Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Christmas CD you've been looking for!
I LOVE this CD. What a beautiful way to usher in the holiday season. Long-time followers of Mark O'Connor will certainly feel right at home listening to this one. Joining O'Connor on this CD are Renée Fleming, Sharon Isbin, Alison Krauss, Yo-Yo Ma, Edgar Meyer, Jane Monheit, James Taylor, Chris Thile, Steve Wariner, Jerry Douglas, Byron House, John Jarvis, Bryan...
Published on October 28, 2011 by Babette Allen

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad and sad
For Mark O'Connor fans, this cd continues his outreach between diverse music genres. For those new to O'Connor's understanding of how Appalachian music relates to classical, even operatic music, the disc will be surprising,even unnerving. But if you are open to new ideas your music education might be broadened by this work. As a son of Appalachia, and with many...
Published on January 6, 2012 by 50sp


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Christmas CD you've been looking for!, October 28, 2011
This review is from: An Appalachian Christmas (Audio CD)
I LOVE this CD. What a beautiful way to usher in the holiday season. Long-time followers of Mark O'Connor will certainly feel right at home listening to this one. Joining O'Connor on this CD are Renée Fleming, Sharon Isbin, Alison Krauss, Yo-Yo Ma, Edgar Meyer, Jane Monheit, James Taylor, Chris Thile, Steve Wariner, Jerry Douglas, Byron House, John Jarvis, Bryan Sutton, Frank Vignola, and more. It just doesn't get any better. Once you hear it, you'll want to share the special spirit of this incredible music. That's what happened to me! I'm giving "An Appalachian Christmas" for gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible., October 28, 2011
This review is from: An Appalachian Christmas (Audio CD)
Finally! A Christmas album with depth and artistry. Wonderful music for anyone. I will listen to this album all year round. What an array of special musicians. And the song choices, dynamite. Thank you Mark O'Connor for your continued mastery of the violin - An inspiration for all, including myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Appalachian Christmas by Mark Oconnor, November 2, 2011
This review is from: An Appalachian Christmas (Audio CD)
Finally a different Christmas album!! Thanks to Mark O'Connor for bringing us the perfect synthesis of holiday tunes and American fiddle. I love this album, and even though there will be too much Christmas music playing before we know it, I can't stop listening to it! It is inspired and refreshing! The voices of Jane Monheit, Renee Fleming, Alison Krauss, James Taylor all compliment Mark's incomparable fiddling; sweet, nostalgic, rich, ageless. There is no doubt I will have to buy two dozen copies and give them as Christmas gifts this year! I can't recommend this album highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Glad and sad, January 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Appalachian Christmas (Audio CD)
For Mark O'Connor fans, this cd continues his outreach between diverse music genres. For those new to O'Connor's understanding of how Appalachian music relates to classical, even operatic music, the disc will be surprising,even unnerving. But if you are open to new ideas your music education might be broadened by this work. As a son of Appalachia, and with many Appalachian roots, I know relatives who define Appalachian music in a very narrow way, and who would say some of the numbers are not Appalachian music. The cd contains some numbers included which are already found on other O'Connor works, and if you are really picky, some of them don't have much to do with Christmas. I was glad to add this to my O'Connor collection, but I can understand Appalachian or Christmas music fans who do not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Applachian Christmas, December 13, 2011
This review is from: An Appalachian Christmas (Audio CD)
Absolutely one of the best that Mark Oconnor has ever done. This is one that you can hit the repeat button on and not get tired of it. This one has class,really like Renee Fleming and the top artists that he has chosen to put this together. A little different twist on Christmas music and very well done. Mark has stepped outside the box on this one and has done a great job. Always appreciate his superb talent on the violin. Looking forward to his next album, would like to see him do one in just the great classics. In my opinion this qualifies for a 5 star rating any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD has the Appalachian Spirit!, December 15, 2011
This review is from: An Appalachian Christmas (Audio CD)
I love Mark O'Connor's new Christmas album. It is like a celebration of his best collaborations through the joy of Christmas time. I must say that the couple negative customer reviews here about the album's title make no sense to me because the character of this album is very similar to his last Appalachia album, "Appalachian Journey" (for which Mr. O'Connor won a Grammy) according to his website. That album also had classical arrangements as well as James Taylor doing a jazzy "Benjamin," one of my favorites from that disc. A matter of fact, the song Mr. Taylor sings on "An Appalachian Christmas" is much more folksy - about a hunting dog named "Blue," I guess leaving the more jazzy selection to the beautiful voice of Jane Monheit. But even still, Miss Monheit's track is acoustic with fiddle, guitar and string bass, as if Ms. Monheit stopped by for a Christmas carol in Appalachia. Renee Fleming adjusted her interperation to accommodate this material beautifully. In fact I have been lucky enough to see Miss Fleming sing before, and she sings Away in a Manger heavenly here with Mr. O'Connor's fiddle, guitar and string orchestra. To me this sounds American, even rustic with the violin slide sounds in the orchestra and the fiddle solo that sets the mood to the mountains. Both this track and starkness of their version of Amazing Grace gives me chills, great stuff. This is the kind of album where you can just put it on repeat. As much as I loved the other Appalachia albums of Mr. O'Connor's and Yo-Yo Ma's, this is at least equal to them, maybe better. For enjoyable listening by this former Appalachian at least, this might be the best one yet of this series. I am glad to have this Christmas album for all my new friends to hear - music inspired by my old home place, with world class artists dropping in to sing or play a few at Christmas time! Great idea for an album Mr. O'Connor, a musician who never seems short on ideas. I for one am glad it is not named for another place other than Appalachia. I know Mr. O'Connor is originally from the Northwest although he lived for a long time in Tennessee. He could have named it after another place, like a Cascade Mountain Christmas! But I am glad he didn't! This deserves to be in Appalachia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something a little different for Christmas, March 6, 2013
This review is from: An Appalachian Christmas (Audio CD)
It's an all-star cast for an all-star album, worthy of much repeat listening. One reservation, though: If you're expecting authentic Appalachia bluegrass, you might be in the wrong aisle.

John J. Puccio
Classical Candor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Selections Miss The Appalachian + Christmas Mark, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Appalachian Christmas (Audio CD)
Needless to say, Mark O'Conner and his work are a national treasure and his work on this CD. When I purchased this, I envisioned Christmas songs done in an Appalachian style. And that is surely what you get on 10 of the 16 cuts provided and done well. But the six other songs are either NOT Appalachian style AND Christmas songs together. For example, you have Renee Fleming, a great opera singer, and Jane Monheit, a great jazz singer' singing in their respective styles. They left me cold. And I really don't see the song Amazing Grace for Christmas. Then you have Steve Wariner and James Taylor, two great signers and writers, doing songs that have absolutely nothing to do with Christmas. If you program around these six songs, you have a pretty nice set of songs, but by no means a full album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT CD!, December 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Appalachian Christmas (Audio CD)
Love all of Mark O'Connor's work. I have already listened to this over and over, again. It's very soothing music, and the Jesus is heart pounding. Wonderful CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Christmas Standard!, November 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Appalachian Christmas (Audio CD)
Some Christmas albums are the first you play while decorating the Christmas tree. This is one is our new Christmas tree decorating album. We can't wait to put in the CD player and press the repeat play! Already sent a copy to my mother-in-law in Kentucky as an early Christmas present!

What a great blend of talents -- all on one album! Bravo!

Thanks to Mark O'Connor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An Appalachian Christmas
An Appalachian Christmas by Mark O'Connor (Audio CD - 2011)
Click for more info
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.