Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT
I love this CD. Great artists putting their stamp on great songs! I think the best title on this is "Jackson" by Carlene Carter and Ronnie Dunn. Ms. Carter sounds very much like her mother and you can tell they had fun recording it. "Will the Circle be Unbroken" by Ralph Stanly will bring tears to your eyes.
Published on August 23, 2007 by Gene S. Coleman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh
I didn't mind the song selections, and the artists are certainly distinguished enough, but the covers weren't very good. "Wildwood Flower" is pretty good and Loretta Lynn is a good type to record it, except that it repeated verses all over the place (as filler?). But Ronnie Dunn and Carlene Carter managed to suck all the soul out of "Jackson"; it's all noise and no real...
Published 19 months ago by Dixie Diamond


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, August 23, 2007
This review is from: Anchored in Love: A Tribute To June Carter Cash (Audio CD)
I love this CD. Great artists putting their stamp on great songs! I think the best title on this is "Jackson" by Carlene Carter and Ronnie Dunn. Ms. Carter sounds very much like her mother and you can tell they had fun recording it. "Will the Circle be Unbroken" by Ralph Stanly will bring tears to your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tribute to a Great Lady, July 8, 2007
This review is from: Anchored in Love: A Tribute To June Carter Cash (Audio CD)
I love the songs John chose to include in this album. His choice of performers is excellent, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
This review is from: Anchored in Love: A Tribute To June Carter Cash (Audio CD)
great cd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anchored in Love, July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anchored in Love: A Tribute To June Carter Cash (Audio CD)
I like the songs that are on there I wanted to get the son Will the Circle be Unbroken as I like that song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Meh, January 14, 2013
This review is from: Anchored in Love: A Tribute To June Carter Cash (Audio CD)
I didn't mind the song selections, and the artists are certainly distinguished enough, but the covers weren't very good. "Wildwood Flower" is pretty good and Loretta Lynn is a good type to record it, except that it repeated verses all over the place (as filler?). But Ronnie Dunn and Carlene Carter managed to suck all the soul out of "Jackson"; it's all noise and no real heat. Elvis Costello clearly had no idea what to do with "Ring of Fire". Doing to song justice should be more important than making it different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Willie Nelson and Sheryl Crowe Steel the Show, July 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anchored in Love: A Tribute To June Carter Cash (Audio CD)
What a pleasant surprise when we discovered a treasure on the first song, "If I Were a Carpenter". The best thing about this album is its authenticity and pleasing production. The singers don't have to scream to be heard over the music. Can't wait for volume 2. As you know, Johnny Cash left a list of 100 songs...can't wait for the next album. John & Janet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tribute to June Carter Cash, December 11, 2007
This review is from: Anchored in Love: A Tribute To June Carter Cash (Audio CD)
This album is one of the most amazing tribute albums I have ever purchased. John Carter Cash has outdone himself in his production and tribute to his mother. It brings peace to my soul each time I listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Love Sure Shows!, November 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anchored in Love: A Tribute To June Carter Cash (Audio CD)
A great remembrance for longtime fans and a great introduction for those who are not familiar with June Carter's music!

Johnny's and June's son has produced an album which allows a variety of artists to show how much June and her music meant to them....and opens the door to understanding that June Carter's music was much, much more than standing beside Johnny singing "Jackson."

This album will make a great stocking stuffer -- or anytime surprise -- to any fan of Johnny & June!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Listen, August 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anchored in Love: A Tribute To June Carter Cash (Audio CD)
I enjoyed all the songs on the CD, especially the "Song to John". It showed how deep June's love went for Johnny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anchored In Love, October 1, 2007
By 
B. A. Smith "Gramma Bobbi" (Snake River Plain of Idaho) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anchored in Love: A Tribute To June Carter Cash (Audio CD)
I'm not usually into "tribute" albums, preferring to hear the originals sung by the originals, but this album is an exception. The artists chosen to cover June's songs reflected the tone of each. I especially enjoyed Carlene Carter's version of "Jackson." (I suppose a daughter would do her mother proud!) Overall this album is a delight to listen to --- you'll probably find yourself singing along . . . or at least humming. This album is a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.