Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Shop Now Sale

Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$56.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 26, 2014
I am not Jewish. But I do try to remember every day that we are all ONE, and evil action against anyone affects us all. Certainly this same artistic vehicle could have been used to decry violence and minimization of any group, but the fact remains, the Holocaust did happen and 6 million people were killed. I am keeping this book in plain view so that my children and grandchildren will not forget the unity of humanity.
0Comment25 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
It's been noted that this only focuses on the Jewish suffering of the holocaust, thus denying the subjugation of Roma, Gypsies, Gays, Quakers, Communists and the like via omittance. While this is worthy criticism, as all lives lost were terrible and suffering immense, the Jewish aspect is part of the modern identity of Jews and concentrating on this group - who were of course the majority of holocaust victims - helps look at it this dark tragedy from the eyes of a particular set of oppressed people. Aesthetically, containing one word throughout gives the impression of bland uniformity on a mass basis. It looks like a pattern until your close and realize it is a word. The repetition of "Jew" helps understand how rampant Hitlers antisemitism actually was. As the opening states, there's a family there, a shoemaker, a banker, etc. Every single one was someone. But to the Nazis they could only see them from a one dimensional aspect. They were not individual human beings with differing hopes, expectations, values, stations, preferences and moral conduct but Jews - a rotten filthy collective who are all parasites and should (due to Germany's progressive animal laws) be treated SIGNIFICANTLY WORSE THAN ANIMALS. A philanthropist or prostitute,it needn't matter a Jew is a Jew. Dangerous way of thinking. This book is provocative. Its thought provoking. I brought it to a university seminar and it was passed around. It made the topic of Hitler come to live. To mean something. Statistics alone never represent scale. One girl started crying. Some would say this is a gimmick and that it devalues its subject. Jews in it do not have names for example, but this isn't a weakness- its a strength. It shows the deluded mindset needed for this type of action. An effective piece. NEVER AGAIN.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
I just received my copy. Opening the book is like being struck by a sledge hammer. It brings meaning to me of the slogan,
"Never forget, never again."
It is an extremely important and timely book published as the world is forgetting or disbelieving what happened. Without narrative nor explanation it should teach us what hatred can do. Sadly the event memorialized continues even now on a daily basis throughout the world.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2014
beautiful, heartfelt book. i thought i knew everything about the holocaust, but this work of art is deep and significant
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
This is a must experience for every member of the human race. We are incapable of grasping the monstrosity of the Holocaust and six million murdered list souls. This publication is an essential tool to try to comprehend the incomprehensible. To be noted the commonality among six million otherwise unique individuals: Jews one and all
0Comment9 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
This is one book that should be in everyone's home and place of worship
NEVER FORGET NEVER FORGET NEVER FORGET
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
My study partner has one of these at her house and it is powerful. it is a simple concept really -- the word "jew" written 6,000,000 times. This signifies that each of the Jews murdered during the holocaust was someone.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
This book is a brilliant example of the power of books and of art. It's simultaneously simple and profound. Just holding it is a chilling experience.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
This is an AWESOME work. It cannot really be viewed as a "book", because one is only to read the first page. The other 628 pages, or so, communicate images and feelings more powerfully, perhaps, than any other work that I have had in my hands, but they are not phrases, nor sentences nor paragraphs to be read like "regular" books. Rather, this is a magnificent work of art! In handling it, one immediately has a sense of reverence for the magnitude of what the author (artist) has created. ALL people should see this book. All who are able should pick it up again, from time to time, so as to attempt to perceive its message: And Every Single One Was Someone. I have read much about the Holocaust, and I have toured Auschwitz-Birkenau, but Mr. Chernofsky's work has affected me as much or more than any of that.
11 comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
A powerful reminder of the tragic loss that still reverberates to this day. It is humbling to hold this book in your hands and quietly remember, reflect and resolve to never stand idle should history dare to repeat itself.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse