Customer Reviews


991 Reviews
5 star:
 (754)
4 star:
 (134)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


214 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rage Before The Machine!
After an extended layoff period and a classic `covers' ep, Metallica returned with a vengeance on AND JUSTICE FOR ALL. All the anger and sadness they held in on the death of bassist Cliff Burton was unleashed on the record buying public. The album is full of seething vocals and complex chord and tempo changes, with melody at its centre. Lars Ulrich (drummer) and Kirk...
Published on June 10, 2003 by Brent Evans

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LP Version is terrible!!!
Don't get me wrong, this is a great album, my one star review has to do with this particular pressing of the lp. For a half speed master, this sounds absolutely horrible! The signal of the recording is so low, I have to crank my phono preamp so much, that the surface noise of the vinyl is noticeable. This should never happen, ESPECIALLY on a heavy metal record, where...
Published on November 1, 2008 by R. Carpenter


‹ Previous | 116 17 18100 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album but...where's the Bass?, November 9, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
Great music, crappy production. The only reason I don't really consider this album to be Metallica's opus work, and one of the "greatest albums ever" is that the production is awful. Listen to any song on this album, and, though awesome, something is missing. Yep, you guessed it. There is no bass. I guess Newsted is playing, but I'm not hearing anything, save for a little bass trying to squeak in between Kirk and James now and again. The end result is that a lot of the songs come off sounding thin and weak, like they were recorded in a giant garbage can. For me, Justice just doesn't have that "oommph", that punch in the stomach that you get when you have excellent bass rumbling away. That said, I think the guitar work is excellent by Kirk Hammett, who delivers big-time on this one. This album is also the last great job on drums we have seen from Lars Ulrich, whose work goes downhill after this. "One", maybe the best Metallica song ever. Who can tell? Don't let the bad production and no bass stop you from buying this one. The anger and aggresion of Metallica come through big-time, despite the flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-Master This Already!, August 23, 2007
By 
This review is from: And Justice For All (Audio CD)
"Master of Puppets" and this album show Metallica at their true creative peak. Some songs on "Justice" are as elaborate and complicated as anything by King Crimson or Yes, and hit like a sledgehammer to boot.

Unfortunately, "Justice" is the worst-sounding, worst produced record in Metallica's catalog. The strange thing is, their sharpest sounding record, in my opinion, was right before this: "The $9.98 CD - Garage Days Re-Revisited." And that was self-produced by the band.

Why in the world has this album not been re-mastered? Put the band politics aside and fix this already. Not only does the original recording completely bury Jason Newsted's bass lines, but it smothers what is essentially Lars Ulrich's finest hour on drums. This could easily be an album like Rush's "Moving Pictures" where you can just listen to the drums with your jaw on the floor.

I still give "Justice" five stars because the songs are amazing, but with some re-mastering, it would be a musical monument.

The import includes "The Prince" which was a B-side to the "Harvester of Sorrow" single in 1988.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first Metallica album I ever had....still awesome...., October 7, 2007
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
This was my first Metallica album (actually CD), and it's still awesome. I love the epic quality of it, with many tracks between 7 and 9 minutes. The time signatures and riffs are quite complex, making Metallic officially "metal prog" in my eyes. There isn't one wasted note here. Every song really rocks, with special kudos going to Blackened (great way to start the album), the complex title track, the thrashing, brilliantly energetic One, and The Frayed Ends of Sanity (with a killer midsection). I really dig the lyrics here. They are some of Hetfield's best (except for To Live is To Die, which was Cliff Burton's final contribution to Metallica). Eye of the Beholder, One, and the title track are especially potent. The production of this CD is a bit tinny, with newcomer Jason Newsted's bass buried in the mix. Supposedly, this was part of a hazing ritual by the other guys in the band, and if it's true, it was idiotic. Take the new guy out and get him wasted instead, don't f--- with the album. It's still a great one, but the production should have sounded better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album got me into metal, February 2, 2007
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
When I grew up, I was pretty ignorant musically. I thought "Hysteria" by Def Leppard was as hardcore as it got. I just never ventured out and tried anything new musically. Then one day, a friend said "if you like Def Leppard, you gotta listen to this." And then he played ONE. That was the beginning. Within a month, I owned all Metallica's albums, and since then I have branched out to Pantera, Ozzy, Slayer, Hatebreed, Six Feet Under, Megadeth, Sepultura, and others. I had so much catching up to do.. it kept my head banging all through the alternative craze of the 90's, so thankfully I was headbanging to Metallica and Slayer instead of listening to Nirvana and Blind Melon whine and moan. Now that rap has taken over, I am always on the lookout for new heavy metal, and it all started with Metallica and the Justice album. Metallica's first 5 studio albums are truly great, and they did it all through sheer musical talent, not relying on a stream of profanity or music videos full of strippers. Load, Re-Load and St. Anger sucked, but maybe Rick Rubin can get them back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Decent Album!, February 27, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
I don't know about you, but I thought that after their oldest bassist Cliff Burton died, it was over for metallica. Boy, was I proved wrong. Not only was it a great album, it actually turned out to be one of my favorite albums of all time. The definate stand out songs on here are "blackened"(a very great opening song), "One" (one of my most favorite songs ever), and my most favorite song, "Dyers Eve". That song just lives up to metallica's thrash genre. They invented the genre, and this has some of the most fastest double bassing, courtesy of Lars Ulrich, some of the fastest soloing ever heard by Kirk Hammet(not the greatest guitar player, but decent). Also, the fact that this was the last good album metallica put out. A lot of you say this is the album they started selling out. I don't believe that, because the black album is nowhere near this album. I wonder if the only reason you think that metallica started selling out here is because the bassist died? That is still not a good reason. I love this album and it fits in with all my other metallica albums no matter what you negative f*cks say. This is very highly recommended!!! a 5/5. I would also like to point out that the only reason this album doesn't have any bass is because the bassist came in late to record this album, so instead, he played all of James's riffs, so stop complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica's sophisticated album, March 19, 2005
By 
Will (baltimore, md) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
when you look at this and then master of puppets, its hard to tell that this was released only two years following puppets, or even that it is the same artist. i think this was one of Metallica's biggest turns in style, they didnt sell out, but the lyrics and complex song structures are a lot more sophisticated and more progressive than the thrashy, angst-ridden metal of Master of Puppets. Justice follows the same basic song layout as puppets, with the fast, explosive opener, the epic title track, the slower paced 3rd track, the ballad, the recovery 5th (and in this case 6th also) track, the instrumental, and the thrasher at the end. This is in my opinion James's strongest vocal performance, and Lars's strongest drums, especially on the epic ONE, and Kirk Hammet lays out some complex, spitfire guitar riffs and solos.

yet justice is not without its flaws. the production is thin, and Newsted's bass is barely audible. But even the fatal flaws cant stop this from being one of Metallca's strongest and most influential albums to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, August 31, 2001
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
Song Grades
Blackened-obligatory thrash opener, but slightly better than Battery and Fight Fire With Fire
Grade-B+
...And Justice For All-one hell of an epic
Grade-B+
Eye Of The Beholder-anthem against censorship,underated
Grade-A
One-the prototypical anti-war song, even better than "War Pigs" or "Rooster"
Grade-A+
The Shortest Straw-thrash-by-numbers
Grade-B
Harvester Of Sorrow-classic Metallica
Grade-A-
The Frayed Ends Of Sanity-Great lyrics, but suffers a little musically
Grade-B+
Dyers Eve-a little overated
Grade-B
While MOP And RTL were Metallicas Dark Side and Wish You Were Here, this was their Animals. You may not like it as much at first as the others because of its lyrical complexity and epic song-length, but by the 2nd time you listen to it you will like it as much as the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talent knows no boundaries, May 31, 2006
By 
A. Scott (Midland, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
Metallica brings me back to my "beginning of High School" days. That was 16 years ago, and it never did get old. While in essence, Hetfield and Ulrich deviated some in recent works, they never succumed to the naysayers who couldn't understand their music. "And Justice for all" evokes madness, demanding of justice, and pure adrenaline.

It is as if Ulrich was brought down from the drum gods, soley to satiate his fans in the uncontestable "One." His bone-busting slams force your heart to skip a beat or two.

Hetfield stays raw and heartfelt from beginning to end on this album.

I long to hear bass via Burton, but I think the boys did an honorable job in his absence.

Another song, in addition to "One" in the way of a uniquely Metallica sound is "The Shortest Straw." Most of the old stuff jibes. The boys stay consistent, yet are able to bring new issues and feelings to the table at will.

You will never find a better album than "And Justice for All."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The LAST Best METALLCA album!!, October 7, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
I've heard many people say the sound production of AJFA was the worst. In my opinion it has to be THE BEST production of any Metallica record! If anyone listening to Metal in the late 80s/ early 90s will remember, the sound at the time was VERY slick and VERY overproduced. Every metal band had that "big budget" sound. Metallica gave the big "FU" and broke convention by offering a more parred down sterile production that many later metal bands like Helmet would try to emulate. I'd have to say Metallica did for Metal what Nirvana did for popular Rock music at the time. Listen to Lar's bass drum, it's high and not very bassy. Every metal band from Pantera to Fear Factory would later emulate that bass drum sound. And it's practically a staple sound for many Grindcore/Death metal bands today. If you dont own AJFA do yourself a favore and get it, listen to it, and prepared to be blown away by this masterpiece! because you'll likely never to hear a better release from Metallica again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As classic as the word itself, May 22, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: ...And Justice For All (Audio CD)
This in my opinion is one of the pinacle albums IN metal,right up there with Black Sabbath(paranoid)and Deep Purple's(machine head).The album is so naturally brutal and raw that it almost burns up your CD player while its spining around.Even though the production was a bit shabby for the time...this guitar sound set the stage for many albums from metal bands throughout the 90's.Take a listen to Rust in Peace...Sacred Reich's(the american way)same ole flat but raw production,on purpose?(maybe so)..and riff wise listen to some of the Chords off the classic At the Gates(slaughter of the soul),you'll Definately hear the influence of Justice on these gem's.Hetfield was at his Riffing prime,Lars bust's out double bass blasts to make the devil shiver in his boots,Kirk rips leads like a man possesed and well jason im sure if you could hear him,hits some good crunchy ole bass lines.All that said this album is just classic as hell,and will ALWAYS be hailed as ONE of my favorite metal albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18100 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

...And Justice For All
...And Justice For All by Metallica (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.