harsh vocals. The solos found on the track "Withered" are excellent, mixing the sound of aforementioned bands perfectly, yet managing to sound unique at the same time.

Sylosis' "Conclusion of an Age" is one of the best stand out titles in Melodic Death Metal and is amongst one of the most unique albums released recently within the genre. If you're a fan of bands like Mercenary, Mors Principium Est, Epicurean, Dark Tranquillity, Ensiferum, Skyfire, or other progressive sounding Melodic Death Metal bands, then you're bound to enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I expect this band to blow up, January 25, 2009
This review is from: Among Beggars and Thieves (Audio CD)
I am only writing a quick snippet because I can't believe these guys haven't been reviewed at all as of yet.

A good way to describe their sounds is a good mix of thrash riffs, mixed in with death metal vocals, and even some very melodic breakdowns and solos. I think they are well on their way to being a very serious player on the metal scene, and if they keep it up, they will be there soon. All the tracks are strong, But Teras is the best place to start. Some really blistering riffing, and an almost progressive song structure.

Check these guys out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, April 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conclusion Of An Age (MP3 Music)
I love this album so much. So much energy and heavy metal. Yes they are thrash but they are also progressive and oh gosh just get this album asap. Sylosis rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The start of a beautiful relationship, June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conclusion of an Age (Audio CD)
I'm not one of those guys who heavily relies on the thousands of metal sub-genres to categorize music such as this. Forgive me if I don't call it out exactly as it may be.

This is Sylosis' first full album and it is a blast! The production quality is great and the instruments are all very clear and well placed in the soundstage. This is the album that got me into the band, and 2 cds later, they are still at the top of their game.

This particular album takes hold of all the wonderful aspects of thrash metal and combines them with a select couple elements of hardcore to make a heavy, thrashy, yet sometimes melodic and serene set of songs. These songs are primarily sung in harsh vocals, so if that bothers you I'd advise you steer clear. The clean vocals are surprisingly untouched considering the genre, and sound like they came straight from the singer. Some might say they could use another take or 2, but I very much appreciate the raw nature that it brings to this album.

I think the most important thing you should know about this band is how much time they spend crafting beautifully intense solos. These are some of the best in the business. I love every song on this album. Even "Oath of Silence", which was on their first EP, was given the royal treatment and brought up to par with the rest of the album.

I highly recommend you try this out if you are at all into bands like Trivium, Killswitch Engage, As I Lay Dying, All That Remains; it's hard to find bands to correctly pair them up with, because they are certainly pioneers of their specific area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Album, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conclusion Of An Age (MP3 Music)
This is such a great album. If I had to give one criticism of it that would be the water sound effects in between a few songs. Otherwise, I think this is a classic album. i listen to it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sylosis Five effin stars, March 23, 2013
This review is from: Conclusion of an Age (Audio CD)
Awesome front to back...........just bought all their Cds plus Heart of a Coward....their original singers new band! All 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome thrash metal, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conclusion Of An Age (MP3 Music)
Amazing energy, awesome guitars and drum sets...great vocals...awesome melodic bits thrown in every other minute....i am very glad I found these guys. They sort of change their sound a bit for the other albums so I have to get a little used to that before I start thinking about purchasing those too but this album is right up my alley...lots of influence from metallica and of course megadeath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conclusion Of An Age (MP3 Music)
This album is incredible! Enough said... Buy it if you love metal core! I enjoy the vocals on this album as apposed to the others by this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing to hear in a scene so saturated with Killswitch wannabes., October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Conclusion of an Age (Audio CD)
This is how it's done people. This bands throws almost every sub-metal genre at you here. Metalcore/Thrash/progressive.....It's a melting pot of in your face metal to melodic, slightly progressive metal. You will NOT think of KillSwitch Engage here at all. It's a style all their own. These boys can play fellas. The music is awesome along with the lyrical content which is pretty good. "Reflections Through Fire"...listen to this track. Anthem song here. I look forward to future albums.

"Forced Into Fire"....LOL (Scream this line)
"May my reflection fade/as I wash away/what is left of this life"......I love this part....LOL.

Give them a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x981a7060)

This product

Among Beggars and Thieves
Among Beggars and Thieves by Sylosis (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.