Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Deserve A Break
One of the complaints heard over and over again at Christmas time is that "they start playing Christmas music in November, and you're sick of it by the time Christmas gets here!" There IS a point to that, I must agree. White Christmas, Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire, Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer, Sleigh Ride, Silver Bells, and on and on. Over and over. No wonder...
Published on October 22, 2002 by Ken Roberts

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Noels Christmas CD
I don't like this CD as much as Sounds of the Season I and II, but I do like it. It has grown on me over time.
Published on July 14, 2008 by M. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Deserve A Break, October 22, 2002
This review is from: Ancient Noels (Audio CD)
One of the complaints heard over and over again at Christmas time is that "they start playing Christmas music in November, and you're sick of it by the time Christmas gets here!" There IS a point to that, I must agree. White Christmas, Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire, Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer, Sleigh Ride, Silver Bells, and on and on. Over and over. No wonder you can tire of this music so fast. Then you pull out your own Christmas cd's and what do you find? Out of the maybe ten you may own, I'm sure virtually every one has 90% of the same songs AGAIN. Maybe a couple of religious songs - Silent Night, God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen, The First Noel - are thrown in as well. But, they're the SAME SONGS once again! Every disc - every artist. Now, I love these songs as much as anyone. And, believe it or not, I love them more now than ever. That's because over the last ten years or so I've amassed a rather large collection of Old World/Victorian style Christmas music, many of which I reviewed for Amazon. Done in the traditional style, even the songs heard frequently sound refreshing.
Maggie Sansone, a wonderful hammered dulcimer musician, has put out a number of traditional Christmas cd's, one of which is called Ancient Noels. It doesn't matter that not one of the songs on this cd mentions Santa or Jingle Bells, they are still Christmas songs, the way they were heard hundreds of years ago. Unless you are a collector, I'm sure you may not recognize most, if any, of these carols, which makes listening to them even better. They're NOT the same old songs heard daily for two months straight. Take up Amazon's deal to let you give a listen to snippets of these songs. I think you'll be glad you did. My personal favorite is the medley of Gloucestershire Wassail/Tomorrow Will Be My Dancing Day/The Sussex Carol. Other highlights are Riu Riu Chiu, The Friendly Beasts, In The Bleak Midwinter, and To Us A Little Child Is Born. Actually, there is not a bad song on the disc.
If you play this in between your Johnny Mathis and Bing Crosby, I think you'll find a nice variety and change in your Holiday listening. And if you like my suggestion, check out my other reviews for Christmas Music. Artists such as Madeline MacNeal, Robin Petrie, Revels, Chieftains, Opera Lite, and others. Even when these artists do the 'tried and true' carols, you won't mind, since, in most cases, these artists play them in the traditional/Old World way that makes them seem new again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful medieval music for any time of year!, April 21, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Ancient Noels (Audio CD)
My husband and I love this CD. It's all medieval instruments (with no voices.) We bought it to play during the holidays, but since the songs are not typical "holiday" songs, we enjoy it all year long. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient It Is, August 18, 2002
This review is from: Ancient Noels (Audio CD)
Maggie Sansone covers some of the great old carols that are typically so hard to find. All medieval instrumentals, CDs like this are so necessary for an occasional withdrawal from all of the "Popular" Christmas music that we hear so often. In fact, one ends up getting hooked on this stuff, and looking for more and more of it to buy. Check out Sansone's _Sounds of the Season_ CDs, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maggie Sansone & Ensemble Galilei-elegant Christmas!, October 25, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Ancient Noels (Audio CD)
ancient carols and renaissance rhythms bring to life images of ancient holidays and the origins of Christmas. Maggie Sansone & Ensemble Galilei with special guest Bonnie Rideout take us on a wonderful journey, a world of chamber folk at is highest caliber, with intricate arrangements and a perfect blend of folk and early music instruments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars for any lover of music, January 25, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Noels (Audio CD)
Extremely well done-- a nice break from the usual Holiday music, but certainly something that can be played at any time of year. These performers combine their love of musical scholarship with engaging performances and come up winners!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional renditions for beautiful presentation, December 12, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Ancient Noels (Audio CD)
I was searching for beautiful yet ancient Christmas music. Having listened to several sample albums, I found this treasure. It is quite different: the music is truly presented. It is not just played, every part loudly to get its two-bits in. It is soooo beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Old World Christmas, December 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Noels (Audio CD)
What a delightful change from the wonderful but typical Christmas tunes we hear over and over again. This beautiful music takes one back, way back... imagine a banquet hall in a medieval castle, tapestries on the walls and damsels in the halls, a bowl of wassail and a pig roasting in the huge stone fireplace. Well, that's where the music takes my vivid imagination anyway! I love it, beautifully done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Dreams, December 9, 2012
By 
Lou D'Holczer (New York City, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ancient Noels (Audio CD)
Christmas is a time of reflection, spiritually, and thinking about loved ones past, and present. Allow yourself the pleasure of being enthralled by these lovely melodies and to be transported into a magical world of your own making. Although all of these Christmas songs, and carols are from our ancient past they somehow sound familiar, warm, and engaging. These are beautiful musical compositions from England, France, Holland, and Spain most of which eventually came to America. Maggie Sansone, Ensemble Gallei, and guests are to be praised for their excellent performance of these ancient carols, and their mastery of period instruments. Enjoy the music that our ancestors listened to, and the instruments they played, the hammered dulcimer, Celtic harp, bass viola da gamba, penny whistle, recorder, guitar, tambourine, and recorder. This truly is a sweet holiday treat no matter what "Festival of Lights" you celebrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ancient noels, December 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Noels (Audio CD)
The Ancient Noels is a serene musical experience. You are bathed in soft tones for most of the cd. It is easy to relax when listening to these olden songs. One is taken back in time. This is music of good value. Give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Music, February 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ancient Noels (Audio CD)
I had heard this album many years ago and fell in love with it but wasn't able to find it again until just recently. This music is a welcome relief for those who have heard "Jingle Bells","Silent Night" etc. just one too many times. My favorite piece is the third noel, entitled "Hoboekentanz/Schafertanz"; it's absolutely magical and, as you listen to it, you feel yourself being drawn far back in time to when this music was first created and played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ancient Noels
Ancient Noels by Ensemble Galilei (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.