Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Discovery channel masterpiece
Produced by Discovery channel, it is over 8 1/2 hours of a mind-blowing documentary on the pharoahs of Egypt. You are shown the discoveries of the Kings and Queens and the painstaking trouble they take to identify the mummies. They show the out-of-the-way inscriptions that spell out a detailed look at everyday life, as well as the secret personal lives of these...
Published on August 27, 2009 by Harry W. Bellaire

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Infotainment DVDs
"Ancient Egypt Unearthed" includes 5 episodes of "Egypt Uncovered" on Disc 1 and 4 miscellaneous episodes on Disc 2.

Disc 1 is a 1998 John Gwyn Production for S4C in association with Discovery Channel and La Cinquième comprising the following episodes:

* Chaos and Kings
* Pyramid: The Resurrection Machine
* Age of Gold
* Deities...
Published 2 months ago by Diotima


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Discovery channel masterpiece, August 27, 2009
By 
Harry W. Bellaire (Windsor, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD)
Produced by Discovery channel, it is over 8 1/2 hours of a mind-blowing documentary on the pharoahs of Egypt. You are shown the discoveries of the Kings and Queens and the painstaking trouble they take to identify the mummies. They show the out-of-the-way inscriptions that spell out a detailed look at everyday life, as well as the secret personal lives of these pharoahs. From the Egyptian museum, and the Giza pyramids, to Luxor and the Valley of the Kings, and on to the Aswan quarries, they cover everything in exquisite detail, and with the best professionals in their fields to support their findings. You could watch it 5 times and see something new each time. On the 1-5 scale, I would have to rate this video a 7. In a word -- FANTASTIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Egypt Unearthed, September 28, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD)
Searched for good information on Egypt for years and this is by far the best I've come across. Was at first just going to buy Egypt Uncovered until I came across this Dvd set and was pleasently surprised to find it contained all of Egypt Uncovered as well as much more. And at only a fraction of the price!! Over eight hours of information on two Dvd's. Highly recommend this set to anyone interested in Ancient Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly interesting, September 18, 2009
This review is from: Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD)
To dismiss Ancient Egypt Unearthed as simply an educational video for kids would be foolish and shortsighted. Not only is it extremely well produced, it's also incredibly interesting and brilliantly edited, making it nearly impossible to stop watching it once you begin. When it comes to programs and information on Egypt, this history of the pyramids, tombs, and pharaohs, it would be hard to find a title that does it better than this one.

Experts at this sort of production, this series of documentaries from the Discovery Channel features famed archaeologist Dr. Zahi Hawass as he "digs deep to uncover new clues regarding some of ancient Egypt's greatest mysteries." Of course they cover the basics- pyramids, pharaohs, and the famed Cleopatra, Nefertiti, etc.- but they also take it a step further, exploring things like Egypt's extraordinary military strength, the reason for their fast decline as a society, and the role that powerful women played in the country's rule.

The footage is stunning, and includes looks into tombs that have never before been explored, as well as detailed examinations of pyramids and other archeological and architectural wonders. The series comprises five complete Discovery programs: Egypt Uncovered, Egypt's Ten Greatest Discoveries, Secret's of Egypt's Lost Queen, Why Ancient Egypt Fell, and Women Pharaohs. This is truly a thorough look at the rise and fall of this incredible civilization.

Each episode features an in-depth look at one aspect of ancient Egyptian culture, exploring it in a way that's both fascinating and educational. On their own, each episode is interesting; together the series is incredible.

Although children and young adults will surely love this series, it's most certainly not just for kids; anyone with an interest in history, ancient civilizations, world politics, archeology, architecture, or world societies would certainly enjoy this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars information and more information, August 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD)
we enjoyed this dvd and learned so very much. have to admit there were times we both fell asleep. this dvd has to be watched in segments to stay awake. it's not that it's boring, but the sameness of the constant music put us to sleep. it covers so many areas of ancient egypt with great photos and detalied information. there are several divisions in the set and it is easy to separate them and watch them at different times. don't anticipate watching this entire production in one setting. egypt has such an interesting history and an amazing culture and should be appreciated. enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Infotainment DVDs, October 21, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD)
"Ancient Egypt Unearthed" includes 5 episodes of "Egypt Uncovered" on Disc 1 and 4 miscellaneous episodes on Disc 2.

Disc 1 is a 1998 John Gwyn Production for S4C in association with Discovery Channel and La Cinquième comprising the following episodes:

* Chaos and Kings
* Pyramid: The Resurrection Machine
* Age of Gold
* Deities and Demons
* Mummies: Into the Afterlife

These 5 episodes are said to be based on the book "Egypt Uncovered" (ISBN 0714119113 hc 1998 British Museum Press) - aka "Egypt" (ISBN 978-1556708183 hc 1998 Stewart, Tabori & Chang) - by Vivian Davies & Renée Friedman. According to the Amazon.com Review, this book was published "to coincide with a five-part series on the Discovery Channel ... Written for general readers ...". In other words, the book is a TV documentary tie-in.

The narrator is Philip Madoc (1934-2012), a Welsh born RADA trained actor and linguist.

Disc 1 is the same as "Egypt Uncovered" released by Kultur in 2010. The Kultur release, however, was made for obsolete cathode tube TVs with an aspect ratio of only 1.33:1.

Disc 2 comprises the following 4 episodes:

* Egypt's Ten Greatest Discoveries (with Zahi Hawass and 10 other talking heads) features:
~ Pharaoh Khufu's Boat
~ The Unfinished Obelisk Quarry
~ Tombs of the Pyramid Workers
~ Tutankhamun's Treasure
~ The Town of the Tomb Builders
~ The Tomb of Pharaoh Seti I
~ The Lost Temple of Akhmin
~ The Great Temple of Abu Simbel
~ Secret Mummy Cave
~ Valley of the Golden Mummies
- produced by Atlantic Productions for Science Channel | Discovery Channel 2007
- narrated by the US/Canadian actor Demetri Goritsas

* Secrets of Egypt's Lost Queen [i.e. Hatshepsut] (with Zahi Hawass)
- a Brando Quilici Production for Discovery Channel 2007
- narrated by Harry Prichet

* Why Ancient Egypt Fell (without Zahi Hawass)
- an IWC Media Production for Discovery Channel 2008
- narrated by Corey Johnson

* Women Pharaohs
- a Providence Pictures, Inc production for Discovery Channel 2000
- narrated by Kyra Sedgwick

All episodes - except the last - have an aspect ratio of 16 x 9.
Woman Pharaohs has an aspect ratio of 14 x 9.

I bought "Ancient Egypt Unearthed" from Amazon US in October 2014.

These DVDs are just light entertainment with the usual pictures, computer generated images and awful re-enactments typical of the genre with some cock-and-bull stories retold for the gullible.

The narrator of "Mummies: Into The Afterlife" (Disc 1) says, in all seriousness, that Mark Twain actually saw a train fireman in Egypt using mummies as fuel whereas Mark Twain himself, in "The Innocents Abroad", made no such claim and, in a footnote, wrote: "Stated to me as a fact. I only tell it as I got it. I am willing to believe it. I can believe any thing." Another spurious story - that mummy wrappings were used in the US to make butcher's paper - is also given credence.

The sun sets slowly in the west more often in these DVDs than in a host of James A. FitzPatrick TravelTalks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Egypt Unearthed, September 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD)
This History DVD was terrific and present different facts about Ancient Egypt that
I was not aware of. I would recommend this to anyone interested in ancient history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good documentary series until Hawass enters the scene, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD)
A very good documentary series until Hawass enters the scene. He's fake and forces his opinions on the events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't recommend buying this, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD)
DVD fails half way through each episode. I don't recommend buying this. I didn't pay enough to warrant returning it. It will just hit the trash. Too bad, I was looking forward to the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good documentary on Egypt, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD)
Everything you want to know about Egypt from its history, culture and key pharaohs can be found in this DVD set. I have a large collection of DVD's on Egypt and I have found this DVD set to be one the key educational documentary films out on the market today. The Discovery channel has put together a very good informative piece on such key subjects as Queen Hatshepsut, the pyramids, various tombs and pharaohs. Many new discoveries are discussed in detail with commentary from well known Egyptian and author Dr Zahi Hawass. I recommend this DVD for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding good deal!, January 2, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD)
Fantastic scientists, great footage, well edited - the five hour series itself is amazing. The second disc is also incredibly valuable! I am planning a trip to Egypt and both of these discs turned my head. They cover some of the best new discoveries not in my guidebooks or other books I have been reading. Very happy to see this entire series - and what an unbeatable price! Should be part of every family's library. Kids will also love it. It's fresh and lively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ancient Egypt Unearthed
Ancient Egypt Unearthed by Discovery Ancient Egypt Unearthed (DVD - 2009)
$29.98 $12.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.