Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an appropriate book 3 of the genki series, March 5, 2008
This review is from: An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese (Paperback)
Though it doesn't have the same "genki" title as the other 2 standard Japanese textbooks published by the Japanese Times, this is essentially the 3rd book in the series, following a similar layout and integration. It has 15 chapters. At the beginning of each is a paragraph or two about something in Japanese culture. Each chapter has 3 or so conversations: a polite conversation, a medium-polite conversation, a casual, and then reading material. After that are the vocabulary lists, grammar points and exercises, and after that a similar reading material.
Though the conversations and reading material don't have translations, after reading them 2 or 3 times they should be understood. There is very little furigana over the kanji, which is sometimes frustrating when it's not a word that I plan on ever using or hearing. The reading text is sometimes dull and difficult to understand, so if you're not a serious Japanese student, this book may be a little dry. Some of the grammar is presented in JLPT level 2, but don't expect to be at that level upon finishing this book. Unfortunately there isn't a 4th book in this series yet, but after this, your Japanese should command compliments like "umai" instead of "jozu."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book after Genki, May 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese (Paperback)
This book is excellent for learners who have gone through Genki 1 and 2 (or equivalent). I am just beginning lesson 3 and the transition from the excellent Genki textbooks was smooth. The level is what I expected, the system for helping the reader with new concepts is very well integrated in the text. The first few texts may appear easy but it progresses very quickly and smoothly.

The lesson's texts are not translated in english, which is a very good thing and forces you to rely on your japanese background. The grammar rules and examples, are however, written in english. Lots and lots of vocabulary pointers are dispersed all around the lessons and make the reading quite pleasurable.

All in all, very well built textbook, after the wonderful textbooks Genki 1 and Genki 2, this one becomes a very natural transition to improve you japanese. I would definitely recommend, however, to complete the textbook with an intense study of kanji, since the transition from elementary to intermediate level involves mostly vocabulary and kanji at a much higher level than one was using in Genki 1 and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, September 13, 2009
This review is from: An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese (Paperback)
The book is useful when used in conjunction with a Japanese teacher or tutor, but probably is not the best solution for those learning the language on their own. It also should be used in along with a dictionary or a translator, as the level is much higher than a beginner's Japanese. This is my third year of studying the language, and I still have a hard time reading through the reading passages without help.

However, for what it was intended for, it does a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the next step towards fluency, October 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese (Paperback)
Third level is without a doubt, a great challenge. However, this book provides a very similar structure to that from Genki I and II. If you liked the formatting of those two, I highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Intermediate Japanese Textbook, January 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese (Paperback)
This is a great step up from elementary textbooks such as the Genki series. To be able to use it, you will already need to have knowledge of hiragana, katakana, and basic kanji (I would have liked for there to be a bit more furigana in this book, as it has a decent amount of kanji in it). Lessons include vocabulary memorization and reading of passages (a page in length in Japanese, or longer).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars いい本, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese (Paperback)
This book is great. It does exactly what it's supposed to do, and never overuses polite language meaning you won't get completely lost when people drop the honorflics. It's somewhat made for a school environment, and doesn't hold your hand at all, which is great for self study. Not for the casual Japanese learner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what i was looking for, May 3, 2014
By 
q1 (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese (Paperback)
my cousin stole (and lost) all of my old japanese textbooks when he moved out of our house, so thank god i found this. it's not very "user-friendly" but the content is great if you don't mind more words and drills than pretty pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese (Paperback)
Book as is. Great purchase. Everything is in Japanese except for a few explanations (for vocab) and culture notes. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genki III, February 21, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese (Paperback)
Great follow-on from the Genki I and Genki II textbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese
An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese by Akira Miura (Paperback - 1994)
Used & New from: $4.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.