Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb overview of Greek culture
Garland does an outstanding job of presenting a readable, easily understandable overview of daily life and culture among the ancient Greeks. His book destroys a number of myths about ancient Greece, and avoids the trap of becoming too closely engaged with the subject. He remains objective throughout, presenting neither positive nor negative spin on Greek lifestyle, and...
Published on July 8, 2007 by E. Terry

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat boring.
I wouldn't really recommend this book to anyone that doesn't have to read it. It is somewhat boring and just repeats the information learned in the classroom.
Published 22 months ago by cecibowen1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb overview of Greek culture, July 8, 2007
Garland does an outstanding job of presenting a readable, easily understandable overview of daily life and culture among the ancient Greeks. His book destroys a number of myths about ancient Greece, and avoids the trap of becoming too closely engaged with the subject. He remains objective throughout, presenting neither positive nor negative spin on Greek lifestyle, and avoiding political bias. Garland clearly has no axe to grind. Furthermore, he presents the material in a way that modern readers can understand; he places the subject matter in the context of the times, but does not assume detailed knowledge of Greek culture or history by the reader. His writing is a bit dry at times, but that's unavoidable when presenting detailed descriptions of lifestyle and culture.

I do wish the publisher would release another print run at a more reasonable price. $55 is unreasonable for any book. I suggest buying it used.

In spite of the high price, I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the way the ancient Greeks thought and acted. It has definitely improved my understanding of Greek history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great work but opinions needed to be left out., June 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daily Life of the Ancient Greeks (The Daily Life Through History Series) (Greenwood Press Daily Life Through History) (Paperback)
I love this book, the detail was great and he was honest about how they lived instead of the romanticized view we have of them. It showed the pitfalls of their society, for instance their view toward women. My problem with this book was the author's opinion toward the Gods. He would often mention the Gods spheres of influence and then say how they didn't live up to the ideal. One example that comes to mind is the mention of Zeus as the God of justice and then immediately after says "though he was far from consistent in his pursuit of that aim. Moreover, his own behavior fell lamentably short of setting a standard of morality for human beings." (pg. 135) My problem with these statements is the author fails to differentiate between the Gods of the myth, the stories told to entertain and the Theoi (Gods) of the religious cults who had a very different personality. I also thought an inclusion of Plato and his views of the Gods and the myths would have been helpful. Overall though the book was a great read with the right amount of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings ancient history down to earth., May 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daily Life of the Ancient Greeks (The Daily Life Through History Series) (Greenwood Press Daily Life Through History) (Paperback)
I've had an interest in the origins of science, drama, democracy, law, and psychology, all focused on classical Greece. This gives an important different perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific resource, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daily Life of the Ancient Greeks (The Daily Life Through History Series) (Greenwood Press Daily Life Through History) (Paperback)
This is almost exactly what I was looking for: A readable and informative overview of the basic areas of daily life in Ancient Greece. It covers everything from philosophy and politics, to life in the home, to religion, medicine and science. My only complaint is that it didn't come with enough pictures, and when the author is trying to describe the significance of certain artwork on pottery or the details of a specific example of architecture, a picture would have been much more effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daily life of the Ancient Greeks, December 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought this book wae great. I also think the author is great. I would recomend it to my friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ordinary Greek, June 21, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daily Life of the Ancient Greeks (The Daily Life Through History Series) (Greenwood Press Daily Life Through History) (Paperback)
This book shows us the life of ordinary Greeks, it enables us to see how like and yet how different we are from them. It is a great antidote to the Classical plays and Legends with which are familiar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Democracy, a Greek myth, June 2, 2014
This review is from: Daily Life of the Ancient Greeks (The Daily Life Through History Series) (Greenwood Press Daily Life Through History) (Paperback)
As a woman, I’m glad I didn’t live in ancient Greece. Its people were dirty, ignorant heathens. Ancient Egypt, Israel, and Rome were all better cultures in some ways. I feel like Athenian democracy is a myth and a joke.

Except that it had no real literature survey (Homer, Plato, Aristotle, playwrights, etc), this book was very well written. But I didn’t like the writer’s editorializing or his apology for slavery, in which he pushed aside Christian views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat boring., March 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Daily Life of the Ancient Greeks (The Daily Life Through History Series) (Greenwood Press Daily Life Through History) (Paperback)
I wouldn't really recommend this book to anyone that doesn't have to read it. It is somewhat boring and just repeats the information learned in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.