Customer Reviews


959 Reviews
5 star:
 (726)
4 star:
 (133)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


214 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rage Before The Machine!
After an extended layoff period and a classic `covers' ep, Metallica returned with a vengeance on AND JUSTICE FOR ALL. All the anger and sadness they held in on the death of bassist Cliff Burton was unleashed on the record buying public. The album is full of seething vocals and complex chord and tempo changes, with melody at its centre. Lars Ulrich (drummer) and Kirk...
Published on June 10, 2003 by Brent Evans

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LP Version is terrible!!!
Don't get me wrong, this is a great album, my one star review has to do with this particular pressing of the lp. For a half speed master, this sounds absolutely horrible! The signal of the recording is so low, I have to crank my phono preamp so much, that the surface noise of the vinyl is noticeable. This should never happen, ESPECIALLY on a heavy metal record, where...
Published on November 1, 2008 by R. Carpenter


‹ Previous | 116 17 1896 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As classic as the word itself, May 22, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
This in my opinion is one of the pinacle albums IN metal,right up there with Black Sabbath(paranoid)and Deep Purple's(machine head).The album is so naturally brutal and raw that it almost burns up your CD player while its spining around.Even though the production was a bit shabby for the time...this guitar sound set the stage for many albums from metal bands throughout the 90's.Take a listen to Rust in Peace...Sacred Reich's(the american way)same ole flat but raw production,on purpose?(maybe so)..and riff wise listen to some of the Chords off the classic At the Gates(slaughter of the soul),you'll Definately hear the influence of Justice on these gem's.Hetfield was at his Riffing prime,Lars bust's out double bass blasts to make the devil shiver in his boots,Kirk rips leads like a man possesed and well jason im sure if you could hear him,hits some good crunchy ole bass lines.All that said this album is just classic as hell,and will ALWAYS be hailed as ONE of my favorite metal albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LAST GOOD ONE., August 7, 2005
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
1988'S 'AND JUSTICE' WOULD BE THE LAST GOOD METALLICA ALBUM AND THE LAST ONE WITH THAT REAL METALLICA VIBE WHERE THEY..THE GUYS IN THE BAND WOULD TRULLY BE IN CONTROL OF METALLICA...THE MUSIC HERE IS PROG, VERY TECHNICAL, AND SUPER RESPECTABLE...LARS DRUMMING IS INCREDIBLE AND DIFFICULT AT THE VERY LEAST...THE SONGS, WITH THE INTERPLAY OF LARS AND JAMES ARE WELL SHALL WE SAY MIND BLOWING...HOW THESE GUYS WENT FROM THIS TO THE PATHETIC BLACK ALBUM METALLICA I WILL NEVER KNOW...BUT COULD A ONE WORD ANSWER BE M-O-N-E-Y ??? THESE GUYS HERE WERE INTO RUSH AND MAIDEN AND THEY WERE PROTECTING THE WORLD FROM LAME MUSIC...METALLICA WOULD EVENTUALLY GIVE IN AND THEY WOULD NOT ONLY BECOME PART OF THE ALTERNATIVE ROCK PROBLEM...THEY WOULD INFACT COME TO EVEN FOLLOW IT AND SEMI-IMITATE IT THEMSELVES WHICH IS A DISASTER...THE YOUNG ACNE FACED STONER GUYS HERE WHO WERE SO COOL WOULD TURN INTO CORPORATE LITTLE FARTS WHO WERE SO LAME LATER ON AND SUCH DICKS...SAD ..STILL, MY MEMORIES OF AND JUSTICE ARE FOND...THIS IS A PROG ALBUM WHEN METALLICA WAS METALLICA...THERE IS NO WAY A BAND LIKE NIRVANA COULD POSSIBLY EXIST WITH AN ALBUM LIKE THIS ON THE CURRENT SCENE AND THEN WITH THESE GUYS TALKING SH*** THE WHOLE WAY ! A CLASSIC !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Metallica Classic, August 30, 2004
By 
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
Metallica's fourth album And Justice For All is arguably the band's best album from the 80's. From the raw opener Blackened to the speeding closer Dyers Eve this album is excellent despite the producion, but what matters to me is the music. This is the album that introduced former Flotsam and Jetsam bassist Jason Newsted who replaced the late great bass monster Cliff Burton. This album has also got some of singer/rhythm guitarist James Hetfield's angriest lyrics ever, example from the title track: "Justice is lost, justice is raped, justice is gone, pulling your strings, justice is done". "Seeking no truth, winning is all, find it so grim, so true, so real". "One" is one of the band's best songs ever which starts out slow and moody, then breaks into crushing speed. Kirk Hamett's guitar solos are really awesome on here, and Lars Ulrich's double bass action is very well heard throughout the album. Wonderful album, truly speed metal at it's finest. Metallica Rules, buy this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Metallica's most complex album, June 19, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
What a way for bassist Jason Newsted to break in. Some might not know, but Newsted did appear on "Garage Days Re-Revisited befroe this album. Anyway, "Justice" is just that. 9 songs and over a hour of very creative bone-crunching music, Hetfield and the boys just went intothe studio and made it happen. "Blackened" is a great opening track very aggressive and to the point. "And Justice for All" at over nine minutes described the dysfunctios of the legal system well before O.J. The classic "One" how can someone describe it? Wow? My personal favorite and again almost 10 minutes in length "To live is to Die" the last written song by the late Cliff Burton contained only one verse. Without giving it away, the listener's take on deception will change. This was the last Metallica album with that rough sound and the last one produced by Fleming Rasmussen before that awful Bob Rock. A must have for any fan of metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the Mid era of a great band, June 23, 2003
By 
matt hunter (clemson , SC , USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
I missed Cliff on this album , true newsted did a good job trying and i do mean trying to live up to CLiffs greatness. I will honestly say that Jason Newsted is a good bassist he did make a great solo effort with Metallica . THe music is heavy and influencial in this album. I"m a diehard CLiff years metallica fan so for me to say all this is saying that this still is a great metallica album. True its not my favorite but its a great album none the less. Blackend has great riffs and lyrics, ONe of course is the very best song on this album. It did show that metallica still had their Roots in them along with some tone down metal as well. This album is great it was defintely one of the last 2 great metallica albums. Newstead did a great job on this album with this legendary band. I owe that to him. He will never in my eyes match cliff Burtons status but I would still defintely recommend this album if you like a lot of the true metallica stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...And Justice For All", November 27, 2003
By 
stanger (a dark place) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
This album was met with a lot of mixed feelings. It's a very different feel than Master of Puppets and Ride The Lightning. The lyrics are the best the band had ever done up to this point, but the production, in the eyes of many, lacked a lot. The bass guitar is not audible at all on this album for undisclosed reasons. This is a very dark, cold, and serious album. I, for one, really like the "cold" approach to the production. One thing is certain; this was a very mature album, possibly partly due to the untimely death of Cliff Burton after Master of Puppets. The only thing that brings this review down one star is the inaudible bass. Everything else, even the drums, sounds great in my opinion. This is also the album where James Hetfield fully developed his trademark growl. A true metal classic, just not quite up to par with the previous two.
Standout tracks: Blackened, One, Harvester of Sorrow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It aint Master of Puppets, But..., October 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
Metallica's golden age lasted from _Ride the Lightning_ to _Master of Puppets_. Conceptually united and mature, these albums display analyzations of death, power, and corruption, respectively. Whilst _Master of Puppets_ is their best, and one of the greatest compositions of the twentieth century (up there with Rachmaninov's 3rd Concerto and the _Dark Side of the Moon_), the other two albums of this era are exceedingly good as well. The best song on this album, is, without doubt, "Eye of the Beholder." To the casual listener and dillatante Metallica fan, "One" frequents the fav's, but, like "Damage, Inc." off of _Master_, it just doesn't match up to the likes of "Sanatarium". For anybody who appreciates real music and intelligent lyrics, Metallica and Pink Floyd are the way to go. If you want another 3-minute top-ten pop whore, go buy Barenaked Ladies or Blink 182.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica Part II: Enter The Jasun!, November 30, 2005
By 
Mr. Sinister (El Cajon, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
With the untimely and tragic death of Cliff Burton, Metallica took some time off and reflected before choosing upon Flotsam & Jetsam bassist Jason Newsted to take Cliff's spot. What ensued from there was an EP of garage band covers called Garage Days Re-Revisited and then the real studio effort of ...And Justice For All. Well...the Metalifux, with Jason New-kid seemed to click and the result was a double album (back in the days when they still had them) with smashing, bone-crushing, solo-ladden manical flights of fancy ala Metallica. Jaymez seemed in rare form on this album and some of the songs were quite lengthy. Lars drum sound on this album was the heaviest I've ever heard. Blackened, Shortest Straw, Harvester Of Sorrow & Dyer's Ever are among the standouts. One is on here, of couse, which launched the MTV Metallica career. Great album, up there with Master Of Puppets, but not as entirely perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Metallica CD...Better than The Black Album, March 1, 2006
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
WOW!!! One of my favorite metal records. ...And Justice for All took elements of Kill Em' All, Ride the Lightning and Master of Puppets (all great) to create the last thrash CD by Metallica. Blackened is a great opening song but my personal favorites are the title track and The Shortest Straw. Critics of Metallica have said that lead guitarist Kirk Hammett does not do things as technical as former Metallica member and current MegaDeth frontman Dave Mustaine, but "Straws" guitar solo proves otherwise!!!!! A completely sick descending chromatic scale is a great way to finish off an amazing song. Eye of the Beholder and One are aso great songs. The Frayed End of Sanity and Harvester of Sorrow are good songs, but not as good as everyone says thay are. To live is to die is a good song, a cool acoustic intro leads into total mayhem, but Dyers Eve is the song that defines this CD. Fast, loud, what more do you want? It expresses anger at parents, society, government. Amazing. Could not reccomend it more. If you are just getting into Metallica, not a good place to start. Get the Black Album, you will be much happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely takes getting used to..., April 1, 2005
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
I listened to this thing quite a bit before I "got" it. I liked "One" after my first listen, but songs like Blackened and Frayed Ends of Sanity took some getting used to. Still, I'm glad I put in the effort.

This is Metallica at their absolute peak. People will tell you Master of Puppets was the band's zenith, but they're dead wrong. The band improved all the way up until this point, and although this album's tracks aren't all megahit Enter Sandmans and Sanitariums (although the title track should be considered such a megahit), this is the best material I've ever heard from them.

It's really incredible to see the progression of Metallica, from short and fun tracks like Motorbreath, to longer, more complex offerings like Fade to Black and Master of Puppets, until something like ...And Justice For All (title track). Makes you wonder how that could all lead into the Black album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1896 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

...And Justice For All
...And Justice For All by Metallica (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.