Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Amphibian Medicine and Captive Husbandry
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
8
5 star
87%
4 star
13%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$191.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 20, 2014
A tremendous book. It is written in a jargon that I, as an amateur, can understand with a little effort. I did not expect a single book with such a title to be very complete, but It does seem to touch on every aspect of Amphibian Medicine and Captive Husbandry. Sometimes in great depth. It certainly is more than an introduction and I cannot imagine this book not being on every amphibian caretakers reference shelf. It really is a must "must have" book. Living in Peru, I am primarily interested in raising poison dart frogs and tree frogs. The book will be invaluable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
A really superb source of all one needs to care for amphibians. I highly recommend this and am very glad I found it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2011
I have several exotic amphibians I took in as rescues, but my vet specializes in household mammals and reptiles. This reference book has been helpful to us, working as a team, on recognizing the things that go wrong. It is often more helpful to research illnesses (once diagnosed) on the internet to see if there are more recent discoveries in treatment, however - amphibian medicine really being in its infancy as a science.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2011
This book gives a solid, evidence based, grounding in amphibian medicine, supplemented with the experience of some exceptional exotic and zoo animal practitioners. I recommend this book highly to anyone considering working with these amazing animals.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2008
This text is an excellent resource for zoo animal vets or small animal vets that are presented with amphibians. The book is very factual in nature, but the authors also offer their own clinical experience. Because their is a dearth of veterinary information on the treatment of amphibians, this is a welcome addition to the veterinary literature
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2007
A must book for any enthusiasts or veterinarian. It is the first serious book on amphibians medicine. It also covers some interesting chapters on captive care and rearing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2001
Kevin Wright and Brent Whitaker's Amphibian Medicine And Captive Husbandry is a comprehensive, in-depth, scholarly reference manual designed to introduce and assist veterinary practitioners in the diagnosis and treatment of diseases in captive amphibians. However, it also serves as an invaluable, core addition to the library of any herpetologist, breeder or pet owner of an amphibian, for it extensively covers numerous details of the care, feeding, and reproduction of captive amphibians, as well as disease diagnosis, basic clinical techniques for treatment. The many diseases discussed include sicknesses that are infectious, metabolic, nutritional, neoplastic, and idiopathic. 243 color pictures, 317 black and white pictures, and 54 tables greatly enhance the meticulous and highly precise text of this exhaustively complete reference. An invaluable title for veterinarians and/or owners of amphibians.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2001
Hello, I am Dr. Kevin Wright, co-editor of Amphibian Medicine and Captive Husbandry. Given the global decline of amphibian populations noted at the end of the 20th century, Dr. Whitaker and I designed Amphibian Medicine and Captive Husbandry to introduce the diagnosis and treatment of disease in amphibians to a wide range of audiences. Although our primary intent was to provide a practical but thorough text for the veterinary clinician, we believe this book will be an essential part of any biologist's library; the topics covered range from amphibian captive husbandry and propagation to the diagnosis of disease in amphibians by the application of basic clinicopathologic techniques. Topics are arranged by etiology. The pathology section is highly detailed and provides the only overview of amphibian pathology published.

Recognizing that the understanding of veterinary medicine is facilitated by illustrations, Amphibian Medicine and Captive Husbandry includes 243 color pictures, 317 black and white figures, and 54 tables.

We highly recommend this book to any individual, institution or organization that works with captive or wild amphibians: veterinary clinicians, comparative pathologists, veterinary students, herpetologists, herpetoculturists, zoos, aquariums, biomedical research facilities, and libraries.

ABOUT THE EDITORS:

Kevin M. Wright, DVM, is currently President of Arizona Exotic Animal Hospital in Mesa, Arizona. (For more hospital information, please see [...]) He was awarded Exotic DVM of the year in 2008. He is the former Director of Conservation, Science, and Sanctuary at the Phoenix Zoo. A resident in zoological medicine at the Philadelphia Zoo from 1990-1992, he subsequently served as Curator and Veterinarian of Amphibians and Reptiles from 1993-1999 and is an adjunct professor of Clinical Sciences at the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine. He is a past president of the Association of Reptilian and Amphibian Veterinarians and a past session chair for the reptile and amphibian lectures at the North American Veterinary Conference. He has published over 120 articles on amphibians and reptiles and has lectured extensively on herpetological medicine at major national and international veterinary conferences.

Brent R. Whitaker, MS, DVM, is Director of Animal Health at the National Aquarium in Baltimore. Dr. Whitaker has intensively studied diseases of neotropical amphibians throughout his professional life. He is much sought after as a speaker on amphibian medicine and aquatic medicine in general. He has published extensively on fish, reptile and marine mammal topics in addition to his publications devoted to amphibians.

Drs. Wright and Whitaker are 1988 graduates of the University of Florida's College of Veterinary Medicine.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$150.28
$147.82

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.