Customer Reviews

36
3.8 out of 5 stars
Anarchy Reigns - Xbox 360
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Change
Price:$8.19 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on February 13, 2013
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
First off: this is a game released in north america for $30. If you want to buy a new game and can't stand to risk the $60, give this game a try. The multiplayer is really great, but expect total madness and chaos in larger lobbies online. With simple controls, the game is easy to pick up and play. Surprisingly, the campaign was really solid. Great missions with a decent story you can follow that entertains you. Finally, the soundtrack is amazing, one of the best i've heard for a video game. So, if you want a game but can't part with $60, Anarchy Reigns is a great game at discount to get that is a solid title from beginning to end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 22, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
Anarchy Reigns!

Great character models, game accomplishes what it sets out to do, it's a brawler!

Put up the volume and enjoy the music; I picked up (not literally, but you know what aah mean) the soundtrack from ITunes cuz it's that good. Original music, great beats, fits the game perfectly.

Fantastic graphics, again, character modeling is top-notch, great move sets and effects, voice talents and world creation. I played the game a bit, didn't get into it the first time, put it down, picked it up again later and totally enjoyed it, it's quirky, crazy, extreme, different, unique.. .

The single player run through is a bunch of mini-missions strung together, some better than others, a little repetitiveness but had fun throughout. This game isn't for everyone, and like I said, I did put it down after I picked it up the first time, but I did the same with Dead Space and oh mmaaaannnn, did I go back and play that again twice or thrice, same also with Gears of War. This is the type of game busy people can pick up and play, which is probably the reason I put so many games down and played down the road, the gamer in me doesn't give up on them and am glad I didn't give up on this title.

I'd pick up a new installment of this game if the company released one (3rd if you count Mad World right?), even shoot for a collector's edition. Love ya' Sega! Arm chainsaw, let the grinding of its teeth drown out any complaints about this game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on January 8, 2013
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
I have spent countless hours playing Anarchy Reigns and it is insanely fun to play and chopping the head off a giant squid with a chainsaw has never felt any better. The combat in this game is amazing and fun. You just never get tired of beating up dudes for no particular reason.

Most characters share the same button combos, but they all have their own unique moves, mixed in with their "killer weapons" that deal extra damage. Every character has its own highs and lows, which requires you to constantly plan ahead. Sometimes the game feels extremely spammy because there's so much stuff going on that you don't know where to focus. Sometimes it is literally chaos: all you can see on your screen is dust and limbs, a flying truck smashes you into a wall, and next thing you know there's a pole through your head. Sometimes you're in control, and sometimes you're just getting destroyed by everyone else. That's not to say it doesn't fit the game because it does.

There is a lot of fighting in Anarchy Reigns that is so much fun and awesome but after some time it gets repetitive and boring. Each story mode takes around three hours to finish, and when you finish them there's an epilogue that ties the two together. It's also in the story mode that characters for multi-player are unlocked. Don't expect a whole lot from the story mode because it's not supposed to make any sense.

The missions are varied, ranging from defeating a certain amount of enemies within a time limit, to one-on-one battles against enemy agents and gang leaders. Most missions give you three lives and as such the majority can be beaten on either the first or second attempt.

The story line is what kills this game because it is difficult to follow and not very interesting. Nothing is explained thoroughly enough for you to understand. I tried so hard to understand it but it just doesn't make a whole lot of sense. Some of the missions in single player can get repetitive and frustrating to play through because it feels like you are playing the same mission over and over again.

The online gameplay in my opinion is where this game really shines. There are over 10 online modes and the majority of these modes are various forms of Deathmatch or Capture the Flag. There is also a survival mode and the unique Death Ball mode which is awesome. While most of them are self-explanatory, Death Ball is basically an insane version of football. There are two teams fighting for a ball, which can be passed or ran into the goal. This usually ends with someone getting killed or the ball going to the other team.

Overall I found the game to be very enjoyable and interesting but the lack of the story-line and the repetitiveness in single-player ruined it for me. With that being said, I give this game an 8/10.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
The game is pretty much a good button smashing action game with an entertaining array of characters and levels to play though the main storyline has you needed to play it in parts selecting different characters before actually getting true finale of the main quest story. The graphics and audio are good and the soundtrack fits the game style nicely as well. The controls are pretty simple nothing to hard to learn and pretty much straight forward. As with most games each character comes with his or her own special ability and fighting style but again if you played games like Street Fighter or Tekken learning these moves isn't going to be hard or difficult.

So for action fighting gaming fans I'd say this one is worthy of taking a look at.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on January 9, 2013
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
The game is great, it's kind of similar to Powerstone for the dreamcast, except in Powerstone, the controls were a little bit looser, whereas the controls for Anarchy Reigns are tight

The online multiplayer is sick, which is what I bought the game for. The only qualm I have with it, is, say that you have an 8 player game of TDM, and you have 6 players total, 3 on each side, the game won't start. You HAVE to have 8 players in order for the game to begin. There's another mode that requires a minimum of 12 players, where the maximum is 16. In that mode, you can't start if you have 8 players, 4 being on each team.

The problem with that is, the game doesn't have an insanely huge player base to support this, so you're going to be sitting in a lobby, waiting for it to get filled sometimes. Sometimes you or someone else will get sick of waiting and leave, which further extends the process of actually PLAYING the game

Another thing is that there are no sub lobbies. When I say that, I mean its like Call of duty, in that sense that you select a game mode, and you connect and thats it. You don't see the actual room you're joining, you don't see the connection of the host, you're just automatically patched through into a game, which a lot of the time, either disconnects, or you get a "Lobby is full" message. This process would be just fine if, in my opinion, the player base was larger than it actually is.

The reason why Halo and Call of Duty can do that is because their player base is large enough to warrant it. On top of that, even if the lobby isn't at max capacity, the game can still start, while that is not the case with Anarchy Reigns

Don't get me wrong though, when you're playing, it's actually pretty fun, even if it is complete chaos at times. I gave it a 3/5 because the online, which is a major part of the game, isn't smooth in my opinion. Sometimes it takes a while just to get in a lobby and get a game going
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on September 17, 2013
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
I recently bought Anarchy Reigns after putting off a purchase for a few months due to the brutal reviews that were generated courtesy of this title. Here's my take.

Graphics-

The graphics in Anarchy reigns is somewhat of a mixed bag. On one hand, you have fantastic looking character models that are beefy looking and highly detailed. On the other hand, there's the cutscenes which looks a bit under par. For example, in the game's opening cutscene, the actual scene is pretty grainy and while the characters look accurate, you'd swear from the opener alone that this game would look below average. (which isn't the case)
The other problems would be technical issues such as instances of texture pop-in. This doesn't occur often; but often enough to be a slight annoyance.
Now, onto the good parts.
The explosions look really good, the character models look great, and when you hit an enemy with an uppercut that lifts him into the air, you can feel the impact. Also, the enemy types are varied and detailed which usually isn't the case with games like this.
I was pleasantly surprised with the graphics, but for God's sake, why is the blood blue in this game? Even it's predecessor Madworld has red blood and gore. This game definitely lacks in the gore department.

Score- 8/10

Sound-

I wasn't too crazy about the music, which is really vulgar hip hop inspired tunes. (Not because it's hip hop either. The songs are just not tasteful IMO) The sound effects are good. Hit someone really hard actually sounds like it has loads of impact, blowing something up sounds like the good ol' arcade days, but the voice acting is a bit on the mixed side. The game's protagonist, Jack, curses an awful lot. You'll hear the F-bomb ever so often even when he fights.

Score- 8/10

Gameplay-

Anarchy Reigns is similar to MadWorld for the Wii, only it offers more melee moves, but is lacking in the object interaction department. For example, in MadWorld, you could toss a garbage can over an enemy's head, stick a pole through his head while the garbage can's still stuck on his head, set him on fire and then toss him in a trash compactor which would result in a combo kill and loads of points. Anarchy reigns features little of what made madworld a hit on the Wii. You still have the ability to toss objects (or even cars and buses) at enemies, but gone are the really innovative kills that swamped Madworld. Instead, and in it's place, are different interactions such as QTE kills, the new Rage finishers, and there are vehicles, aircraft, guns and weapons to use. Just don't expect the same robust engine Madworld had.
One thing that really improved would be the melee. There are a good amount of moves at your disposal. You can melee, use a killer weapon, perform air combos, pull off multiple finishers, there are a good amount of slams and suplexes and the fighting system is much better. The other good thing about anarchy reigns would be the enemies. No longer will you be forced to run through a crowd of enemies that are brain dead or just wait for you to hit them and getting killed is quite easy being that certain enemies such as mutants or enemies with flamethrowers alongside environmental hazards can occur at any time. For example, you can have a huge fight going on and all of a sudden there's a giant vehicle with rolling spikes that could kill you instantly unless you escape it. Other times, aircrafts will bomb the entire area. There are also enemies such as Mutants in which you'll need your rage mode to defeat. (unless you intend on fighting them for 5-10 minutes) The fights with mutants are tough; but that's just a taste of the first stage.

Anarchy Reigns borrows the stage selection found in MadWorld, only this time there isn't a time limit on grinding for points. In fact, you can fight in the game at any time you want for as long as you want, even if you're not partaking in the game's two mission types; which is free mission and Main mission.
Free missions give you objectives such as fighting a specific amount of enemies with a time limit or they can also be an escort mission. The main missions progress the story and is where you'll unlock characters and fight bosses.
You're also given a choice in the beginning of the game whether you want to pick "black side or white side". In short, the campaign is loaded with action with two different campaigns resulting in two different stories and different characters to play with.
The game's story isn't really it's strong point. On one hand, in the game's opening, the protagonist, Jack Cayman is in a bar where a group of russians come in and one hits him in the stomach...and then the campaign begins. During the first stage, there's little if anything at all that hints or at least builds on the story. Instead, you'll meet a bunch of characters that you'll befriend or fight...and the story will somewhat pick up where it left off.
But being that the gameplay is centered around mindless violence and geysers of blue blood, I doubt there's a reason to care about it's story. The gameplay more than makes up for the lack of story.

There are other modes of play besides the campaign which fall into multiplayer, co-op, training, versus etc.
The multiplayer actually has an offline bot battle mode that's fun, but the online multiplayer is just meh. I tried it but there weren't too many people on it.

In the end, Anarchy reigns reminds me of PowerStone for the Sega Dreamcast (ironically, this game is made by Sega) with it's arena style battling. (that's somewhat Sandbox like. There is free roaming)

I'd highly recommend this game for the price it's going for now. The graphics are good, the gameplay is frantic, the campaign is somewhat lengthy and once you're done with campaign, there are plenty of modes to choose for replayability.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on April 23, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
The campaign can kind of be repetitive, but overall great action!

I also love the gorier side of things this game offers!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on March 27, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
I am an avid fan of the Beat Em' Up genre and Anarchy Reigns brings that into a massive multiplayer level (granted if there are people playing). As of now, the game has seen better days. Most of the people who play this game have been either playing it since release day (such as myself) or have high experience so it's tough for newcomers to get in the game.
Gladly, most of the community is very willing to help newcomers as long as they stick around.

The game itself is a mixed bag, the Campaign is hilariously short, even with both stories. The characters are nothing to sneeze at and won't win any awards but something about them is just loveable. These are one of the few casts of characters that I openly appreciate all of them. Now for the meat of the game, the multiplayer. Don't get your hopes up since this game is spent dead most of the day, sometimes you'll find people playing but not a huge group. Now there is a gamertag which you can add to keep track of people playing. Adding "Anarchy Asylum" as a friend will give you insight into if anyone is playing the game because this account was made for that purpose.

The multiplayer itself is a glitchy mess of crazy things happening, well worthy of the name Anarchy Reigns.
This game has not been patched in the slightest so expect many problems with your connection and if you have a wireless connection, I'd suggest not indulging in this game as you will experience a calamity of problems.

This game is only good if you expect to have a blast with friends and not worry about winning or losing.
Expect crazy glitches and situations that will make you laugh.
For the price though, it's a cheap laugh.

P.S. Do not buy the Dogfight DLC, NO ONE plays that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on March 14, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360Verified Purchase
great game if you want to just beat up guys and have some fun. gets real boring after a while so you might wanna play in small doses
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on March 3, 2014
Platform for Display: Xbox 360
I had heard of this game through a friend, and I ended up pre-ordering it because as a pre-order bonus you got DLC code to play as Bayonetta (on my favorite games) and that's what had sold me on the game! The multiplayer is INTENSE and action packed with lots of characters and skills to unlock! The Soundtrack is very fun and upbeat! This was a super popular title and multiplayer was so packed you couldn't find a game type to join, but now its hard to find a lot of people to play multiplayer with. I really enjoy the game and as an alternative Anarchy Reigns does offer a campaign to play as well!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Blades of Time - Xbox 360
Blades of Time - Xbox 360 by Konami (Xbox 360)
$7.49

NeverDead - Xbox 360
NeverDead - Xbox 360 by Konami (Xbox 360)
$6.99

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.