Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Good Little Thriller
Once it gets going, AND SOON THE DARKNESS is a pretty good little thriller that will have you sitting on the edge-of-your-seat during the last half hour or so.

The film is a remake of a 1970 movie of the same name that starred Pamela Franklin. That picture dealt with two English girls on a bike trip through rural France. In this new version, the girls are...
Published on December 9, 2010 by Michael B. Druxman

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Moderately Creepy Thriller
Well, this movie is a remake, and the plot is quite familiar: Two young American women go vacationing in Argentina to get away from it all. After a night of drinking (predictably), one of the girls (played by Odette Yustman) gets mixed up with a violent, suspicious male. The next morning, the two girls get into an argument, and go their separate ways. When the other girl...
Published on January 8, 2011 by Cory T. Shaeffer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Good Little Thriller, December 9, 2010
This review is from: And Soon the Darkness (DVD)
Once it gets going, AND SOON THE DARKNESS is a pretty good little thriller that will have you sitting on the edge-of-your-seat during the last half hour or so.

The film is a remake of a 1970 movie of the same name that starred Pamela Franklin. That picture dealt with two English girls on a bike trip through rural France. In this new version, the girls are American and they are traveling via bicycle in rural Argentina.

Actually, I think that that, as well as some of the girls' other actions, is a pretty stupid thing to do, but in the movies, characters tend to do stupid things.

In any event, the girls have a spat, briefly part company and then one of them (Odette Yustman) disappears. Her friend (Amber Heard) desperately tries to find her, but the town's one police officer is no help and she's not sure if she can trust the lone American (Karl Urban) there, who claims that his girl friend disappeared in this same area three months earlier.

I've never seen the original version of AND SOON THE DARKNESS, so I can't really comment as to which might be better. This one, from director Marcos Efron, might be a bit violent for some people, but others will find it quite entertaining.

And, the Argentina countryside is gorgeous.

© Michael B. Druxman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amber Heard is One bad A** Chick, December 28, 2010
This review is from: And Soon the Darkness (DVD)
I really enjoyed "And Soon The Darkness".
I heard such negative things and read negative reviews saying it was boring and all been done before.
I'm going to have to disagree.I thought the acting was really good,the character development above par for this type of film and it kept you guessing .It was a little slow to start but not at all boring,the great acting beautiful scenery and colorful characters kept you entertained.

When it really jump started it was full speed ahead, bringing on the Bad a** chick scenario which I love.Amber Heard was excellent as Stephanie an American tourist in Argentina who ends up fighting for hers and the life of her girl friend Ellie played by Odette Yustman like a wildcat in a corner through the last 30 minutes of this movie.I won't call this Horror but an action ,suspense,thriller with some mystery thrown in..

There was no gore ,there were some kills but nothing horror worthy.It was a really good I made a mistake going out of my country flick ..The ending is pleasing as is the entire movie.With all the trash you find these days it's nice to find a movie with good acting a great cast and a well executed storyline.. I give it 2 thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Moderately Creepy Thriller, January 8, 2011
This review is from: And Soon the Darkness (DVD)
Well, this movie is a remake, and the plot is quite familiar: Two young American women go vacationing in Argentina to get away from it all. After a night of drinking (predictably), one of the girls (played by Odette Yustman) gets mixed up with a violent, suspicious male. The next morning, the two girls get into an argument, and go their separate ways. When the other girl (played by Amber Heard) returns, her friend is gone.

The police become involved, but of course they don't know much and are very little help. There is an American male who is also searching for his girlfriend, and he helps search for the missing girl. Predictably, people are not who they seem. There are some twists, and the scenery is visually stunning - but what really gives the film an edge is the exceptionally strong performance by Amber Heard. In a breakout performance, she manages to make the film tense and fast-paced all by herself. The story has been done ten thousand times before, but it would be hard to argue that any performance by a female lead in any of those other films were as strong as Heard's performance in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Not so dumb blond, March 21, 2011
This review is from: And Soon the Darkness (DVD)
Amber Heard plays a girl with no quit in her, its nice to see blondes being the smart ones in film for a change. Odette is beautiful too. Its not a horror film, its more of just a thriller.

Funny thing though. The girls had trouble finding hotels and other spots, but found the club pretty quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ho Hum, January 3, 2011
By 
Eric Sanberg (Villa Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And Soon the Darkness (DVD)
I have not seen the original but it seems to be in big favor with many viewers. And as Hollywood figured to re-make it, it must have been good. Unfortunately, the re-make isn't really all that hot.

In a nutshell: Two girls are on a biking excursion in Argentina. A minor argument ensues one day and the two take a few hours off from each others' company. Problem is that one of them disappears and may be another victim in a spate of local kidnappings. The other hooks up with an American who happens to be staying at the same hotel and the two set to see what they can see.

From what I understand of the original, which was set in the French countryside, it's power derived from it's ability to take a serene countryside setting, in broad daylight, and infuse it with a sense of menace. In this version, most of the shots of the countryside look really beautiful and actually provide a respite from the uneasiness caused by the fact that you have two young girls, traveling alone in, what we consider, a third world country, working under a language barrier.

This movie is so-so. For my dollar it took way too long to get to the heart of the matter. My guess is it's a good 45 minutes before the actual kidnapping occurs. And when it finally does occur the attempts at finding our victim are rather tepid. As a matter of fact, the break comes due to happenstance and not to any clever detective work. Another problem is that some of the promo copy intones that Karl Urban's character might not be the good guy he appears to be. If this is so, it is also handled poorly. Whatever questions the viewer might have about his motives are swept away rather quickly.

Then there are the two female leads. The performances are not particularly great. And seeing Amber Heard's Stephanie get the jump on her friend's two captors did little to convince me she could or would do it. I simply didn't believe it and that is a problem at the script level.

Like I said, this is a so-so movie. It isn't bad, but it's made me want to check out the original to see what intrigued the producers so much the saw the need to screw it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THANKS FOR THE GRATUITOUS BIKINI SHOT, January 30, 2011
This review is from: And Soon the Darkness (DVD)
Young women are being kidnapped in Argentina. Amber Heard, who I raved about in Exterminators, was not as impressive in this role, primarily due to poor script. Two American girls venture out on their own to visit the countryside in Argentina. They stay in a small town, where Elle, the floozy of the two causes them to miss their bus. They spend the day sun bathing in bikinis and then have a split up over moralistic differences. Elle is kidnapped and everyone in town seems to be a suspect, or at least by the soundtrack. Karl Urban agrees to help, but she doesn't trust him either. This isn't like the 80's kidnappings where the women were stripped, raped and tortured. No nudity or sex. Some "R" language not mentioned on the rating guide. I would fast forward until the girls are in bikinis, that is when the action starts in this slow mover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Remake!, March 17, 2011
By 
This review is from: And Soon the Darkness (DVD)
The original AND SOON THE DARKNESS was a 1970 suspense film about two English nurses on a bicycle tour of France, one of whom goes missing. The missing girl's friend tries to find out what happened, hampered by the language barrier and sinister uncooperative locals. The original is considered something of a minor classic, but I had never heard of it until I came across this remake. At which point I had to make a decision. Should I rent this remake from my local library? Or should I go to a bit of additional trouble to get the 1970 version?

Well, I chose to see the 1970 original first, which was a good decision -- and I am here to STRONGLY advise you to do the same. For two reasons: 1) The original is decent and this isn't. And 2) this remake seemed to be aimed at people who have already seen the original anyway. That is, it doesn't even bother trying to create suspense, and telegraphs its "surprise twists" so blatantly that only those expecting a slavishly faithful remake could possibly be surprised by them.

But the remake is also a bad movie on its own terms! First, the acting. The three American leads are all terrible. It is impossible to believe in their characters for a single moment. Every word, gesture, and facial expression -- from Heard especially -- looks like bad acting and kills the scene.

Then there is the characterization. In the original, the flirtier of the two girls was a normal healthy young woman. Here, "Ellie" is some kind of deranged freak who follows a guy into the Men's Room, uses the stalls with the door open, and then strikes up a conversation with him at the urinal. What is the point of that? I'm supposed to be scared FOR her, not OF her. As for Heard's "Stephanie", the only background we get on her is that she's a needy doormat. But the moment trouble strikes, she suddenly turns into Nancy Drew, Action Babe. There is no attempt, as in the original, to make the audience feel like this situation might really happen to them, or to have the female lead react the way a real woman in her situation would. Karl Urban's Enigmatic Expatriate character just randomly does what the script tells him to, rather than having any interior consistency, and projects about as much menace as a turnip.

The plot is cookie-cutter and makes no real effort to amount to anything. After failing to even try to be a suspense flick, it tries being an action film for a bit, at which it also fails. A couple of torture and sexual assault scenes are tossed for exploitation purposes, but are brief. Then the film tries being girl-powered for a bit, which is unconvincing.

I will say some good things now. The supporting cast is solid all around, including Adriana Barraza from DRAG ME TO HELL as the landlady. One of the settings (the deserted village) looks wonderfully creepy even in bright sunlight, and is worthy of a better movie.

Okay if you are looking for a bad movie to make fun of. But definitely see the original first. Another movie that is actually closer in type to this remake, but infinitely better in every way possible, would be RED EYE with Rachel McAdams and Cillian Murphy. It's not perfect, but it's scary and good fun and the leads can act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IS OK LITTLE FLICK.BUT GIRLS WAS A EYE CANDY!!!, February 16, 2011
By 
Benjamin Kidman (Hayward,CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not a horror film,But Suspenseful in parts. If youre a Victoria Secret model looks like, then you probably shouldnt travel to some remote location in Argentina or anywhere then act like a horny & hussie bitch at the local dive bar, and lay out by a pond in the wild alone, Well then thats what u got & usually end up to. Anyway just as rental worth & viewing once would be enough. nothing special ! B-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Exercise In Tedium, October 5, 2011
This review is from: And Soon the Darkness (DVD)
The title for this should've been "And Soon The Beigeness."

The original "And Soon The Darkness" was an effective little ninety minute exercise in paranoia which benefited from a script from the godfathers of British TV fantasy, Brian Clemens and Terry Nation, decent performances and some spookily evocative direction.

The remake fails on all levels.

The director has not a wit of an idea of how to create tension; the two female leads are adepts of the histrionic Hollywood school of acting; Karl Urban (who is generally a decent actor) is given nothing to do, and the twists and turns are completely predictable.

Worst of all, it's yet another excuse for the Yanks to engage in their racist paranoia about South Americans.

It's not interesting enough to be good and not bad enough to be enjoyable.

Avoid this one like the plague. I paid $1.50 to see it and ended up fast-forwarding through the last half hour. It made ninety minutes feel like a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, June 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love Karl Urban!! But I had seen this a while back, thought it was pretty good but didn't know the title. Glad to have found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

And Soon the Darkness
And Soon the Darkness by Marcos Efron (DVD - 2010)
$9.98 $6.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.