Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT GIFT! Biblically accurate and beautifully inviting.
Together author Crystal Bowman and illustrator Claudine Gevry have created some wonderful die-cut boardbooks with strong Christian themes. This book is no exception.

The book tells about Jesus' life. It quickly explains He was born a long time ago, sent by God from Heaven to Earth. When He grew up, He told people He was God's Son and, if they believed in Him...
Published on February 20, 2008 by Tanya Dennis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very simple read
I was thinking it would work well for group reading at church. The children weren't engaged very much with the pictures and the language was almost too simple for the listening 3-5 year olds.
Published 15 months ago by Janna Carwile


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT GIFT! Biblically accurate and beautifully inviting., February 20, 2008
This review is from: An Easter Gift for Me (Board book)
Together author Crystal Bowman and illustrator Claudine Gevry have created some wonderful die-cut boardbooks with strong Christian themes. This book is no exception.

The book tells about Jesus' life. It quickly explains He was born a long time ago, sent by God from Heaven to Earth. When He grew up, He told people He was God's Son and, if they believed in Him and followed His instructions, they could live forever with Him in Heaven. Jesus performed many miracles. "But some of the people did not understand the way Jesus fit into God's special plan. He hung on a cross and that's where He died ... But Jesus is God so He didn't stay dead." The book ends with a mother explaining to her daughter that this story is true! She then tells her how if we believe and obey, we can see Jesus in Heaven someday.

This book is saturated with vibrant colors. The illustrations are simple and friendly.

What I Like: It's so colorful! It's biblically accurate and perfectly child-friendly. I like the easy transition from Christ's life to His death. Some books assign blame or have disconnected storylines. This book creates a seamless timeline. Also, I appreciate how, other than the cover, this book makes no reference to egg hunts or secular Easter traditions.

What I Dislike: Nothing.

Overall Rating: Excellent.

Tanya -- Christian Children's Book Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Christian book for the Easter story, March 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Easter Gift for Me (Board book)
We ordered this to help tell our 4 yr old and almost 2 yr old the story of Easter. We wanted something that focused on the Christian reason for Easter since so much of what they are exposed to focuses on the Easter bunny and eggs. This book does the job. It's a nice, short story that is adorably illustrated and tells the true meaning of Easter without being overwhelming. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Way to Introduce the Easter Story!, July 13, 2010
By 
Healthy By Nature (Wadsworth/Sharon, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Easter Gift for Me (Board book)
This oversized, die-cut board book is a beautiful way to introduce toddlers and preschoolers to the ups and downs of the Easter message... which can be complicated and even disturbing to some youngsters if not presented appropriately. I give this a solid five-star rating due to it's ability to balance the concepts of Jesus being the gift, with the darker imagery of crucifixion, and finally, with the glorious story of ascension and promise of eternal life. Calgary is depicted artistically; there are no graphic pictorial details and the verbiage is age appropriate. Additionally, the use of rhyme and friendly, colorful images make it very appealing to children, while still delivering the all-important message of Easter in a straightforward manner. This is a great quality book for the price and printed on heavy board book stock, with glossy cleanable pages that will withstand the test of time. Nicely done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect book for young children, February 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Easter Gift for Me (Board book)
This book was the perfect choice for my 2 and 3 year old children. It tells the story of Jesus in a straight forward friendly was without compromising on truth. There are no bunnies or eggs, just Jesus and a little girl hearing His story. I recommend it to any family who wants to teach their young children about Jesus and skip the bunnies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Easter book for little ones., October 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Easter Gift for Me (Board book)
I ordered this book before Easter to give to my 2 yr. old grandson. It is very colorful and is an easy explanation of the real meaning of Easter. He loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easter in Toddler Terms, March 18, 2014
This review is from: An Easter Gift for Me (Board book)
Easter is coming and at four and six, I feel like this is the first year that my kids can really get the true meaning and have more of an understanding of it. It’s not all about the Easter bunny and candy. An Easter Gift for Me is a great gift to give your child this Easter.

It wonderfully explains the story of Easter and starts with the birth of Jesus. I don’t think I’ve seen any other book that quickly goes through his entire life ending with the resurrection. Most of the books I’ve read my kids are about just his birth or individual stories from the Bible but not the entire story. This really gives them the big picture of why he came and what Easter means.

The illustrations in this book are adorable and Claudine Gevry did a beautiful job of showing the story in pictures. They are bright and colorful and look like springtime and all things bright and beautiful.

The rhyming really helps things sink in and stick with kids like my four year old. She loves books that rhyme and Crystal Bowman did a great job of simplifying the story as much as possible and keeping it short and sweet.

An Easter Gift for Me really helps little ones understand the true meaning of Easter and would be great to put in their baskets this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book As Described, February 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Easter Gift for Me (Board book)
The book was delivered on time and in good condition. It is good quality and pictures/colors. The Easter events are well told, but may be a bit advanced vocabulary for the kids I plan to give them to 2-3 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easter book, March 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Easter Gift for Me (Board book)
Love these books and the wonderful message of God that they bring to small children! I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Easter Story, March 30, 2014
This review is from: An Easter Gift for Me (Board book)
This is a well-made board book about Jesus, told in poetic style with colorful illustrations. It is very simply told by a mother to her daughter, very basic points in Jesus' life and death. I was pleasantly surprised that the death of Jesus was not a frightening aspect of this book, neither in verse or illustration, which to me is refreshing.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Zondervan in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Basic Easter story with great illustrations, April 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Easter Gift for Me (Board book)
We bought this book for our 4 month old daughter's Easter basket. It tells the story of Easter in a very basic childlike manner. If your looking for deep theological accuracy and ideology use your own bible, because that's not the purpose of this book. Great book for younger ones, because the whole story rhymes, has engaging illustrations, and tells the basic story of the death, burial, and resurrection. I would recommend this for children even younger than 4 because it's very understandable and short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An Easter Gift for Me
An Easter Gift for Me by Crystal Bowman (Board book - January 28, 2007)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.