Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show!
Warwick Davis is upbeat, sarcastic, and full of life. Carl Pilkington is a wet blanket. Put them together you have a snarky, understated, travel comedy featuring a veery unlikely pair who aren't even friends. I can't wait for more episodes. Also, if you like this watch Warwick Davis' Mockumentry (created by Ricky Gervais also) "Life's Too Short". I can't get...
Published 17 months ago by Rachel Young

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too short
THREE Friggin episodes? Really? Even by British TV standards thats too short.

There was plenty of possibilities to make this at least 6 episodes. I think they just got lazy. Should have just made it 1 long episode and called it a Christmas Special.
Published 5 months ago by AZ Shopper


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too short, January 14, 2014
THREE Friggin episodes? Really? Even by British TV standards thats too short.

There was plenty of possibilities to make this at least 6 episodes. I think they just got lazy. Should have just made it 1 long episode and called it a Christmas Special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show!, January 23, 2013
This review is from: An Idiot Abroad Season 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
Warwick Davis is upbeat, sarcastic, and full of life. Carl Pilkington is a wet blanket. Put them together you have a snarky, understated, travel comedy featuring a veery unlikely pair who aren't even friends. I can't wait for more episodes. Also, if you like this watch Warwick Davis' Mockumentry (created by Ricky Gervais also) "Life's Too Short". I can't get enough of either of these shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jumped the Shark, April 26, 2014
By 
Karl and Warrick genuinely dislike each other. It's not like Ricky & Karl's irritable relationship where there is underlying affection. This pairing brought out the worst in Karl, he's more unpleasant than sardonic.

I think the reason the series is so short is that all realized it wasn't working so they wrapped-up early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as previous seasons..., February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Idiot Abroad Season 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
I was looking forward to season 3 because I enjoyed the previous two seasons. Unfortunately, it fell short. The humor was seriously lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insanely funny, January 27, 2014
By 
Matthew Campbell (marietta, ga United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has to be one of the funniest new shows i've seen in a long time. This season with the dwarf makes the perfect odd couple, the india episode where they do a bollywood movie is probably my favorite. My only sad part is that there isn't more, but the 3 hours is so still great content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to prior seasons, June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Idiot Abroad Season 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
Something in the formula must have changed. I can't really get excited about it. Karl's a cranky-puss and is maybe suffering from burnout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have kept Karl by himself, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Idiot Abroad Season 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
Warrick is funny, but it really takes away from the simplton that is Karl!
Not a disaster, but just finished season 2, which I thought was brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less A Journey, More A Brief Excursion, February 15, 2013
By 
MadMacs (Honolulu, HI United States) - See all my reviews
Another enjoyable, but too brief, turn at the 'Idiot' series. The twist, and you knew there had to be one, is that Karl is paired with a mate this time around.

To finish off the reported absolute final in the series, the intention was to go out with a bang. And to address that, our man had requested a traveling companion; obviously hoping that Rickey would join him in a not-so-subtle attempt to embarrass and humiliate his primary tormentor.

Cackling Gervais had other plans.

Bridging seasons two and three, Warwick Davis, the actor from 'Willow' and a host of other films, joins Karl on the Marco Polo Route. You might recall it was he whom Karl had called from the final scene in Season Two's finalé in China.

His reaction upon learning who would be accompanying him: "I don't know how it will work out, honestly. Edmund Hillary had that Tenzing fellow, Ben Fogle had James Cracknell. I've been given an Ewok." Incredibly, said right in front of his would-be partner. No hesitation, no social grace, uttered from the perspective of a boorish - if perceptive - child. Sometimes I wonder if Karl does this intentionally, with some deeper sense of gaining television ratings. But then I realize - no, like it or not, he's just brutally honest.

Following in the footsteps of the great Venetian trader, so begins the pair's adventure.

Season Three's comedy comes in the contrasting form of Warwick's tenacity and willingness to accept the differences between various peoples and their cultures - and Karl being himself. Still, it would be disingenuous to say this was all tickles and giggles. The brevity of this season certainly limits the potential for humor, as we don't get to see the team really worn down to the point where conflict can truly generate gut-busting laughs. Simultaneously explaining the understandable sympathetic undertone to the series; dampening what could've been possible. One knows that pushing too hard with certain people can easily cross the line into cruelty. But thankfully Karl pushes right up to that line.

Example: When the pair are in Szechuan, the goal is The 10 Faced Buddha Temple on Mount Emei. Thousands of stone steps, more than 1,000 meters up the side of a mountain, Warwick breaks down. Not physically, but mentally. Though one might be hard pressed to see the difference.

Karl did.

Nobly redeeming himself from the shameful "carnival" episode - he utilizes reverse psychology and pushes Warwick to conquer the mountain. Literally. And I couldn't help but think back to Mount Fuji. Remember? The manc climbed for a stunning 18 hours straight! So recall that before you pass judgment as he prods and cajoles the film star, whose tears reveal that he was indeed on the verge of defeat. Sympathetically, Karl had been there himself and wouldn't allow Warwick to take the easy road and quit.

Overall, very enjoyable. But obviously three episodes aren't nearly enough to fulfill a true season of programming. This seemed less a journey and more a brief excursion. For myself, I hope that one day Rickey & Co considers doing "Pole to Pole". Honestly, in my opinion, that would be insanely funny. Today, there are now at least two active war zones along Palin's original path of 30 degrees east longitude.

Active War Zone + Karl = Fun hijinks.

Let the games begin! :-D

Series Notes:

- Due to Warwick's challenges, the likely explanation for the brevity of the third series; which sadly comprised all of three episodes and a fourth special sit-down dissection.

- Co-host Stephen Merchant's non-presence was due to his work on a film. Unfortunate. It's his humorous insights that often give Gervais the more rounded approach to admonishing our man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Compared to Season 1 and 2, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Idiot Abroad Season 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
I loved Seasons 1 & 2 of An Idiot Abroad, and could hardly wait until Season 3 started. After watching the first 2 episodes I am sadly disappointed. The pairing of Karl Pilkington and Warrick is not a happy one. Normally Karl's insights, commentary, trials and tribulations make for very funny watching. Now everyone just seems miserable and ticked off. Don't waste your time or money on this season. So disappointing as I was really looking forward to Season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always funny., March 6, 2014
I watched this when the episodes aired on television. Would like to have this series available on regular DVD format. Much easier to give as gifts in case the recipient doesn't have a Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.