Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 56 years old and love it!!
Here we have a non-Disney movie that ranks right up there with some of the really great animated flicks. Jimmy Stewart and Dom DeLuise are no longer with us, unfortunately. Their characters are great. Linda Ronstadt's singing is superb. You do not watch this movie for the plot. Just enjoy the super characters with wonderful voiceovers.

I never saw the first or...
Published on September 18, 2008 by Movieskinny

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, But Not Up to the Standard of the Original Story
This is not as good as the original American Tail, but it is fun. Two or three elements make the whole thing fun, but there are some parts that drag a bit. An important element is that the characters are cute: they are cleverly drawn, especially the mice, and most especially Fievel and his stage-struck sister. Another element that gets me is the voices. Dom DeLuise is...
Published on May 19, 2012 by Barbara Frederick


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 56 years old and love it!!, September 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An American Tail - Fievel Goes West (DVD)
Here we have a non-Disney movie that ranks right up there with some of the really great animated flicks. Jimmy Stewart and Dom DeLuise are no longer with us, unfortunately. Their characters are great. Linda Ronstadt's singing is superb. You do not watch this movie for the plot. Just enjoy the super characters with wonderful voiceovers.

I never saw the first or the third installment of the Fievel series, and I'm sure they are great too. I had this on video tape and have been waiting for DVD for years. My daughter loved it, but she didn't KNOW the characters like I did. If I remember correctly, Spielberg was involved in this film, which makes perfect sense why it was done so well.

It is not a Pixar magic cartoon, but it is just as enjoyable as any Pixar movie ever made, and I have all of those too. If you aren't a happy person, don't watch it, because you won't get the point of it. Try it, you might just really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm Talkin' To You, Furhead!", June 2, 2001
By A Customer
An American Tail: Fievel Goes West is truly one of the greatest non-Disney animated films I've ever seen! Directed by Steven Spielberg, the story is simple: Fievel, the curious, adorable little mouse from An American Tail, now heads out west with his family to escape the constant violence of New York City. Everything about this film shines from start to finish, including James Horner's soundtrack, which is every bit as good as in the original film. The songs are nothing less than outstanding, especially Dreams to Dream, sung by Fievel's golden-voiced sister, Tanya, who is voiced by Cathy Cavadini.
Fans of the original An American Tail are bound to enjoy Fievel Goes West as well. It's a great movie for kids, or for anyone who enjoys a great animated flick! Highly recommended! (Oh, and be sure to check out the original An American Tail movie as well, if you haven't already. It's just as good!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, March 28, 2010
By 
J. Langley (Marshfield, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An American Tail - Fievel Goes West (DVD)
This movie is entertaining, and highly recommended for all. Our VHS version was worn out - the beginning had been "eaten" by a VCR, yet we still fixed it as best as we could, skipped past the crinkled intro, and loved this movie. Having a clean, sharp DVD version is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this movie!, November 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An American Tail - Fievel Goes West (DVD)
I love this movie! It's much better than the first American Tail movie. I am so glad I get to share this with my children! They have watched it almost non-stop since I received it! I wish that there were more animated movies like this one available more often!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American Classic, December 30, 2006
This review is from: An American Tail - Fievel Goes West (DVD)
I have been watching this movie for years and have never seen it grow old. James Horner's soundtrack is phenomennal, inciting emotions of grandeur, adventure, hope, and sadness. The score, to me, really makes the movie like few scores can anymore. The plot is charming and fun, but the American values of heroism and progress are manifested so powerfully that it makes you proud to be from the United States. The ending too is an amazingly emotional scene that will have anybody choking back tears as the sun sets on the horizon. In short, this movie is wonderful and should not be classified with cheap animation but with great American film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only available in fullscreen on this DVD copy of the film., July 27, 2012
This review is from: An American Tail - Fievel Goes West (DVD)
This movie was originally made and shown in widescreen, but unfortunately the DVD only has the film in pan-and-scan fullscreen (cropping out the sides of the picture). I don't recommend this for those who want the animated films in widescreen instead. If you want this movie in widescreen, get it on laserdisc (the letterbox edition) at Ebay. And if you don't have a laserdisc player buy it before you buy the movie at Ebay or Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Mouskawitz fun film, February 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An American Tail - Fievel Goes West (DVD)
Along with An American Tale, the further adventures of Fieval is another delightrul film. The artistry is amazing! The voice-over cast is perfectly selected. Another "classical" cartoon worth having on hand when the little ones come to call! A five-star film offered by a five-star company!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this movie is awsome!, June 2, 2004
A Kid's Review
this movie is one of the best american tail movies in the seiries. as of the second, it was made five years after the first. (and the year beofore i was born!) well, when fivel and his family have settled into newyork, the found the streets are not paved with cheese. then cat r waul, and his army of cowboy cat commandos herd all the mice into the sewer were he tricks them into going out west. meanwhile, after suffering the loss of his girlfriend, tiger fallows fievel out west and falls off the train, gets hit by another, and goes off the bridge and finds a dog fish! in the end the team up with wylie burp, and save the mice from being turned into mouse-burgers! as for cat r waul, he and his cats get shot into a mail bag, and taked away by a train! recomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goes West Young Fievel, November 1, 2000
By 
This sequel to "An American Tail" is a fine animated film full of Old West Americana; the stuff legends are made of. It is full of great characters and you may even soon forget that you are watching an animated film. The story and dialogue are that good! James Horner seems to have really come of age with this memorable score. It is as much homage to Copland as it is to the American West. This was James Stewart's last theatrical film. This is a good and entertaining family film, which expounds virtues of loyalty and honor. Highly recommended viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked it better than the first, August 30, 1999
By A Customer
As for this movie, liked it better than the first, I guess It's just more my style. "Dreams to Dream" is one of my favorite songs. The story is cute, and somewhat heartwarming. as for all these people who think the presence of Jimmy Stuart's voice is the best thing of the movie, sure his voice was probably the perfect choice, but theese two movies as well as one other cartoon "the Secret of Nimh" has made me a Dom Deluise fan. He is the one that is awesome, expesially for the part of Tiger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An American Tail - Fievel Goes West
An American Tail - Fievel Goes West by Phil Nibbelink (DVD - 2004)
$9.99 $6.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.