Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but ESSENTIAL EP of Ellie, nice intro to the US...
It was frustrating finding this EP in stores...no one carried it, nor was it in anyone's computer system!! I bought it at her debut NYC gig last night for 5 bucks...I figured they would have it at the merch table and lucky they did...some girl from Universal US had a limited number of copies and they went fast.

BTW, Ellie was great live, even tho she had an...
Published on October 1, 2010 by Larry Davis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good, some bad.
Got this for the one song that I had on my pandora station. I really like the one song, but the others are not really my taste.
Published 11 months ago by cjeeprun


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but ESSENTIAL EP of Ellie, nice intro to the US..., October 1, 2010
This review is from: An Introduction to Ellie Goulding (Audio CD)
It was frustrating finding this EP in stores...no one carried it, nor was it in anyone's computer system!! I bought it at her debut NYC gig last night for 5 bucks...I figured they would have it at the merch table and lucky they did...some girl from Universal US had a limited number of copies and they went fast.

BTW, Ellie was great live, even tho she had an ear infection...and she had an adorable personality. Musically, she is like an alt-folk-pop singer/songwriter with an English slant (she is from Hereford in the countryside and the same town the Pretenders were formed, yes really, great company she has), but with electronic sounds and beats on top, and it works like a dandy...the songs are all gems, totally infectious and charming, but slightly offkilter, so as not to be confused with some radio-oriented ditz...inexperienced listeners will compare Ellie to Dido, which is not UNtrue, but she has her own sound...vocally, Ellie has a sharp and lovely accented voice...a LOT like Welsh lass Cerys Matthews formerly from Catatonia, a bit like Duffy but not soul-oriented, and maybe a drop of Cyndi Lauper...but Ellie is charming in her distinctiveness and seems a bit possessed when playing live. Right now, she is on even par with both Marina & The Diamonds and Florence & The Machine.

This EP is a great and cheap introduction for newbies...and I had a feeling Cherrytree would have her for the US...as her music seems tailormade for their small, hip, boutique-like approach. It's 4 tracks...2 of the singles in reverse order from the album..."Starry Eyed" and then "Guns & Horses"...then a beautiful piano acoustic version of her ballad "The Writer" which kills...then the real reason for having to buy this EP...the SONG "Lights"...it's not on the UK CD version of the album, just a digital track, and this is a cheap way to get it officially in CD form, and it's a killer track, as great as the album, and being it's the TITLE track, why it's left off the CD is just strange, also being it's only 10 songs, an 11th would fit no problem.

BUT "Lights" is getting the deluxe treatment when the carpet is laid out in the US for the spring of 2011, when Cherrytree/Interscope releases it here...that's what it says on the Cherrytree website, that the US version of "Lights" will be a Deluxe Edition...hopefully, "Lights", the song, will be on it, as well as other songs, demos, remixes, acoustic tracks, and maybe a DVD of vidclips???

Basically, this is just a hint of what's to come..."Lights" is a brilliant album, and the NYC gig was utterly packed to the gills...looks like the US will be welcoming Ellie with open arms. Watch out and prepare to be charmed top to toe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best and unique of our time, September 21, 2010
I have Ellie's full-length CD already available in UK and on Amazon. She's become one of my favorite vocal artist because of her rangeful and raspy sound. These 4 songs are a GREAT introduction to Ellie here in the US. I hope and think that she'll make it big over here. Download these 4 songs for a low price, it'll be worth it! :) Love you Ellie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the states, ellie., September 23, 2010
god it took the US this long to get Ellie's music released here?! thank god tho!! she's an incredible artist and this is only a small snippet of her music. I only took one star off because this sampler doesn't show off some of her more powerful tracks. can't wait for the stateside release of lights!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars did yours come with a booklet?, July 7, 2014
This review is from: An Introduction to Ellie Goulding (Audio CD)
to anyone who bought this: did yours come with a booklet or was it just the cover of the CD? i thought i would get a booklet, pretty sure most CDs come with them. thanks
love ellie, she's so talented. glad i could get a copy of this, i think her older stuff is much better than her newer music though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice cd to my collection!, May 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Ellie Goulding (Audio CD)
I am collecting her cd's. Standart EP. Good sound quality, nice printing, recommend this cd for all Goulddiggers! I am pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some good, some bad., October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Ellie Goulding (Audio CD)
Got this for the one song that I had on my pandora station. I really like the one song, but the others are not really my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good novelty with a few extras, July 16, 2012
By 
J. Bradley (Charleston, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Ellie Goulding (Audio CD)
If you're a collector of CD singles or even if you have one - or both - of the two versions of Goulding's first album, this is good little extra to have. Especially if you can get it now in this first half of summer '12 while it only costs a few bucks. It runs four tracks - a little longer than just a single, so it's good to mix in. It has an interesting acoustic piano version of "The Writer" - and MY main reason for seeking this disc out - is the version of "Lights" here is the RADIO VERSION. I like that version better. It lacks the dance beat running constant through the trancey intro which is the way it is on the album version - or at least that's the way it is on the "Brighter Lights" version of the album. Anyway, I was glad to find this and if it's what you're looking for, you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice introduction, December 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Ellie Goulding (Audio CD)
As an introduction, very nice. Perhaps I would recommend that you purchase one of her CDs with these and other songs, for only a little more $. Otherwise, no particular reason to purchase this CD, as these titles appear to be duplicates of songs found on another CD of this artist. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, September 3, 2014
This review is from: An Introduction to Ellie Goulding (Audio CD)
What a talented singer .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad songs, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Ellie Goulding (Audio CD)
i don't know why i bought this record. it seems like that i was wasting my money! by the way, her songs sound so bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An Introduction to Ellie Goulding
An Introduction to Ellie Goulding by Ellie Goulding (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.