Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best out there, 4 and 1/2 stars (round to 5) but not perfect
I agree with other posts, but want to be another witness. I just took and passed the AP portion of boards. I went through this book three times and found it very helpful. This book is of overall excellent quality, but some chapters are not the best and there are some editing typos. Breast chapter had too long of explanations. This book is mostly high yield, but no...
Published on August 3, 2011 by pathwonk

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but doesn't quite live up to its title
I recently took the AP boards and used this book in my preparation. Although using this book does help in overall review of AP topics and identifies areas of weakness, there are several problems with this book. First, the questions do not follow the same format as the questions on the real board exam. Second, as with any multi-author textbook, some chapters are better...
Published on October 16, 2006 by Homer Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but doesn't quite live up to its title, October 16, 2006
This review is from: Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e (Paperback)
I recently took the AP boards and used this book in my preparation. Although using this book does help in overall review of AP topics and identifies areas of weakness, there are several problems with this book. First, the questions do not follow the same format as the questions on the real board exam. Second, as with any multi-author textbook, some chapters are better than others. Third, there are many topics and questions in AP on the real exam that are not covered in this book. The explanations to the questions are pretty good and are quite helpful. In summary, this book is good practice, but don't be too reliant on it and don't expect it to cover everything on the AP boards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best out there, 4 and 1/2 stars (round to 5) but not perfect, August 3, 2011
This review is from: Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e (Paperback)
I agree with other posts, but want to be another witness. I just took and passed the AP portion of boards. I went through this book three times and found it very helpful. This book is of overall excellent quality, but some chapters are not the best and there are some editing typos. Breast chapter had too long of explanations. This book is mostly high yield, but no book can cover everything you need to know. Boards are extremely comprehensive. However, study this diligently and it is the best source for AP I think. I also found going through PIP slides and listening to ASCP reviews helpful, but practicing questions like in this book is more helpful. Yes some images are so-so, but that is also true on the boards.
The book is a bit dated, but still best out there and well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise yet comprehensive, November 5, 2006
By 
Françoise (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e (Paperback)
As somebody who's preparing for the exam I found this review very useful. While some chapters are more complete then the others, in general all major entities in every system is covered. The answer section not only gives the right answer but discusses all other possibilities. Pictures are smallish but knowing the entity you have no trouble recognizing it. Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for AP boards studying!, May 17, 2012
By 
D. McClintock (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book for AP residents and fellows - although it's six years old, this book still is the best question book out there for studying AP prior to the exam. I have tried the few others out there - this one definitely helps the most. While I wish there were A) a digital version, and B) updated photos, it still has the best explanations for the answers to the questions. The reason it's not 5 stars is strictly because some of the photos could be a bit clearer...hopefully there will be a second edition that helps with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e (Paperback)
It's a good book for prepping for the board examination as it provides multiple examination style questions to prepare for the exam. Be careful as there are errors so read carefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good review book ... only one of it's kind, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e (Paperback)
This book more or less has the monopoly on the pathology board review books. In that capacity it does a decent job. It will highlight areas that might have been missed during a rotation or study session. Some of the pictures could be improved, but the same could be said about the board exam themselves.
Worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have for AP boards, April 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e (Paperback)
Book has a user-friendly question and answer format. Emphasis is a little heavy on molecular which is beyond the level of what is(was) asked on AP board, but still good information. Will help with CP molecular portion as well. Explanations are clear and book is a length which is not too overwhelming to whittle through cover to cover, at least once. Buy early in the study for AP, but not before 3rd year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars useful review book with pictures., December 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e (Paperback)
I am a first year resident. My seniors suggested this book. I love this review book because it is divided into chapters, and at the end they explain why the other choices are not correct. It is like a practical sign out session. If they make it available online, that would be perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of what is out there..., August 1, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e (Paperback)
I bought this during my second year of residency and used it whenever I was on a light rotation and occasionally at the weekends. Over time I think it made some subjects clearer and helped me answer questions in conferences, on the RISE, and probably the boards as well. I have a hard time picking up a book - I read about individual cases, but on a day to day basis, I'm not picking up Rosai or Sternberg to study. So, I found this helpful.

Some people criticize this book as being inadequate for board preparation - however, I would love to see the resource that WAS adequate (it would have to be 1,000,000 pages long for a start!) Yes, some chapters are better than others and the questions are not exactly like those on the boards. However, there is currently nothing better than this in my opinion (it's main competitor, the Sternberg review book, is good but much easier than Lefkowich.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent AP Board Review, August 18, 2006
This review is from: Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e (Paperback)
This excellent review cover all the main areas of anatomic pathology. Most of the questions feature color photographs. The answers provide complete and clear explanations using up to date textbook and journal references. I would recommend this book to anyone preparing for the anatomic pathology board or the resident in-service examination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e
Anatomic Pathology Board Review, 1e by Jay H. Lefkowitch MD (Paperback - June 7, 2006)
$174.00 $165.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.