Customer Reviews


1,212 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (131)
3 star:
 (171)
2 star:
 (224)
1 star:
 (493)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a massive riot but consistently and thoroughly absurd for the full two hours
Firstly: No spoilers here. That would be pretty inconsiderate.

I don't think there is any single moment in this movie that people will completely lose it over but for two hours the movie quietly pounds away in absurdity. I watched this in a fairly full theatre of college kids and there was a consistent level of positive reaction. About 80% of the attempted...
Published 10 months ago by Rob Slaven

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eh!
Saw these actors on Jon Stewart and they were a riot, I thought I have to see that movie. Missed it in the theatres, so I purchased it on Amazon, despite the mixed reviews. My advice, if you have to see it, rent it, don't buy it! I should have heeded the 3 star reviews and just rented this. There were only a few times where I actually laughed while watching this film...
Published 6 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a massive riot but consistently and thoroughly absurd for the full two hours, December 20, 2013
Firstly: No spoilers here. That would be pretty inconsiderate.

I don't think there is any single moment in this movie that people will completely lose it over but for two hours the movie quietly pounds away in absurdity. I watched this in a fairly full theatre of college kids and there was a consistent level of positive reaction. About 80% of the attempted humor got a laugh and that's not a bad based on recent experience.

Part of the joy of this movie is that it has so many threads of story to appeal to so many. The older set will enjoy the wonderfully archaic fashion (it made me want to find some of those delightful polyester pattern shirts) and numerous period references, though some of these seem anachronistic given the movie is set in 1980.

At times the film echos Zoolander as macho professional archetypes square off in hopelessly absurd duels for dominance of the stage. The film's closing melee is star-studded and from a story perspective, somewhat of a letdown, but I was too busy trying to figure out all the cameos to realize that until much later. My primary observation from that scene is to note that a lot of famous people are starting to look really old. Yow.

Lastly, the thing that really sticks out for me about this movie is that like all comedies, it goes through that mandatory dramatic shift about 2/3 of the way through but Anchorman 2 somehow survives and continues to be funny. Perhaps that's because the movie's poignant moments aren't all that poignant but nevertheless, the movie manages to deliver laughs even after the usual serious interludes.

Oh, and if you do happen to sit through the movie's massive credits, there is a brief additional scene. It's not worth missing your dinner reservations for but it is there for the intrepid and the absurdly patient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eh!, April 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Saw these actors on Jon Stewart and they were a riot, I thought I have to see that movie. Missed it in the theatres, so I purchased it on Amazon, despite the mixed reviews. My advice, if you have to see it, rent it, don't buy it! I should have heeded the 3 star reviews and just rented this. There were only a few times where I actually laughed while watching this film. I was disappointed. I actually had a hard time staying focused on it - it just didn't do a good job of pulling me in.

So rent it first, and if it fits your fancy, then buy it. But it wasn't the right choice for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, August 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Don't waste your time, not funny at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A middling disappointment., April 9, 2014
By 
Part of the reason that ANCHORMAN 2: THE LEGEND CONTINUES is so bad is because Anchorman: The Legend Of Ron Burgundy is so damn good. Anchorman 1's quirky characters, offbeat performances and quotable dialogue all added up to one classy, rich mahogany-smelling success. Sadly all that is missing in this rote and middling, albeit sometimes-funny sequel.

The entire cast returns, with some fine new additions. Whenever the movie succeeds, it does so on the strengths of its talented cast. The combined chemistry and comedic talents of Will Ferrell, Paul Rudd, David Koechner, and especially Steve Carrell (shouldering the brunt of the best laughs) are almost enough to make the movie work. Almost. The new additions do well; a smarmy James Marsden, an offbeat Kristen Wiig, and of course the mandatory slew of awesome cameos in the film's best scene - a direct ripoff of the news team brawl of the first film, this time featuring just about everyone from Jim Carrey to Liam Neeson.

Anchorman 2 does best when it follows in the steps of it's predecessor, and that's a little sad. But when the film gives Ron Burgundy classy dialogue to say, or makes Brick freak out at his own funeral, and especially sees a half-dozen rival news teams brawl with pitchforks and minotaurs...it's almost enough to overcome the rote script, forgettable laughs, and lack of energy.

But in the end, I found Anchorman 2 to be pleasantly diverting, and an amusing way to spend an hour and a half of my time. While not nearly up to the standards set by its predecessor, this is a middling comedy sequel that sometimes hits the mark. Mildly recommended. My rating? 3 suits that make Sinatra look like a hobo out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is probably one of the top 5 worst movies I've ever seen, July 15, 2014
By 
Rebecca L. Fisk "BookWorm" (Saratoga Springs, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is probably one of the top 5 worst movies I've ever seen. It was like the actors and actresses all got drunk and decided to run around a studio saying and doing whatever stupid thing popped into their heads and trying on costumes. I love Ferrell and a good number of the rest of the cast but this one was just a big pile of poo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh what did you expect?, October 1, 2014
Last Tuesday I talked to my father on the phone and mentioned how I have yet to get around to Anchorman 2. Thursday I got a package in the mail and guess what it was? That's right, Anchorman 2. My review might be less harsh than most because I didn't pay s*** for this.

Anchorman 2 is the sequel to the 2004 smash Anchorman. Why they waited almost ten years to make a sequel I have no idea, but hey that's Hollywood for you. If they made sense, it wouldn't exactly be Hollywood.

The main plot is Ron Burgundy and his gang of misfits leave San Diego and head over to GNN, working at the parody station of CNN. Throughout the film there is comedic commentary on today's style of news involving anything that will involve ratings whether it be car chases or a countdown list of best vaginas.

One problem I had with this film that could easily be fixed was how it clocked in at just under two hours. There is absolutely zero need for a film such as this one to run anywhere over ninety minutes. We do not watch Anchorman 2 for a two hour plot. Anchorman 2's only job is to have us re-visit our favorite characters, bring out the classic punchlines and get us out. Without giving much away there is a side plot involving Ron Burgundy becoming blind that only seems to serve as something that eats up time. Also Kristen Wig's character seemed as one that was around to eat up scenery, boring, dull and came off as an unfunny friend with horrible timing doing an impersonation of Steve Carell's character.

Overall there isn't much to say about this film. It's an alright watch if you go in not expecting much. People don't make sequels to blockbuster comedies looking for rave reviews. This film is a cash cow and nothing but. If anybody was looking to make a sequel to a comedy looking for rave reviews, they'd look at Ghostbusters 2 and stop dead in their tracks. Also The Hangover sequels, which have probably took away from how spectacular the first Hangover film was.

This is a film you rent on a weekday night after work or in the future, something you catch on Netflix when you're hanging out with your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Some sequels shouldn't even be considered..., September 21, 2014
...let alone be allowed to see the light of day.

Do yourself a favor: if you consider watching this piece of humorless dreck, consider the endless alternative ways to spend the 119 minutes of your life you will invest. Because no matter how young you are or how old you might become, there will come a time when you want those two hours back. And when it comes, you will remember the time you sat in front of this wire-to-wire disaster of a movie with deep regret.

Few movie watchers are neutral on Will Ferrell. Usually I find his presence in a movie to yield enough self-deprecating and physically charged humor to result in a moderately entertaining movie experience. The original Anchorman movie effectively skewered the topics it took on (in a big wrapper of slapstick), and was funny enough to entice me to watch the sequel. Big mistake. This movie contains less than 10 minutes of legitimately humorous content; the rest is sheer pain as the unfunny bits linger too long and fall utterly flat.

It's the start of the 80s: Ron's old San Diego newsroom gang is recruited for the overnight shift at a newly launched 24/7 news channel, and hilarity fails to ensue. The few bright spots center on the growth of cable news and the popular iconography that results (car chases, obsession with celebrity crime, overdone graphics and utter lack of concern for facts).

The balance of this movie consists of idiotic back stories that could serve to spotlight many things in funny ways. Instead it bungles every effort as comic explorations of race, relationships, ratings, disability (yeah, really) repeatedly fail.

Anchorman 2 ends with an incomprehensible battle scene populated with celebrity cameos, but by then the damage is done. The principals in this have been going through the motions for nearly two hours already, and these drop ins appear to be doing the same.

If somebody you care about suggests this: do yourself and that person a favor: run away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most young people do not know what news was like before FOX and CNN so to them the much ..., October 11, 2014
To understand comedy, you have to get the references. I think many did not understand the satire going on in this film. Most young people do not know what news was like before FOX and CNN so to them the much of the humor of this film would be completely missed. If you are older you would get the references. Also many there are lots of racial jokes in this film and Americans have become so PC and uptight that these jokes would make them feel uncomfortable. People can handle black men as blood thirsty gangsters...there is no discomfort in that. But RACIAL JOKES.....now the line has been crossed. The exact same thing happened to Robert Downy Jr. in Tropical Thunder. People thought he was being too insensitive.....didn't seem to hurt his career. I actually thought this one was better than the first but it was also far more satirical than the first. Where the first movie was mocking anchormen this one mocks then entire television news organization. I think this is one of Ferrel's better films but I also think many did not understand it. For example if you have never heard of the organization called Lighthouse for the Blind, one joke will be missed and may even seem but plain goofy. Overall I would say Ferrel aimed too high. In our current society, humor has to sink to the lowest of the low for it to be viewed as funny which is why the lowest form of all humor, slapstick, is the main ingredient of most popular "comedies" these days......that mixed with an element of self loathing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was one of the funniest movies I can remember in recent history. Steve Carrel was really awkward unfortunately because I usually really like him. But aside from that, it was sidesplitting funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Enigma! Strangely Great, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can you say about the Anchorman 2? What can you say about the first one? For some reason it is an incredible hit that noone could explain why. It is a marvel why. Awesome in every way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2122 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.