Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horses in the Wild ...Living the way God meant for them!, September 19, 2006
This review is from: Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs (Hardcover)
I have never read a book like this....where the pictures and the text are SO linked and pertinent to each other. Each word of each sentence flows so evenly and beautifully. The photos were exquisite and were full of impact. The story of horses in the wild...living the way God meant for them.....is SO dramatic and tragic at the same time. I can only imagine how wonderful it would be to observe the Pryor Mountain Mustang's daily life myself. This is also a story of how people and politics, past and present, have done such a horrible job in preserving our heritage..... as illustrated with these wonderful, wild and ancient horses. Luckily, there are a few caring people, like the author Lynne Pomeranz, who are able to open the eyes of other caring people with books such as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!, September 24, 2006
By 
This review is from: Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs (Hardcover)
While first perusing and then going back to carefully read this incredible pictoral essay of these magnificent animals, I felt awe and respect for both the animals and their resilience in nature.

The photos evoked in me curiousity and want to see these animals, but also tremendous admiration for the sensitive work of Photographer Lynner Pomeranz. For in her gentle way, we see the texture, color and beauty and the plight of one of the last wild herds of stallions. To see the rugged environment in which these animals survive, brings about a connection with the animals, the land, and the spirit of the horses captured through the lens of this photographer.

The text is supportive and helped me to understand the plight of these horses. So many times the text can get in the way of the photos, but in this case it was interesting and informative.

A truly amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and gorgeous, November 6, 2006
This review is from: Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs (Hardcover)
AMONG WILD HORSES: A PORTRAIT OF THE PRYOR MOUNTAIN MUSTANGS is a gorgeous image-laden photography book from an art photography who spent two years tracking and photographing the Pryor Mountain Mustangs. Her full-page, full color photos of these wild horses in nature are unique and gorgeous: observations of their special challenges and actions accompany the visual treat.

Diane C. Donovan

California Bookwatch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good reading if you love hourses, May 13, 2007
This review is from: Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs (Hardcover)
very good book with nice pictures and a very good description of the hourses that I know very well. The book inspire me a lot and it is a diving in a wonderful ocean of wild life. It was a terrific gift that my dad bought for me. Alex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Horse Lovers, December 29, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs (Hardcover)
Very nice pictures and such a touching story. I gave this as a gift to a friend and it inspired her to donate to a fund to support wild horses in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, January 16, 2007
By 
This review is from: Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs (Hardcover)
Great book.

I have actually seen these horses that are talked about in this book. It is all true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well written, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs (Hardcover)
An excellent book and the stories about the author and the horses is very interesting...great photo's ..and a nice book to own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs (Hardcover)
Birthday gift To a horse loving friend. I scanned the photos before giving it to her and she loves it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs (Hardcover)
My young cousin, a horse lover, thoroughly enjoyed this book's words and pictures. She couldn't put it down until finished. She then lent it to friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent coffee table book full of important info, October 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs (Hardcover)
This is a gem, just stunning photography but also you can learn so so much about horses and the way they are supposed to live. A book you can read a hundred times and can pick up every other day to admire the photos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs
Among Wild Horses: A Portrait of the Pryor Mountain Mustangs by Rhonda Massingham (Hardcover - August 30, 2006)
$18.95 $13.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.