Kindle Price: $5.58

Save $2.41 (30%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

Among Thieves: A Tale of the Kin Kindle Edition

135 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$5.58

Length: 430 pages
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

The Master Magician
Browse more popular selections in featured Fantasy books.

Complete Series

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A dark, gritty fantasy for fans of the Thieves' World novels and Glen Cook's Garrett, P.I. series." ---Library Journal

About the Author

Douglas Hulick is a stay-at-home dad who holds a B.A. and M.A. in medieval history.

Kirby Heyborne is an accomplished actor, musician, and comedian who has received a number of AudioFile Earphones Awards for his audiobook narrations. He has had starring roles in over a dozen features and many short films. Kirby is also a cofounder and director of the Los Angeles�based improv comedy group The Society.

Product Details

  • File Size: 657 KB
  • Print Length: 430 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0451463900
  • Publisher: Roc (April 5, 2011)
  • Publication Date: April 5, 2011
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004IYIT3E
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #104,682 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Douglas Hulick is author of the "Tales of the Kin", a series of fantasy novels that have been described as "'Goodfellas' meets Sword & Sorcery."

When not writing, Douglas is a stay-at-home father, historical combat practitioner (with a focus on 17th century Italian rapier), and the house poodle-wrangler. He has, at various points, worked as a bartender, technical writer, free-lance tabletop game writer, and brewer. It was all a phase.

You can find out more about Douglas and his writing at www.douglashulick.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

107 of 111 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer VINE VOICE on April 2, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
Among Thieves is the debut novel from Douglas Hulick. Set in the grimy fantasy city of Ildrecca, it is the tale of Drothe, a hooded-assassin type and member of the city's underworld legion of criminal "Kin".

With a scruffy, dual-wielding piratical looking gentleman and a cover quote from Brent Weeks, the reader can be excused for thinking this is your standard act of adolescent escapism - roguish heroism with a sarcastic protagonist. And, to a certain degree, all of these things are true. But when push comes to shove, Among Thieves is more Locke Lamora than Night Angel. It is a cunning and well-scripted action-adventure with a surprisingly complex character at its heart. I expected guilty pleasure and found genuine entertainment.

Drothe (granted, a rather unfortunate name) is a "Nose". He works as an information-gatherer for one of the city's "Upright Men" gathering information on the city's delicate political scene. Ildrecca is divided up by the gangs of "Upright Men" with the Emperor (the land's proper monarch) and the mysterious Gray Princes playing their own, grander, game in the background. As a Nose, Drothe gets into all sorts of trouble - especially since he's running his own cons on the side. Fortunately, his best friend, Bronze Degan, is often there to bail him out.

If nothing else, Mr. Hulick gets sixteen bonus points and a silver star for not making Drothe exceptional in any way. He's clever, but knows he's not as smart as many of the real players in the Kin's underworld. He's pretty fiesty, but certainly no match for the hardened killers he encounters. He's well-connected, but still a minor part of the Kin. As for supernatural, prophesy-fulfilling powers? Er...
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful By AnneB on May 5, 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Among Thieves: A Tale of the Kin is Douglas Hulicks first novel. He is working on the second book in this series now and there will also be a third. The story revolves around Drothe who is a member of the Kin. As a member of the Kin he works for a crime lord and spends his time with thieves and murderers. Drothe's work for the crime lord involves being a nose, which means he spends most of his time gathering information on the street and keeping his boss informed of anything important. Drothe also smuggles relics on the side, something his boss does not know.

The main plot of the story has Drothe finding one of the most important ancient relics in his world, a book with secrets in it that many people would kill to own. Drothe, along with his best friend Degan, spend most of the book trying to solve mysteries involving the book. They need to find out who wrote it, what kind of power can be achieved with it, who wants it, and who should Drothe give it to in the end. They also spend a lot of time fighting for their lives against the others who want the book.

I really enjoyed this book. It had a lot of things going on from sword fights, magic, a mystery to solve, and an interesting look into the morality of a thief. Drothe was a great main character, he was very likable and entertaining. I also really liked his best friend Degan, they were a great team. The most interesting part for me was watching Drothe's thinking through all of the difficult choices he had to make throughout the book. He was not a one dimensional character. We get to see him at his best and most self sacrificing and at his most selfish. In general he was a thief and criminal who had a conscience and at least tried to do the right thing when he could. It was a fast-paced fun read that I would definitely recommend.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful By Bradley Nieder on February 23, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Among Thieves is the debut novel from Douglas Hulick. It is the story of Drothe, a member of the criminal underground in the fantasy city of Ildrecca.

This is a fast paced, tightly written Sword & Sorcery tale in the vein of Lynch or Lieber. The story centers around a flawed but blandly likeable protagonist, Drothe, who stumbles on to a mystery involving both the ruling Empire and the criminal brotherhood in Ildrecca.

The mystery aspects of the story are engaging and kept me turning the pages to find out each new piece of the puzzle. The pieces do come together logically at end of the book, so that facet of Among Thieves was fairly fulfilling.

The first person narrative paints an adequate picture of Ildrecca and the criminal underworld known as the Kin, but the setting still comes off somewhat flat. Drothe himself is a relatively average guy who gets in over his head and only manages to stay alive using his wits and a bit of luck. While it's refreshing that Drothe isn't the strongest, fastest or best swordsman in the city, he is also not particularly witty or interesting in his obversations of the people and places around him.

The author does do a good job integrating slang used by the Kin, which lends an air of authenticity to the conversations between Drothe and his various Kin contacts. Hulick's fencing background is apparent in some well written, fairly realistic action sequences.

Among Thieves is ultimately a satisfying, if somewhat light, adventure story. It is hobbled by a narrator who is competent and smart but not particularly interesting. The generic setting could be overlooked if the characters themselves were more memorable. I ended up finishing the book because I did really want to know how the mystery aspect of the story would turn out, but I didn't have any emotional investment in the characters and never felt like I really knew them.

(Three out of five stars)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in