An Irish Country Wedding (Irish Country Books) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $24.99
  • Save: $4.87 (19%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 9 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by hippo_books
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Item qualifies for FREE shipping and Prime! This item is used.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

An Irish Country Wedding (Irish Country Books) Hardcover – October 16, 2012


See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, October 16, 2012
$20.12
$1.98 $0.01

Frequently Bought Together

An Irish Country Wedding (Irish Country Books) + An Irish Country Courtship: A Novel + A Dublin Student Doctor: An Irish Country Novel
Price for all three: $44.04

Buy the selected items together

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

New Adult Fiction by Rainbow Rowell
Acclaimed author Rainbow Rowell's latest book, Landline, offers a poignant, humorous look at relationships and marriage. Learn more

Product Details

  • Series: Irish Country Books (Book 7)
  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Forge Books; First Edition edition (October 16, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765332175
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765332172
  • Product Dimensions: 9.5 x 6.4 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (295 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #232,936 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

In the summer of 1965, doctors O’Reilly and Laverty can be found working comfortably alongside each other in idyllic Ballybucklebo, Ireland. Sharing a general practice in the small village means lots of aches and pains and the occasional emergency, but there always seems to be time for a predinner Jameson. When their loyal housekeeper is suddenly sent to the hospital with a mysterious pain, the peace at their place is interrupted by visiting hours, burnt dinners, rowdy pets, temporary help, burgeoning romance, wedding plans, and a possible career change. In the latest installment in the Irish Country series, Taylor continues the adventures of the much-loved doctors and the Ballybucklebo villagers, complete with a glossary of authentic Irish slang. While longtime lovers of the series will enjoy this episode, new readers might want to start with an earlier entry. Fans of Frank Delaney, Jan Karon, and Gail Fraser will appreciate Taylor’s humorous, dialect-tinged take on small-town drama. A spirited and compassionate story filled with pastoral Irish imagery, cheerful village life, and heartwarming romance. --Stephanie Turza

Review

"A spirited and compassionate story filled with pastoral Irish imagery, cheerful village life, and heartwarming romance."--Booklist on An Irish Country Wedding

“Taylor is a bang-up storyteller who captivates and entertains from the first word.”—Publishers Weekly on An Irish Country Girl

“Patrick Taylor has become probably the most popular Irish-Canadian writer of all time.”—The Globe and Mail

“Taylor masterfully charts the small victories and defeats of Irish village life.”—Irish America Magazine


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Related Media


Customer Reviews

Love the characters and story line.
Judith Peay
We now have Dr. Fingal Flahertie O'Reilly preparing for his upcoming wedding to Nurse Kitty O'Hallorhan.
Obsidian Blue
It's a book you really have a hard time putting down - you just want to read it all in one sitting.
Kathleen Anthony

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

30 of 34 people found the following review helpful By Holly TOP 500 REVIEWER on October 23, 2012
Format: Hardcover
This is the seventh book in the Irish Country series:

1) An Irish Country Doctor
2) An Irish Country Village (Irish Country Books)
3) An Irish Country Christmas
4) An Irish Country Girl: A Novel (Irish Country Books)
5) An Irish Country Courtship: A Novel (Irish Country Books)
6) A Dublin Student Doctor: An Irish Country Novel (Irish Country Books)
7) An Irish Country Wedding (Irish Country Books)

I was first introduced to the series in November of 2008 when I picked up "Irish Country Christmas" and the love affair began. It was a book I enjoyed from beginning to end so I went back and read the first two novels and then impatiently waited every year for the next one to be published.

The latest book revolves around Fingal Flahertie O'Reilly as he is preparing to marry for the second time as well as around Dr. Barry Laverty as he prepares to leave Ballybucklebo to further his medical training. These are the two country doctors that have provided the backbone of these stories over the years.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful By Obsidian Blue VINE VOICE on October 18, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
In Patrick's Taylor's latest update to the Irish Country Books we now have "An Irish Country Wedding". This novel takes place a few days after the events in A Dublin Student Doctor: An Irish Country Novel.

We now have Dr. Fingal Flahertie O'Reilly preparing for his upcoming wedding to Nurse Kitty O'Hallorhan.

For those who read the previous novels you know that Dr. Barry Laverty will soon be leaving Dr. O'Reilly to train as an obstetrician. Dr. Laverty who is still nursing his broken heart over his last girlfriend starts to court Ballybucklebo teacher Sue Nolan.

We once again have both of the Doctors interacting with the villagers of Ballybuckelbo and helping them out when they can and doing their best to keep Councillor Bertie Bishop from doing his best to cause upheaval in the village.

It was great to read about Ireland in this time and place and to hear about the divides between the Catholics and Protestants. I honestly don't know that much about Irish history in the 1960s and it was nice to see exactly in that time and place how the divide affected the country.

Additionally, I loved how even in the 1960s Ireland was still a caste system with servants only using formal names for their bosses or those who were in a lower place in society.

Finally, what I really did love was the information we received on women doctor's in Ireland and due to a surprise in this novel we may get to hear more about what it is to be a woman doctor in Ireland practicing in the 1960s. In this time and place in the world it seems so strange that a woman cannot be a doctor, or a scientist, or the head of a fortune 500 company.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Reader-Reader on October 19, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Once  I got started on this series I can't stop. I truly like his style of writing and getting to know all the people of   Ballybucklebo.  They are a nice but eccentric bunch

These novels are refreshing and uplifting.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Stuart S Meighan on January 19, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Patrick Taylor's "Irish Country" sreies, including this, his most recent, hark back to a simpler time. The character development throughout the series is consistantly excellent. There are a lot of plot twists and turns.

Its all a bit pollyanna, with good outsmarting evil at every corner. Sometimes I want that comfort, especially when life is challenging and complex. Taylor weaves a world that forms a gentle retreat at such times.

I suggest that you begin the series at the begining and read the books in sequence. I think "An Irish Country Doctor" is book 1.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Kaynote on November 8, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
These stories of two Irish doctors and their experiences in a small (shmall?) Irish town have been so entertaining that I looked forward to reading the most recent (final?) book in the series.
Sadly, it didn't live up to the promise. Sure, it did tie together loose ends, sent the doctors off on their expected ways, even returned the cook/receptionist/overweight "Kinky" Kincaid to the office at 1 Main Street, Ballybucklebo, as an interesting character with a looming love affair.
If author Patrick Taylor decides to write more - in this series or elsewhere - I would recommend his work for anyone who wants to get an authentic taste of the Ulster country that he writes so well about.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Judith R. Henning on February 13, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I have read the entire Taylor series. I purchased this book and saved it for my vacation. I don't even know if I will finish it, since it is so dull. I find myself not liking Kinky,who has always been a fun character now she dominates the book. Sue Nolan is just okay, time to bring back Patricia. I have enjoyed all the other books,but I doubt I will return to the series. Three stars is a very generous rating for this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?