Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely done!
I received this book as a gift, and what a great gift! Rev. Siuda has provided a much needed introduction to prayer for followers of Kemetic traditions. The book is well researched and provides an excellent bibliography for those interested in further study.

The book starts with the how and why of prayer. It then goes into setting up the personal shrine and...
Published on August 10, 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Lacks depth
I thought the prayers lacked substance, depth and depth for religious practice. However, this book can be used for one to have guidance to pen ones own prayers.
Published 23 days ago by Towana Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely done!, August 10, 2009
This review is from: The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook (Paperback)
I received this book as a gift, and what a great gift! Rev. Siuda has provided a much needed introduction to prayer for followers of Kemetic traditions. The book is well researched and provides an excellent bibliography for those interested in further study.

The book starts with the how and why of prayer. It then goes into setting up the personal shrine and the Kemetic Orthodox Ritual of the Senut, or daily rite. Throughout the rest of the book, various deities are explored and prayers presented. Prayers and rituals are also provided for many situations, such as family prayers, prayers for the dead, and protection.

All in all, this book will be very helpful to those who wish to delve into the realm of Kemetic Orthodoxy, those who want a closer connection with the gods and goddesses of Ancient Egypt, and for those who are simply curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book!, August 10, 2009
This review is from: The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook (Paperback)
This is a very good book to read and learn from. It gives great insight into the how's and why's of Kemetic Orthodoxy. Very explicit information on Rituals, the Gods and Goddesses names and various prayers for everyday and holiday use. Includes a festival calendar and other sources of information. Very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, as long as you understand what you're getting, March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook (Paperback)
The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook is a book associated with Kemetic Orthodoxy. For example, the book contains KO's Senut rite and some of the info about many of the Netjeru (ie: Egyptian gods) has a definite KO slant to it.

That said, this is the first book I got when I started to practice ancient Egyptian religion and I was not, and am not, a member of Kemetic Orthodoxy. For beginners who are overwhelmed with the rites in Richard Reidy's Eternal Egypt book, the Senut rite presented in the Prayerbook is tantalizingly doable. For those who have never prayed to gods before, the small prayers to get started with are quite welcome.

As I've progressed in my practice, I've found myself using the Prayerbook a lot less. I prefer to write my own prayers and I've since moved onto Reidy's rites. I still often come to the book looking for prayers off of which to build my own, but I have to admit, the selection isn't very welcoming for those of us who worship less popular gods (like myself). You won't find prayers for lesser known Netjeru like Hatmehit or Wenut. There are prayers for more well known Netjeru, however: Ra, Bast, Het-Heru, Set, etc.

If you're a beginner, can't seem to grok Reidy's material, and are desperate for a ritual outline to use, then you might consider the Prayerbook. If you'd like a small collection of prayers to use on the fly, or as inspiration for your own, you might consider the Prayerbook. For non-Kemetic Orthodox further along their path, the Prayerbook will probably have limited usefulness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, September 9, 2009
By 
C. Behanna (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook (Paperback)
My boyfriend bought this for me as a present and I couldn't be more thrilled with it.

While this work is admittedly geared towards members of the Kemetic Orthodoxy, it is a wonderful resource for anyone practicing or interested in the modern religious practices of Ancient Kemet (Egypt).

It is chock-full of prayers that are coupled with a quick rundown of any given deity's history and relevance in Ancient Kemet society. I have found these tidbits priceless in my quest to learn more about Kemetic deities.

In addition to all of that, Rev. Siuda provides a very handy index that gives the Kemetic equivalence to the Greek and Roman names which have become so popular in our own society. It even has the pronunciation for each Kemetic name, and boy those can be hard to pronounce sometimes!

All in all, this is a wonderful work that should be on the shelves of every Kemetic practitioner. I haven't even explained a quarter of the information contained in this book, you'll just have to get it yourself! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable and unique compendium, March 11, 2013
This review is from: The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook (Paperback)
The author of this book states that "some of the ancient Egyptian religion was never lost, and survives today not only inside and outside of Egypt as a part of continuing practice and influence in other religious traditions." But it also has survived by inhabiting the soul of Tamara Siuda. As a result it also lives between the covers of this book.

The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook is a valuable compendium of information, verbal art, and religious practice, afforded us by a thorough scholar who also understands Ancient Egyptian Religion from the inside and not merely as an academic pursuit. When she writes her versions of these ancient invocations and prayers, she not only is offering us an appreciation of ancient Egyptian religious culture, she is inviting the reader to engage the ancient Egyptian Neter or deities directly. This is a wonderful first look at the liturgy of ancient Egyptian religion and its modern revival. It is one of better titles available and it is written by a person who is both a professional egyptologist and a religious practitioner.

If there is one complaint I can offer, it is that this does not provide an accessible text (phonetic) of the original Egyptian text of these songs and prayers. Other than that, I can find little to critique here, and a lot to recommend this book to anyome with more than a passing interest.

Eoghan Ballard

The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and Insightful Book, August 13, 2009
This review is from: The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook (Paperback)
While I haven't actually been able to buy this book yet, I have had the chance to skim through a friend's copy and it is quite enjoyable.

Laid out in clearly delineated sections (Introduction to prayer, the Ritual of Senut, blurbs and prayers to gods and goddesses of the faith, a Kemetic Orthodox festival calendar, as well as many other things). This book is a wonderful sidekick to anyone who practices Kemetic Orthodoxy; yet it is also a very good book for those who want to know what the people of Kemetic Orthodox follower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, September 25, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook (Paperback)
The Egyptian Prayer Book is a wonderful book! I do not worship the author as I admit some do, but this book is great for anyone whose beliefs are at all Kemetic. You do not have to be a Kemetic Orthodox to truly appreciate this book. In fact, just being interested in the Ancient Egyptian practices is really enough a reason to buy this. It is not a tome, but a medium sized book and everything is straightforward. Prayers are all direct translation from ancient sources. I highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in the Kemetic faith!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook (Paperback)
I own this book and do NOT belong to the orthodoxy due to my own UPG (Universal Personal Gnosis). I can honestly say that this book has many beautiful invocations, and prayers. I especially like that this book recognizes Set. It also contains a sound recipe on Natron and Kyphi. I was wildly impressed that Ms.Siuda gave a break down of the Senut ritual for personal daily devotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Kemeticism, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook (Paperback)
Comprehensive instruction for those seeking to incorporate the Kemetic faith into their lives. As an both Egyptologist and a practitioner, Rev. Siuda has the insight to be able to merge the ancient ways into a simple, fulfilling and modern practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR SERIOUS STUDENT, March 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook (Paperback)
THIS BOOK IS UTTERLY FANTASTIC AND A MUST HAVE FOR BOTH SERIOUS STUDENT OF EGYPTOLOGY AND FOR ANYONE INTERESTED IN EGYPTIAN MAGICKAL/RELIGIOUS SYSTEMS. THE INVOCATIONS ARE BREATH TAKING AND THE AUTHOR IS VERY WELL VERSED IN ACADEMIC RESEARCH ON THIS TOPIC. AFTER 20 YEARS OF STUDYING EGYPTOLOGY, THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE SEEN. I HAVE HEARD THE AUTHOR SPEAK RECENTLY, AND SHE IS ONE FANTASTIC PERSON AS WELL ON EVERY LEVEL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook
The Ancient Egyptian Prayerbook by Tamara L. Siuda (Paperback - July 14, 2009)
$19.95 $18.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.