An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat (Dread Empire) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $14.95
  • Save: $1.77 (12%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: This is an ex-library book. It may have plastic covering the book as well as library tags/stickers. The inside back cover has been stamped stating purchased at public sale. This book has been fairly well used and is in acceptable condition.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat (Dread Empire) Paperback – July 1, 2010


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.18
$8.04 $0.01


Frequently Bought Together

An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat (Dread Empire) + A Fortress In Shadow (Dread Empire) + A Cruel Wind (Dread Empire)
Price for all three: $40.77

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The Bone Clocks
David Mitchell's hypnotic new novel crackles with invention and sheer storytelling pleasure. Learn more

Product Details

  • Series: Dread Empire
  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Night Shade Books; Reprint edition (July 1, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1597801887
  • ISBN-13: 978-1597801881
  • Product Dimensions: 8.9 x 6 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #409,210 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

These 10 shadowy short stories take place in the same world as Cook's 1980s Dread Empire sword and sorcery novels. Ghost Stalk, Call for the Dead and the previously unpublished Hell Forge form an episodic tale of a damned crew's quest to escape hell. The other stories stand alone but share settings and characters, including the despotic empire itself, which lurks as an unseen but omnipresent menace. In this gloomy world, all are subject to the whims of those above them, quests rarely end happily and comic elements are limited to gallows humor. Fans of Fritz Leiber and Steven Erikson will enjoy these unjustly overlooked tales. (Sept.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Glen Cook has authored dozens of fantasy and science fiction novels, including The Black Company series, The Garrett Files, and The Tyranny of the Night. He lives in St. Louis, Missouri.


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 11 customer reviews
A good read, interesting stories, well told.
Kindle Customer
If you are old fan of Glen Cook and have missed this or the Dread Empire series I highly recommend it.
Michael Burke
It contains an introduction and ten stories.
Arthur W. Jordin

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Michael Burke on September 11, 2009
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
As an long time fan of Glen Cook's work with the Black Company and the Garrett Detective series, I was excited when Night Shade Books began releasing old works by Mr. Cook, including his Dread Empire series. As it would turn out, I loved the Dread Empire as much as the other world Cook has created. This last book, An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat, is a bit different in that it is not a continuation of the epic story line in the Dread Empire, but a collection of short story works within that world.

Before each new story the author also includes some thoughts as to the story being told such as where it first appeared and some history of himself in those times as he was writing it. Maybe I'm just a bit of a homerish fan of Cooks, but I really enjoyed this book and there are some great small stories that could have easily bloomed into bigger stories. Some of them also cross over into the time line of the main Dread Empire saga and were pretty neat to add to the flavor of that world.

If you are old fan of Glen Cook and have missed this or the Dread Empire series I highly recommend it. If you are new to reading Cook's work try it out as well as the Black Company and Garrett Detective novels.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By John Middleton on July 15, 2010
Format: Paperback
This is a nice collection of short stories set in the world of the Dread Empire, although previous exposure to other Dread Empire volumes is not necessary. At most about half the stories "depend" on being Dread Empire, and only to the extent of adding to the story if you know a little about it.

Cook is better known for his Black Company and Garrett PI novels, but he shows here that he can work in short fiction as well.

The best stories are "Filed teeth", "Soldier of an Empire Unacquanted with Defeat", which is almost a novella, and the first Vengeful Dragon tale. All of the contents are well worth reading though.

Simply put, these tales are fun, if a little dark. Here's hoping NightShade gets around to publishing a 4th Dread Empire collection.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Kurt A. Johnson TOP 1000 REVIEWER on October 3, 2012
Format: Hardcover
Glen Cook is one of the giants of the fantasy genre, producing such awesome series as The Black Company and Garrett P.I. Another of his series are the Dread Empire books. This book is a collection of short stories from that series, and all of them are really great. My favorite was probably Soldier of an Empire Unacquainted with Defeat, but I liked them all.

This is a very good collection, and makes for some really good hours of reading. You don't have to be familiar with the rest of the series to enjoy this book - in and of themselves they are great fantasy short stories and easily stand on their own. I really enjoyed this book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Kindle Customer on June 29, 2009
Format: Hardcover
For me, Glen Cook finally gave substance to Fantasy Fiction. It wasn't the Thud and Blunder of Conan or Gor. It was interesting, developed, 'real' characters working against insurmountable odds. And, trust me, the Shinshan are as bad a bunch off dudes as you will find. The Military SF aspect is realistic. The diplomatic intrigue is well thought out. The magic system works and is internally consistent. A good read, interesting stories, well told. Some, of course stronger than others.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The Dread Empire books are very entertaining and well written. I love the way each story is seen from more than one view.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
As always Glen Cook is an amazing storyteller, and this collection of short stories set in the world of the dread empire does not disappoint.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images