Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture book with rare photographs
This is a great picture book with rare photographs. Like it or not, it is published by Amtrak folks, but the pictures don't lie. This is a worthwhile, historical record of the same caliber of the Making of the Washington DC Metro book. It's has several photographs of rare scenes, including one of the infamous Union Station Washington DC Visitors' Center, something that...
Published on June 18, 2011 by Kris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair book with some interesting personal stories
As a MS Train Simmer, I was hot to get some books about the Amtrak passenger service. It is not what I was looking for ( lots of photos or rolling stock and interiors), but the book is an interesting read dedicated to many personal stories.
Published 5 months ago by R. Stephen Franks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture book with rare photographs, June 18, 2011
By 
Kris (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amtrak: An American Story (Paperback)
This is a great picture book with rare photographs. Like it or not, it is published by Amtrak folks, but the pictures don't lie. This is a worthwhile, historical record of the same caliber of the Making of the Washington DC Metro book. It's has several photographs of rare scenes, including one of the infamous Union Station Washington DC Visitors' Center, something that has curiously few photographs to see.

If you're a fan of passenger trains and understand the significance of the forty-year anniversary of a public/private corporation that was designed to fail, you need this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good, Brief History of Amtrak, June 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amtrak: An American Story (Paperback)
If you are even a little younger than I am (mid 50s), you will have a hard time remembering the creation of Amtrak. I was a junior in high school when it was created and I barely remember this happening, despite being a rail fan at a young age. That alone makes this a valuable book, as there are millions of people who fail to understand just how amazing it is that Amtrak is still alive and kicking.

The book consists of three basic parts interwoven together. Every 3 or 4 pages there is a page or 2 that is dedicated to the story of an Amtrak employee. Most all are people who have either been at the company since the beginning or have had amazing stories while at the company, all of which makes for fascinating reading. The space in between the stories is dedicated to well captioned photos of the railroad. The photographs cover just about the entire Amtrak operation and include copies of posters, brochures and advertising material that has long gone out of use. Finally, there is a timeline that runs along the top of the pages which shows major milestones in Amtrak history, along with major events in world history that help put the time frame into perspective.

The last 10% of the book is dedicated to a day in the life sort of photograph arrangement. They asked employees on one single day to photograph whatever they felt was worthy and send it in to the corporate offices. The result is a look at the railroad from across the span of a day and a country. Although these are "amateur" photographs, most are extremely well done and it is obvious that the employees put much thought into what they thought was important to portray.

Although this is not a "detailed" history, it makes for fine reading and would be a wonderful addition to a train buffs library. It is also a look at a piece of American history and should be of interest to those with an interest in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An overview of the story of Amtrak, October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amtrak: An American Story (Paperback)
It's more of a historical view and looking at some workers more than a look at how the actual working of running trains for Amtrak
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Rail Fans!, February 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amtrak: An American Story (Paperback)
I am a rail fan, it is a complete history of Amtrak from the beginning up to the present. I ride Amtrak frequently for leisure.The photos were great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amtrak book is nicely done., September 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amtrak: An American Story (Paperback)
The book authored by Amtrak for its 40th anniversary is great. The pictures are well selected and do a good job representing each decade of Amtrak's existence. The quality of the photos is excellent, as is the book itself. The layout and design are also superb. And best of all, the price is well under $20. Where else can anyone get a full-color high quality book for that price today? If you like trains, especially passenger trains, this is well worth the ticket price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair book with some interesting personal stories, February 25, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amtrak: An American Story (Paperback)
As a MS Train Simmer, I was hot to get some books about the Amtrak passenger service. It is not what I was looking for ( lots of photos or rolling stock and interiors), but the book is an interesting read dedicated to many personal stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting but a good piece regardless, August 13, 2012
By 
John Wondolowski (Fairview Hights, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amtrak: An American Story (Paperback)
When I ordered this I was expecting it to be similar to another Amtrak book called All Aboard Amtrak: 1971-1991 in that it would cover the overall history of Amtrak, it's routes, rolling stock and the challenges the people of Amtrak had to face. I was both right and wrong in believing this. I was was right in the sense that this book did just that. However, I was wrong in that this book does not have much of a complete narrative of the history of Amtrak. Rather it has both current and former employees of Amtrak tell of their experiences with the company at certain stages of it's existence with brief passages at the beginning of each chapter describing the time period in question. Information on rolling stock, routes and stations are provided by a collection of photographs at the end of each chapter. However specifications for the different pieces of rolling stock was not provided aside from basic facts. The pictures included are extremely good as well and include old advertising, shots inside the trains and even includes shots of rare equipment such as the SPV-2000s, the LRC train leased from VIA, and the old Turbotrains and Turboliners.

It's not a bad read, particularly if your a fan of Amtrak and reading of the personal stories of some of Amtrak's employees. However if your looking for a book that contains a lot of detailed information for things such as equipment rosters and a system map then this may not be the one you want. Just think of what you want before ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fasinating Historical Review of Amtrak, May 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amtrak: An American Story (Paperback)
Ive had an intrest in railroads and particularly Amtrak since my first trip to Chicago in 1990 when I was four. This book only deepened my intrest in Amtrak. It tells the stories of each of the four decades Amtrak has been in operation though accounts by actual Amtrak employees and other figures who have ties in the history of the railroad. Many of the stories of how employees started off with a lowly yet important position such as a baggage handler or a ticket agent were able to advance up the company ladder to higher management positions on the railroad. There are many vivid captioned pictures that illustrate the company's history as well. The final section of the book is a very intresting look into a typical 24 hour period in the life of Amtrak, illistrated through pictures taken from across the National rail network.

Overall the book is written kind of unconventionally, through the employee entrees and not the typical biographical type history. I feel this helps better illustrate the human element that goes into making the railroad run. I enjoyed it very much and would recommend it to anyone who has an intrest in Amtrak, rail travel, or railroads in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome story, April 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amtrak: An American Story (Paperback)
So obviously, being written by past and present Amtrak employees, it isn't going to be the most objective account ever written, but it's still really awesome to hear stories by people involved with the recovery of America's desperately needed passenger rail network. A timeline that stretches across the top of almost every page puts various milestones in Amtrak history alongside other major events (such as presidential assassinations) and numerous pictures make it more than just a big text documentary.

I'm a huge railfan and thoroughly enjoyed this book! Hope to see continued ridership growth and expansion of the Amtrak network!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amtrak: An American Story, March 21, 2012
This review is from: Amtrak: An American Story (Paperback)
I have owned Amtrak: An American Story since December 25, 2011. The book describes the rich history of Amtrak from 1971 to 2010. The book has excellent color and black and white photos of Amtrak trains, Amtrak employees, food in dining cars on Amtrak, train stations and sleeping car bedrooms. I rode Amtrak during the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s and was very impressed with the delicious food, drinks, coaches, lounge cars and bedrooms. I recommend this book to railfans interested in Amtrak and passenger trains.

Robert Wilhelm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Amtrak: An American Story
Amtrak: An American Story by The staff of Amtrak (Paperback - June 7, 2011)
$19.95 $15.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.