Customer Reviews


1,181 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (128)
3 star:
 (167)
2 star:
 (218)
1 star:
 (487)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a massive riot but consistently and thoroughly absurd for the full two hours
Firstly: No spoilers here. That would be pretty inconsiderate.

I don't think there is any single moment in this movie that people will completely lose it over but for two hours the movie quietly pounds away in absurdity. I watched this in a fairly full theatre of college kids and there was a consistent level of positive reaction. About 80% of the attempted...
Published 9 months ago by Rob Slaven

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eh!
Saw these actors on Jon Stewart and they were a riot, I thought I have to see that movie. Missed it in the theatres, so I purchased it on Amazon, despite the mixed reviews. My advice, if you have to see it, rent it, don't buy it! I should have heeded the 3 star reviews and just rented this. There were only a few times where I actually laughed while watching this film...
Published 5 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2119 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a massive riot but consistently and thoroughly absurd for the full two hours, December 20, 2013
Firstly: No spoilers here. That would be pretty inconsiderate.

I don't think there is any single moment in this movie that people will completely lose it over but for two hours the movie quietly pounds away in absurdity. I watched this in a fairly full theatre of college kids and there was a consistent level of positive reaction. About 80% of the attempted humor got a laugh and that's not a bad based on recent experience.

Part of the joy of this movie is that it has so many threads of story to appeal to so many. The older set will enjoy the wonderfully archaic fashion (it made me want to find some of those delightful polyester pattern shirts) and numerous period references, though some of these seem anachronistic given the movie is set in 1980.

At times the film echos Zoolander as macho professional archetypes square off in hopelessly absurd duels for dominance of the stage. The film's closing melee is star-studded and from a story perspective, somewhat of a letdown, but I was too busy trying to figure out all the cameos to realize that until much later. My primary observation from that scene is to note that a lot of famous people are starting to look really old. Yow.

Lastly, the thing that really sticks out for me about this movie is that like all comedies, it goes through that mandatory dramatic shift about 2/3 of the way through but Anchorman 2 somehow survives and continues to be funny. Perhaps that's because the movie's poignant moments aren't all that poignant but nevertheless, the movie manages to deliver laughs even after the usual serious interludes.

Oh, and if you do happen to sit through the movie's massive credits, there is a brief additional scene. It's not worth missing your dinner reservations for but it is there for the intrepid and the absurdly patient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eh!, April 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Saw these actors on Jon Stewart and they were a riot, I thought I have to see that movie. Missed it in the theatres, so I purchased it on Amazon, despite the mixed reviews. My advice, if you have to see it, rent it, don't buy it! I should have heeded the 3 star reviews and just rented this. There were only a few times where I actually laughed while watching this film. I was disappointed. I actually had a hard time staying focused on it - it just didn't do a good job of pulling me in.

So rent it first, and if it fits your fancy, then buy it. But it wasn't the right choice for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Annoyance Continues.........., May 25, 2014
One of the stranger anomalies to life is how this pathetically annoying jack@ss can continue to find a studio to fund his films. High up in their ivory towers these cinematic experts don't read Forbes Magazine? In recent years Ferrell has claimed the top spot on Forbes "Most Overpaid Actors" list 2 times.

They do a straight forward ratio of actor salary vs. box office take. For every dollar Ferrell earns in salary his movies earn $ 3.29. One article compared this to Shia LeBouf whose movies return $ 160.00 for every dollar he is salaried. I know that this is not exactly a fair comparison. Ferrell is working in comedy where LeBouf has had the benefit of a couple massive summer sci-fi movies. So I decided to check further.

Two years ago IMDB (cthejtheizzo - 29 Mar 2012) came out with its "50 Highest Grossing Comedy Films of All Time". One way to look at this list is to acknowledge that it did have 3 Ferrell films (#13 - "Elf", #23 - "Talledega Nights" & #44 - "Blades of Glory") on it. Another way to look at it is that it ONLY had 3 Ferrell films on in.

He was beaten out by other top notch comedians like Robert De Niro who had four films listed. Even more telling was those films (of comparable release dates) that came in before his..."Austin Powers" before "Elf"..."Wild Hogs" before "Taladega Nights"...."Paul Blart: Mall Cop" way before "Blades of Glory".

Nationally syndicated columnist Liz Braun opinioned: "Ferrell's biggest claim to fame, as far as we can make out, is that unlike other "funny" people, he doesn't even try to hide his contempt for you." She goes on to mention how Ferrell "seems to have perfected the art of not being funny". I guess one consolation for Ferrell is that in 2013 Adam Sandler took over his top spot at Forbes Magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A middling disappointment., April 9, 2014
By 
Part of the reason that ANCHORMAN 2: THE LEGEND CONTINUES is so bad is because Anchorman: The Legend Of Ron Burgundy is so damn good. Anchorman 1's quirky characters, offbeat performances and quotable dialogue all added up to one classy, rich mahogany-smelling success. Sadly all that is missing in this rote and middling, albeit sometimes-funny sequel.

The entire cast returns, with some fine new additions. Whenever the movie succeeds, it does so on the strengths of its talented cast. The combined chemistry and comedic talents of Will Ferrell, Paul Rudd, David Koechner, and especially Steve Carrell (shouldering the brunt of the best laughs) are almost enough to make the movie work. Almost. The new additions do well; a smarmy James Marsden, an offbeat Kristen Wiig, and of course the mandatory slew of awesome cameos in the film's best scene - a direct ripoff of the news team brawl of the first film, this time featuring just about everyone from Jim Carrey to Liam Neeson.

Anchorman 2 does best when it follows in the steps of it's predecessor, and that's a little sad. But when the film gives Ron Burgundy classy dialogue to say, or makes Brick freak out at his own funeral, and especially sees a half-dozen rival news teams brawl with pitchforks and minotaurs...it's almost enough to overcome the rote script, forgettable laughs, and lack of energy.

But in the end, I found Anchorman 2 to be pleasantly diverting, and an amusing way to spend an hour and a half of my time. While not nearly up to the standards set by its predecessor, this is a middling comedy sequel that sometimes hits the mark. Mildly recommended. My rating? 3 suits that make Sinatra look like a hobo out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Some sequels shouldn't even be considered..., September 21, 2014
...let alone be allowed to see the light of day.

Do yourself a favor: if you consider watching this piece of humorless dreck, consider the endless alternative ways to spend the 119 minutes of your life you will invest. Because no matter how young you are or how old you might become, there will come a time when you want those two hours back. And when it comes, you will remember the time you sat in front of this wire-to-wire disaster of a movie with deep regret.

Few movie watchers are neutral on Will Ferrell. Usually I find his presence in a movie to yield enough self-deprecating and physically charged humor to result in a moderately entertaining movie experience. The original Anchorman movie effectively skewered the topics it took on (in a big wrapper of slapstick), and was funny enough to entice me to watch the sequel. Big mistake. This movie contains less than 10 minutes of legitimately humorous content; the rest is sheer pain as the unfunny bits linger too long and fall utterly flat.

It's the start of the 80s: Ron's old San Diego newsroom gang is recruited for the overnight shift at a newly launched 24/7 news channel, and hilarity fails to ensue. The few bright spots center on the growth of cable news and the popular iconography that results (car chases, obsession with celebrity crime, overdone graphics and utter lack of concern for facts).

The balance of this movie consists of idiotic back stories that could serve to spotlight many things in funny ways. Instead it bungles every effort as comic explorations of race, relationships, ratings, disability (yeah, really) repeatedly fail.

Anchorman 2 ends with an incomprehensible battle scene populated with celebrity cameos, but by then the damage is done. The principals in this have been going through the motions for nearly two hours already, and these drop ins appear to be doing the same.

If somebody you care about suggests this: do yourself and that person a favor: run away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was one of the funniest movies I can remember in recent history. Steve Carrel was really awkward unfortunately because I usually really like him. But aside from that, it was sidesplitting funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Enigma! Strangely Great, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can you say about the Anchorman 2? What can you say about the first one? For some reason it is an incredible hit that noone could explain why. It is a marvel why. Awesome in every way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SUPER CREEPY AND UNORTHODOX,, January 15, 2014
Ron (Will Ferrell) gets terminated from his job and leaves his wife. He is offered a job from upstart GNN 24 hour news. He assembles his news team etc. etc. etc. The plot is not important. The film is fairly simple and it is more like a connection of skits and one liners than a real situation comedy. You could pretty much start watching the movie at any time and it wouldn't matter. The humor, while crude at times, was original and funny. Sure there were a few scenes I would have cut, the condom selection and racist dinner, but there were too many scenes which had me laughing out loud. Excellent support cast.

Some lines from the film:

"Bats: Chicken of the cave."
"He wanted to donate his organs before he died."
"Remember ten years from now..."
"He bottle fed and raised a shark..."

This is high caliber low brow humor. Crude and racial at times.

Parental Guide: 2 F-bombs. No nudity. Brief comical sex scene. Crude sexual talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slap stick bore, August 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It started off like I thought it would - slap stick comedy. However, half way through it just took a horrible turn to just plain stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars does not sink like an anchor, August 23, 2014
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With all the hyped appearance by Will Ferrell as Ron Burgundy (he even showed up on curling on TSN here in Canada) I thought no way this movie will match the first one and just looks like it'll be a retread of the same jokes. It is and it isn't. It's pretty funny. They had me right from when Burgundy says, "Who the hell is Julius Caesar? You know I don't follow the NBA!" Definitely some classic lines throughout.

Throw in Brick's love affair with Kristen Wiig's character plus gratuitous Jim "Sorry, eh" Carrey, Liam Neeson, Harrison Ford, Sasha Borat Cohen, Will Smith, Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, John C. Reilly as the Ghost of Stonewall Jackson (don't ask), Kanye West and Vince Vaughn, and I could tolerate the zero extras on the DVD. Yep, zip--it's just the movie itself although there is some excellent shark vs. dog fu.

Plenty of laughs and check out Ferrell's own kids in the Sea World scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2119 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.