Customer Reviews


1,086 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (152)
2 star:
 (199)
1 star:
 (455)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a massive riot but consistently and thoroughly absurd for the full two hours
Firstly: No spoilers here. That would be pretty inconsiderate.

I don't think there is any single moment in this movie that people will completely lose it over but for two hours the movie quietly pounds away in absurdity. I watched this in a fairly full theatre of college kids and there was a consistent level of positive reaction. About 80% of the attempted...
Published 8 months ago by Rob Slaven

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eh!
Saw these actors on Jon Stewart and they were a riot, I thought I have to see that movie. Missed it in the theatres, so I purchased it on Amazon, despite the mixed reviews. My advice, if you have to see it, rent it, don't buy it! I should have heeded the 3 star reviews and just rented this. There were only a few times where I actually laughed while watching this film...
Published 4 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2109 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a massive riot but consistently and thoroughly absurd for the full two hours, December 20, 2013
Firstly: No spoilers here. That would be pretty inconsiderate.

I don't think there is any single moment in this movie that people will completely lose it over but for two hours the movie quietly pounds away in absurdity. I watched this in a fairly full theatre of college kids and there was a consistent level of positive reaction. About 80% of the attempted humor got a laugh and that's not a bad based on recent experience.

Part of the joy of this movie is that it has so many threads of story to appeal to so many. The older set will enjoy the wonderfully archaic fashion (it made me want to find some of those delightful polyester pattern shirts) and numerous period references, though some of these seem anachronistic given the movie is set in 1980.

At times the film echos Zoolander as macho professional archetypes square off in hopelessly absurd duels for dominance of the stage. The film's closing melee is star-studded and from a story perspective, somewhat of a letdown, but I was too busy trying to figure out all the cameos to realize that until much later. My primary observation from that scene is to note that a lot of famous people are starting to look really old. Yow.

Lastly, the thing that really sticks out for me about this movie is that like all comedies, it goes through that mandatory dramatic shift about 2/3 of the way through but Anchorman 2 somehow survives and continues to be funny. Perhaps that's because the movie's poignant moments aren't all that poignant but nevertheless, the movie manages to deliver laughs even after the usual serious interludes.

Oh, and if you do happen to sit through the movie's massive credits, there is a brief additional scene. It's not worth missing your dinner reservations for but it is there for the intrepid and the absurdly patient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny! Deep! Random! Watch it, people., July 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was hilarious if this is your kind of humor. Or I could just say that if the first Anchorman got your funny bone, you may like this one even more. Not only does it have those priceless Burgundy exclamations ("by the hymen of Olivia Newton John!") and head-scratchers from Brick ("I'm wearing two pairs of pants"), but it touches on real questions about journalism and broadcast news. Funny! Deep! Random! Watch it, people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars About What I Expected (And In This Case That's A Good Thing), December 24, 2013
This review is from: Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
The first "Anchorman" movie is one of the most quotable comedy movies of all-time. When I sat down in the theater for the long-awaited sequel, I expected more humor along the same lines (if not quite as fresh). That is exactly what I received...and in the case of comedy films that is a win for all parties involved.

For a basic plot summary, "Anchorman 2" tells the story once again of Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell), a man born to look good and read the news. When wife Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) essentially takes his job, however, Ron must decide what the next direction is that his life should take. With input from the old news team of Brick Tamland (Steve Carrell), Brian Fantana (Paul Rudd), and Champ Kind (David Koechner), Ron decides to pursue an opportunity to land on a 24-hour news station.

This sequel primarily works because of Ferrell's impeccably honed Burgundy character. When some of the jokes inevitably fall flat, sometimes just Ferrell's reactions alone can carry a scene. Without his strong presence, this franchise (and especially this installment) would be utterly lost. Does the movie contain an ensemble cast? To be sure. All the auxiliary parts work well together...but they also have some jokes that fall completely flat or are just plain stupid. Only the "Burgundy scenes" are the ones that are consistently hilarious.

Basically, "Anchorman 2" is a four-star movie (though not five) because it continues the solid humor of the original. It contains more than its share of fresh jokes, but others are just a bit stale because they have essentially been done before. That's not fault of its own, of course, but the characters were just so fresh in the original that now they don't "pop" quite as much here. Essentially, this is probably about the best sequel that could have been expected for this franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eh!, April 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
Saw these actors on Jon Stewart and they were a riot, I thought I have to see that movie. Missed it in the theatres, so I purchased it on Amazon, despite the mixed reviews. My advice, if you have to see it, rent it, don't buy it! I should have heeded the 3 star reviews and just rented this. There were only a few times where I actually laughed while watching this film. I was disappointed. I actually had a hard time staying focused on it - it just didn't do a good job of pulling me in.

So rent it first, and if it fits your fancy, then buy it. But it wasn't the right choice for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you'd expect, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you've seen the first movie, you know what you're in for. If you loved the first movie, you won't be disappointed by Burgundy and the team's next adventure and if you thought the first movie was completely ridiculous and awful, navigate away from this page immediately because this film is too darned good for negative reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A middling disappointment., April 9, 2014
By 
This review is from: Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
Part of the reason that ANCHORMAN 2: THE LEGEND CONTINUES is so bad is because Anchorman: The Legend Of Ron Burgundy is so damn good. Anchorman 1's quirky characters, offbeat performances and quotable dialogue all added up to one classy, rich mahogany-smelling success. Sadly all that is missing in this rote and middling, albeit sometimes-funny sequel.

The entire cast returns, with some fine new additions. Whenever the movie succeeds, it does so on the strengths of its talented cast. The combined chemistry and comedic talents of Will Ferrell, Paul Rudd, David Koechner, and especially Steve Carrell (shouldering the brunt of the best laughs) are almost enough to make the movie work. Almost. The new additions do well; a smarmy James Marsden, an offbeat Kristen Wiig, and of course the mandatory slew of awesome cameos in the film's best scene - a direct ripoff of the news team brawl of the first film, this time featuring just about everyone from Jim Carrey to Liam Neeson.

Anchorman 2 does best when it follows in the steps of it's predecessor, and that's a little sad. But when the film gives Ron Burgundy classy dialogue to say, or makes Brick freak out at his own funeral, and especially sees a half-dozen rival news teams brawl with pitchforks and minotaurs...it's almost enough to overcome the rote script, forgettable laughs, and lack of energy.

But in the end, I found Anchorman 2 to be pleasantly diverting, and an amusing way to spend an hour and a half of my time. While not nearly up to the standards set by its predecessor, this is a middling comedy sequel that sometimes hits the mark. Mildly recommended. My rating? 3 suits that make Sinatra look like a hobo out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Enigma! Strangely Great, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can you say about the Anchorman 2? What can you say about the first one? For some reason it is an incredible hit that noone could explain why. It is a marvel why. Awesome in every way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SUPER CREEPY AND UNORTHODOX,, January 15, 2014
Ron (Will Ferrell) gets terminated from his job and leaves his wife. He is offered a job from upstart GNN 24 hour news. He assembles his news team etc. etc. etc. The plot is not important. The film is fairly simple and it is more like a connection of skits and one liners than a real situation comedy. You could pretty much start watching the movie at any time and it wouldn't matter. The humor, while crude at times, was original and funny. Sure there were a few scenes I would have cut, the condom selection and racist dinner, but there were too many scenes which had me laughing out loud. Excellent support cast.

Some lines from the film:

"Bats: Chicken of the cave."
"He wanted to donate his organs before he died."
"Remember ten years from now..."
"He bottle fed and raised a shark..."

This is high caliber low brow humor. Crude and racial at times.

Parental Guide: 2 F-bombs. No nudity. Brief comical sex scene. Crude sexual talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guys Movie, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a good 2nd edition to an already funny movie. Great for a guys night of good fun & laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a bummer, May 25, 2014
Let me start by saying that my husband and I LOVED the first Anchorman. It came out while we were in college, and we still quote it regularly.

We knew that, as with all movies, the second one would likely not be as funny. We didn't imagine, however, that it could be as terrible as it was. While the absurd humor in the first movie seemed to flow naturally, this humor was labored and fell so very flat. We ended up turning the movie off halfway through b/c we couldn't take anymore. Even if you loved the first Anchorman, save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2109 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD)
$39.99 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.