Start reading Among Thieves: A Tale of the Kin on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Among Thieves: A Tale of the Kin [Kindle Edition]

Douglas Hulick
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (119 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $7.99
Kindle Price: $5.99
You Save: $2.00 (25%)
Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC

Whispersync for Voice

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.99 after you buy the Kindle book. Learn More

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $5.99  
Paperback --  
Mass Market Paperback $7.19  
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged $23.51  
Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged $26.95 or Free with Audible 30-day free trial
Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

View our feature on Douglas Hulick's Among Thieves.



Drothe has been a member of the Kin for years, rubbing elbows with thieves and murderers in the employ of a crime lord while smuggling relics on the side. But when an ancient book falls into his hands, Drothe finds himself in possession of a relic capable of bringing down emperors-a relic everyone in the underworld would kill to obtain.





Editorial Reviews

Review

""A dark, gritty fantasy for fans of the Thieves' World novels and Glen Cook's Garrett, P.I. series."" ---Library Journal

About the Author

Douglas Hulick is a stay-at-home dad who holds a B.A. and M.A. in medieval history.

Kirby Heyborne, an accomplished actor, musician, and comedian, has received a number of AudioFile Earphones Awards and has narrated such titles as Nick and Nora's Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, Black Swan Green by David Mitchell, and The Genius by Jesse Kellerman.

Product Details

  • File Size: 657 KB
  • Print Length: 430 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0451463900
  • Publisher: Roc (April 5, 2011)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004IYIT3E
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #30,119 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
101 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, exciting new fantasy April 2, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition
Among Thieves is the debut novel from Douglas Hulick. Set in the grimy fantasy city of Ildrecca, it is the tale of Drothe, a hooded-assassin type and member of the city's underworld legion of criminal "Kin".

With a scruffy, dual-wielding piratical looking gentleman and a cover quote from Brent Weeks, the reader can be excused for thinking this is your standard act of adolescent escapism - roguish heroism with a sarcastic protagonist. And, to a certain degree, all of these things are true. But when push comes to shove, Among Thieves is more Locke Lamora than Night Angel. It is a cunning and well-scripted action-adventure with a surprisingly complex character at its heart. I expected guilty pleasure and found genuine entertainment.

Drothe (granted, a rather unfortunate name) is a "Nose". He works as an information-gatherer for one of the city's "Upright Men" gathering information on the city's delicate political scene. Ildrecca is divided up by the gangs of "Upright Men" with the Emperor (the land's proper monarch) and the mysterious Gray Princes playing their own, grander, game in the background. As a Nose, Drothe gets into all sorts of trouble - especially since he's running his own cons on the side. Fortunately, his best friend, Bronze Degan, is often there to bail him out.

If nothing else, Mr. Hulick gets sixteen bonus points and a silver star for not making Drothe exceptional in any way. He's clever, but knows he's not as smart as many of the real players in the Kin's underworld. He's pretty fiesty, but certainly no match for the hardened killers he encounters. He's well-connected, but still a minor part of the Kin. As for supernatural, prophesy-fulfilling powers? Er...
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining read May 5, 2011
By AnneB
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Among Thieves: A Tale of the Kin is Douglas Hulicks first novel. He is working on the second book in this series now and there will also be a third. The story revolves around Drothe who is a member of the Kin. As a member of the Kin he works for a crime lord and spends his time with thieves and murderers. Drothe's work for the crime lord involves being a nose, which means he spends most of his time gathering information on the street and keeping his boss informed of anything important. Drothe also smuggles relics on the side, something his boss does not know.

The main plot of the story has Drothe finding one of the most important ancient relics in his world, a book with secrets in it that many people would kill to own. Drothe, along with his best friend Degan, spend most of the book trying to solve mysteries involving the book. They need to find out who wrote it, what kind of power can be achieved with it, who wants it, and who should Drothe give it to in the end. They also spend a lot of time fighting for their lives against the others who want the book.

I really enjoyed this book. It had a lot of things going on from sword fights, magic, a mystery to solve, and an interesting look into the morality of a thief. Drothe was a great main character, he was very likable and entertaining. I also really liked his best friend Degan, they were a great team. The most interesting part for me was watching Drothe's thinking through all of the difficult choices he had to make throughout the book. He was not a one dimensional character. We get to see him at his best and most self sacrificing and at his most selfish. In general he was a thief and criminal who had a conscience and at least tried to do the right thing when he could. It was a fast-paced fun read that I would definitely recommend.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising but flawed debut novel February 23, 2012
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Among Thieves is the debut novel from Douglas Hulick. It is the story of Drothe, a member of the criminal underground in the fantasy city of Ildrecca.

This is a fast paced, tightly written Sword & Sorcery tale in the vein of Lynch or Lieber. The story centers around a flawed but blandly likeable protagonist, Drothe, who stumbles on to a mystery involving both the ruling Empire and the criminal brotherhood in Ildrecca.

The mystery aspects of the story are engaging and kept me turning the pages to find out each new piece of the puzzle. The pieces do come together logically at end of the book, so that facet of Among Thieves was fairly fulfilling.

The first person narrative paints an adequate picture of Ildrecca and the criminal underworld known as the Kin, but the setting still comes off somewhat flat. Drothe himself is a relatively average guy who gets in over his head and only manages to stay alive using his wits and a bit of luck. While it's refreshing that Drothe isn't the strongest, fastest or best swordsman in the city, he is also not particularly witty or interesting in his obversations of the people and places around him.

The author does do a good job integrating slang used by the Kin, which lends an air of authenticity to the conversations between Drothe and his various Kin contacts. Hulick's fencing background is apparent in some well written, fairly realistic action sequences.

Among Thieves is ultimately a satisfying, if somewhat light, adventure story. It is hobbled by a narrator who is competent and smart but not particularly interesting. The generic setting could be overlooked if the characters themselves were more memorable. I ended up finishing the book because I did really want to know how the mystery aspect of the story would turn out, but I didn't have any emotional investment in the characters and never felt like I really knew them.

(Three out of five stars)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!
The kind of book that annoyances like work, life, etc. get in the way of reading. I was drawn in from the beginning and the pace didn't stop throughout. Read more
Published 6 hours ago by James
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great Read
Published 11 days ago by Jose Vicenty
2.0 out of 5 stars It looked good, tough and gritty
It looked good, tough and gritty, but every character was the same macho, posturing thug. The characters argue constantly, always with a snarl and threat of violence on their lips... Read more
Published 14 days ago by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it
Very entertaining dark fantasy. Felt like I was reading vlad taltos and kragar but a darker and less humorous version, though there was enough humor throughout. Read more
Published 23 days ago by Gesler
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!
Good quirky characters, believable and likeable. Very cool setting, well thought out. All over just a fun immersive, three dimensional book.
Published 26 days ago by BlackIronEpee
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Excellent book
Published 1 month ago by Mansa Nkrumah
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot like the Gentlemen Bastards... and that's a good thing.
If you enjoyed The Lies of Locke Lamora, you will like this book. The top rated review for this book really says it all (and got me to buy the book initially).
Published 1 month ago by M. Upton
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good!
(This is for books 1 and 2 of The Tale of the Kin series) I was hesitant to read this at first, somewhat worried about the "cant", and not sure if I would be able to relate... Read more
Published 1 month ago by mountainwolfhowls
5.0 out of 5 stars Would highly recommend.
Very entertaining.. Up there with the exploits of Locke Lamora & Co. Would highly recommend.
Published 1 month ago by Peter Mc Glynn
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start to a new series!!!
In the same vein as Lynch, but not a copy, the story grabs you and does not let go. I had some concern about half-way through the story that the threads were not all going to come... Read more
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Douglas Hulick is author of the "Tales of the Kin", a series of fantasy novels that have been described as "'Goodfellas' meets Sword & Sorcery."

When not writing, Douglas is a stay-at-home father, historical combat practitioner (with a focus on 17th century Italian rapier), and the house poodle-wrangler. He has, at various points, worked as a bartender, technical writer, free-lance tabletop game writer, and brewer. It was all a phase.

You can find out more about Douglas and his writing at www.douglashulick.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category