Customer Reviews


2,841 Reviews
5 star:
 (428)
4 star:
 (360)
3 star:
 (445)
2 star:
 (524)
1 star:
 (1,084)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 171 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a massive riot but consistently and thoroughly absurd for the full two hours
Firstly: No spoilers here. That would be pretty inconsiderate.

I don't think there is any single moment in this movie that people will completely lose it over but for two hours the movie quietly pounds away in absurdity. I watched this in a fairly full theatre of college kids and there was a consistent level of positive reaction. About 80% of the attempted...
Published 13 months ago by Rob Slaven

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some sequels shouldn't even be considered...
...let alone be allowed to see the light of day.

Do yourself a favor: if you consider watching this piece of humorless dreck, consider the endless alternative ways to spend the 119 minutes of your life you will invest. Because no matter how young you are or how old you might become, there will come a time when you will want those two hours back. And when it...
Published 4 months ago by Long-Suffering Technology Consumer


‹ Previous | 1 2285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some sequels shouldn't even be considered..., September 21, 2014
...let alone be allowed to see the light of day.

Do yourself a favor: if you consider watching this piece of humorless dreck, consider the endless alternative ways to spend the 119 minutes of your life you will invest. Because no matter how young you are or how old you might become, there will come a time when you will want those two hours back. And when it comes, you will remember the time you sat in front of this wire-to-wire disaster of a movie with deep regret.

Few movie watchers are neutral on Will Ferrell. Usually I find his presence in a movie to yield enough self-deprecating and physically charged humor to result in a moderately entertaining movie experience. The original Anchorman movie effectively skewered the topics it took on (in a big wrapper of slapstick), and was funny enough to entice me to watch the sequel. Big mistake. This movie contains less than 10 minutes of legitimately humorous content; the rest is sheer pain as the unfunny bits linger too long and fall utterly flat.

It's the start of the 80s: Ron's old San Diego newsroom gang is recruited for the overnight shift at a newly launched 24/7 news channel, and hilarity fails to ensue. The few bright spots center on the growth of cable news and the popular iconography that results (car chases, obsession with celebrity crime, overdone graphics and utter lack of concern for facts).

The balance of this movie consists of back stories that that are variously sophomoric and crude. Anchorman 2 squandered an opportunity to spotlight many things in funny ways. Instead it bungled every effort as comic explorations of race, relationships, ratings, disability (yeah, really) repeatedly fail.

Anchorman 2 ends with an incomprehensible battle scene populated with celebrity cameos, but by then the damage is done. The principals in this have been going through the motions for nearly two hours already, and these drop-ins appear to be doing the same.

If somebody you care about suggests watching this: run far away as quickly as you can, and re-evaluate your opinion of them...because this movie is that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


124 of 171 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a massive riot but consistently and thoroughly absurd for the full two hours, December 20, 2013
Firstly: No spoilers here. That would be pretty inconsiderate.

I don't think there is any single moment in this movie that people will completely lose it over but for two hours the movie quietly pounds away in absurdity. I watched this in a fairly full theatre of college kids and there was a consistent level of positive reaction. About 80% of the attempted humor got a laugh and that's not a bad based on recent experience.

Part of the joy of this movie is that it has so many threads of story to appeal to so many. The older set will enjoy the wonderfully archaic fashion (it made me want to find some of those delightful polyester pattern shirts) and numerous period references, though some of these seem anachronistic given the movie is set in 1980.

At times the film echos Zoolander as macho professional archetypes square off in hopelessly absurd duels for dominance of the stage. The film's closing melee is star-studded and from a story perspective, somewhat of a letdown, but I was too busy trying to figure out all the cameos to realize that until much later. My primary observation from that scene is to note that a lot of famous people are starting to look really old. Yow.

Lastly, the thing that really sticks out for me about this movie is that like all comedies, it goes through that mandatory dramatic shift about 2/3 of the way through but Anchorman 2 somehow survives and continues to be funny. Perhaps that's because the movie's poignant moments aren't all that poignant but nevertheless, the movie manages to deliver laughs even after the usual serious interludes.

Oh, and if you do happen to sit through the movie's massive credits, there is a brief additional scene. It's not worth missing your dinner reservations for but it is there for the intrepid and the absurdly patient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hopefully the last installment, January 7, 2015
Comedies are beginning to struggle to be creative and orginal.. I could easily entertain myself more on you tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most young people do not know what news was like before FOX and CNN so to them the much ..., October 11, 2014
To understand comedy, you have to get the references. I think many did not understand the satire going on in this film. Most young people do not know what news was like before FOX and CNN so to them the much of the humor of this film would be completely missed. If you are older you would get the references. Also many there are lots of racial jokes in this film and Americans have become so PC and uptight that these jokes would make them feel uncomfortable. People can handle black men as blood thirsty gangsters...there is no discomfort in that. But RACIAL JOKES.....now the line has been crossed. The exact same thing happened to Robert Downy Jr. in Tropical Thunder. People thought he was being too insensitive.....didn't seem to hurt his career. I actually thought this one was better than the first but it was also far more satirical than the first. Where the first movie was mocking anchormen this one mocks then entire television news organization. I think this is one of Ferrel's better films but I also think many did not understand it. For example if you have never heard of the organization called Lighthouse for the Blind, one joke will be missed and may even seem but plain goofy. Overall I would say Ferrel aimed too high. In our current society, humor has to sink to the lowest of the low for it to be viewed as funny which is why the lowest form of all humor, slapstick, is the main ingredient of most popular "comedies" these days......that mixed with an element of self loathing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why?, January 10, 2015
Why did they make a second one? Worst movie I have ever seen. And I have seen bad ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eh!, April 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Saw these actors on Jon Stewart and they were a riot, I thought I have to see that movie. Missed it in the theatres, so I purchased it on Amazon, despite the mixed reviews. My advice, if you have to see it, rent it, don't buy it! I should have heeded the 3 star reviews and just rented this. There were only a few times where I actually laughed while watching this film. I was disappointed. I actually had a hard time staying focused on it - it just didn't do a good job of pulling me in.

So rent it first, and if it fits your fancy, then buy it. But it wasn't the right choice for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, terrible movie, January 4, 2015
Terrible, terrible movie. Stupid and unfunny. Jokes were not clever, Steve Carell saying random things was barely funny the first time. The attempt at satire of 24 hour news channels was simplistic and lacked teeth. I'm glad I got to see this movie on Amazon Prime, as the thought of my money going directly to the folks that made this movie would be more than I could bare to live with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Annoyance Continues........, May 25, 2014
One of the stranger anomalies to life is how this pathetically annoying jack@ss can continue to find a studio to fund his films. High up in their ivory towers these cinematic experts don't read Forbes Magazine? In recent years Ferrell has claimed the top spot on Forbes "Most Overpaid Actors" list 2 times.

They do a straight forward ratio of actor salary vs. box office take. For every dollar Ferrell earns in salary his movies earn $ 3.29. One article compared this to Shia LeBouf whose movies return $ 160.00 for every dollar he is salaried. I know that this is not exactly a fair comparison. Ferrell is working in comedy where LeBouf has had the benefit of a couple massive summer sci-fi movies. So I decided to check further.

Two years ago IMDB (cthejtheizzo - 29 Mar 2012) came out with its "50 Highest Grossing Comedy Films of All Time". One way to look at this list is to acknowledge that it did have 3 Ferrell films (#13 - "Elf", #23 - "Talledega Nights" & #44 - "Blades of Glory") on it. Another way to look at it is that it ONLY had 3 Ferrell films on in.

He was beaten out by other top notch comedians like Robert De Niro who had four films listed. Even more telling was those films (of comparable release dates) that came in before his..."Austin Powers" before "Elf"..."Wild Hogs" before "Taladega Nights"...."Paul Blart: Mall Cop" way before "Blades of Glory".

Nationally syndicated columnist Liz Braun opinioned: "Ferrell's biggest claim to fame, as far as we can make out, is that unlike other "funny" people, he doesn't even try to hide his contempt for you." She goes on to mention how Ferrell "seems to have perfected the art of not being funny". I guess one consolation for Ferrell is that in 2013 Adam Sandler took over his top spot at Forbes Magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment for a true Anchorman fan, January 9, 2015
By 
A.D. (Pittsburgh, PA US) - See all my reviews
I was embarrassed to watch this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPER CREEPY AND UNORTHODOX, January 15, 2014
Ron (Will Ferrell) gets terminated from his job and leaves his wife. He is offered a job from upstart GNN 24 hour news. He assembles his news team etc. etc. etc. The plot is not important. The film is fairly simple and it is more like a connection of skits and one liners than a real situation comedy. You could pretty much start watching the movie at any time and it wouldn't matter. The humor, while crude at times, was original and funny. Sure there were a few scenes I would have cut, the condom selection and racist dinner, but there were too many scenes which had me laughing out loud. Excellent support cast.

Some lines from the film:

"Bats: Chicken of the cave."
"He wanted to donate his organs before he died."
"Remember ten years from now..."
"He bottle fed and raised a shark..."

This is high caliber low brow humor. Crude and racial at times.

Parental Guide: 2 F-bombs. No nudity. Brief comical sex scene. Crude sexual talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.