Best Books of the Month Shop Costumes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Janet Jackson All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Subscribe & Save Introducing Handmade New Kitchen Scale from AmazonBasics Amazon Gift Card Offer hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage  McCartney Fall Arrivals in Amazon Outdoor Clothing Retro Toys Deal
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Seattlegoodwill
Condition: Used: Good
Other Sellers on Amazon
Buy Used - Very Good
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: latannhauser
Seller Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (704)
Add to Cart
Lowest price: New
+ $3.99 shipping
Lowest price: New
+ $3.99 shipping
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

An American Tapestry

1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, April 9, 1996
"Please retry"
$5.69 $3.74

Editorial Reviews

William Schuman : New England Triptych - Charles Tomlinson Griffes : The White Peacock, Op.7 n° 1 - Charles Ives : Three Places in New England - Alan Hovhaness : Mysterious Moutain (Symphonie n° 2) - Walter Piston : The Incredible Flutist / Dallas Symphony Orchestra, dir. Andrew Litton

1. New England Triptych: I. Be Glad Then, America
2. New England Triptych: II. When Jesus Wept
3. New England Triptych: III. Chester
4. The White Peacock, Op. 7, No.1
5. Three Places In New England: I. The 'St. Gaudens' In Boston Common (Col. Robert Gould And His...
6. Three Places In New England: II. Putnam's Camp, Redding, Connecticut
7. Three Places In New England: III. The Housatonic At Stockbridge
8. Mysterious Mountain (Symphony No.2): Andante Con Moto
9. Mysterious Mountain (Symphony No.2): Moderato Maestoso (Double Fugue)
10. Mysterious Mountain (Symphony No.2): Andante Espressivo
11. The Incredible Flutist: Introduction-Siesta In The Market Place
12. The Incredible Flutist: Entrance Of The Vendors
13. The Incredible Flutist: Entrance Of The Customers
14. The Incredible Flutist: Tango Of The Merchant's Daughters
15. The Incredible Flutist: Arrival Of The Circus
16. The Incredible Flutist: Circus March
17. The Incredible Flutist: The Flutist
18. The Incredible Flutist: Minuet
19. The Incredible Flutist: Spanish Waltz
20. The Incredible Flutist: (Eight O'Clock Strikes)
See all 22 tracks on this disc

Product Details

  • Orchestra: Dallas Symphony Orchestra
  • Conductor: Andrew Litton
  • Composer: Alan Hovhaness, Charles Ives, Walter Piston, Charles Tomlinson Griffes, William Schuman
  • Audio CD (April 9, 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Dorian
  • ASIN: B000001QB2
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #425,202 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on March 17, 2001
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I've been looking for a CD that brings together some favorite pieces by American composers and this does a great job. The performance is clear and precise...with a lot of energy. The Ives is suitably ethereal and impressionist, the Schuman and Griffes are driving and powerful. Turn it up and enjoy the pleasures of the American landscape, imagery, spirit, culture, and mythology in beautiful melodies and rhythms.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: charles ives housatonic