Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


211 of 214 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent... but you already have it on PDF
This is an excellent and brief introduction to R. I don't mind having a printed copy. I don't mind having paid the 13 bucks, if the money raised will support free software development. But... I want to warn people who are thinking about getting it: If you use R you already have it. Select the help menu, Manuals, An Introduction to R.
Another book worth considering...
Published on December 1, 2003 by Carlos Quintanilla

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars standard R documentation in book form
This is just a hardcopy printout of the documentation that comes with R. I like having hard copy sometimes so I bought the set. The books are good using the standard mediocre quality paper that cheaper books use. It's exactly what you would expect.
Published 23 months ago by ram


Most Helpful First | Newest First

211 of 214 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent... but you already have it on PDF, December 1, 2003
By 
Carlos Quintanilla "ceqa" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to R (Paperback)
This is an excellent and brief introduction to R. I don't mind having a printed copy. I don't mind having paid the 13 bucks, if the money raised will support free software development. But... I want to warn people who are thinking about getting it: If you use R you already have it. Select the help menu, Manuals, An Introduction to R.
Another book worth considering is the one by Peter Dalgaard, Introductory Statistics with R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Introduction to R, May 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to R (Paperback)
Getting started with R was a bit of a challenge. I almost gave up: sure, I could struggle through most problems and eventually get the job done, but the experience was frustrating. I finally came across the pdf of this book, and immediately ordered the print version. The authors of this book managed to include the most important details to help an R beginner without burying them in unnecessary minutia. I sat down with this short book over a weekend, worked through it and came away with a solid foundation in R. I almost immediately started understanding how R "thinks." Once that foundation is in place, it becomes very natural to use R, and very easy to learn about features and packages not covered in this book.

Yes, this book is available as a free pdf. Such generosity on behalf of the authors certainly shouldn't be punished with low ratings as some reviewers have done; they should rate the content. Since the book serves as a tutorial, it is much nicer to have a physical copy sitting on your desk (especially if you only have one screen).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars standard R documentation in book form, January 6, 2013
By 
ram (Park City, UT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to R (Paperback)
This is just a hardcopy printout of the documentation that comes with R. I like having hard copy sometimes so I bought the set. The books are good using the standard mediocre quality paper that cheaper books use. It's exactly what you would expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, wish it were longer, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to R (Paperback)
This book does a good job at what its title says - it is an introduction to R. My only disappointment is that there is more I want to know about R, that's not included in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to R (Paperback)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy but somehow too simple. But very helpful for first time to use R., November 29, 2008
This review is from: An Introduction to R (Paperback)
Easy but somehow too simple. But very helpful for first time to use R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother., February 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to R (Paperback)
This document is available as a free pdf. No point in ordering a hard copy unless you're on of THOSE people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An Introduction to R
An Introduction to R by W. N. Venables (Paperback - May 1, 2009)
$19.95 $14.80
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.