Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet
I will start this review off by saying that, up until this point, Drawing Black Lines was my favorite Project 86 album. It was an album that proclaimed the band as masterminds of metal. Their heaviness combined with dark, perfect melodies, and intelligent, poetic songwriting instantly made them one of my favorite bands of all time.

Truthless Heroes was a great...
Published on September 30, 2005 by Mark

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is Project 86 leading or following?
If you look into my history of reviews on past Project 86 records you would find that my respect for this band has grown with every record. From the okay-to-good debut to the sophomore album that threw away convention and put P86 on the map as a band to be reckoned with. Truthless Heroes was a concept album that worked not only with it's infectious melodies but with it's...
Published on September 30, 2005 by Sylo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, September 30, 2005
By 
Mark (Oregon City, OR United States) - See all my reviews
I will start this review off by saying that, up until this point, Drawing Black Lines was my favorite Project 86 album. It was an album that proclaimed the band as masterminds of metal. Their heaviness combined with dark, perfect melodies, and intelligent, poetic songwriting instantly made them one of my favorite bands of all time.

Truthless Heroes was a great record as well, but it was a concept record, a story-telling album. To that extent, Schwabb proved he is an amazing songwriter as TH's lyrics burned vivid picures in my head, and the dark, melodic music provided a very cinematic soundtrack to the story. Granted, it was an odd story, and a lot of people either didn't get it or didn't want to get it. It was an ambitious rock opera, and it was probably my second favorite album of the Projects.

Songs to burn your bridges by... yeah, it was a very punk, angry, and bold record. But it should be very obvious now that Project 86 has punk deeply ingrained in their roots, and with all the drama they were going through at the time (record label woes, spiritual issues, finding themselves again), it was an album they deserved to make. Free of pressure to write a certain way, STBYBB was probably as close to the heart and soul of this band as we will ever see.

Self-Titled was an amazing debut. Not my favorite, and now it feels somewhat dated, but much like STBYBB, this was probably a record that, at the time, was 100% Project 86 being themselves.

And The Rest Will Follow... If you've read the interviews the band gave while they recorded this album or attended any recent shows, you can see that this is an album Project 86 had to make. This is them expanding their horizons, renewing their passion for music, and as they said at the show I saw Wednesday, this album is a rebirth for Project 86. There are elements of all 4 previous albums here, the heaviness, the dark melodies, the experimentation. This album sounds like nothing they've done before, and yet, it is true to their roots. This is the proof of life for a band that continues to get better and find new ways to put their passion on cd. This is now my favorite Project 86 album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Hit, October 6, 2005
This is, by far, one of the best Project 86 releases to date. With each new CD they bring forth a musical creativity that is unrivaled and lyrical originality that is unmatched. This is no exception.

The sound is actually a little bit of each of the last four records released, so, if you like any P86 album, you'll love this one. It's more melodic, more aggressive... it's darker and different. The message is just as in-your-face as the other albums and the music is there to compliment it.

This is truly a must-buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most of the reviews agree on one point..., November 1, 2005
...This album definitely doesn't suck. One reviewer says that this album is like a sequel to "drawing black lines" while another says that this album is closer to "truthless heroes" than anything else. The fact of the matter is, Project 86 are artists, and Andrew Schwab is one of the most prolific poets in the hardcore/punk/christian rock industry today. Although some may say that his lyrics have slipped on this record, I am inclined to disagree. Although the lyrics on "Songs to burn your bridges by" were heartfelt, intense and driven by their situations at the time, their current situation doesn't make their new lyrics any less potent. What Andrew lacks in agression and bitterness, he makes up for in witty allusions, seeming riddles, and clever references to past albums. ("they search and strain and drink and stagger"; "When we are hollow"; "We once drew some lines in black") So it may seem that Andrew isn't as passionate about this album, but I prefer to think that he is rather on top of his game. As for the music, P86 sounds tighter than ever. They have brought elements from every album of their career, played them with more elegance, and even come up with riffs, rhythms and combinations that P86 fans have never heard before. A few songs need a few spins of the cd to really be appreciated to the fullest extent, but I'm fairly confident that the vast majority of P86 fans old and new will be extremely pleased with this offering.

On a final note, although any band that doesn't have swollen heads would be pleased for people to appreciate their music whether downloaded for free or purchased in store, I feel that if you are going to buy any cd this year, make it this one. It is obvious that the album art has been professionally designed, and the cover features a very unique transluscent copper sticker.

Buy this album. It's a fantastic accomplishment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legacy continues..., October 7, 2005
The first listen through this CD, I wasn't completely impressed. After a few listens, though, I'm playing this CD daily and loving it. There really isn't a bad song on the CD in my opinion, and hits like "Sincerely, Ichabod" and "Subject to Change" make this disc really shine. After "Songs to Burn Your Bridges By", I thought that the band would have a tough time following up in full force, but not so surprisingly, they outdid themselves. This CD takes the old 86 sound and gives it a refreshing and awesome twist. A must have for any 86 fan or any fan of hard, fast-paced music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This band keeps getting better and better....., October 20, 2005
I love this new album. I've been waiting for a truly hardcore album to come out, and now here it is. And the best thing about it, the lyrics aren't crap. Thats the hardest thing for me is too find hardcore bands that have good lyrcis instead of hate filled poison your soul lyrics. This album is freaken awesome. For Christians and nonChristians a like. If you've heard this is a Christian band, don't pass this album buy just because of that. Or there older albums either. Their lyrics don't force you to see them as a Christian band, but just as a band that speaks from their hearts. This band brings a new dimension in hardcore music. They also bring something far more important, truth about this world we dwell in. Check it out, you won't be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Holds Barred, May 31, 2006
By 
Eric Wilson "author" (Nashville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I like my music hard, dark, honest, and original. Project 86 has been one of the more consistent acts in recent years to meet all those criteria. Then...they give us an album like "And the Rest Will Follow."

This is a mind-blowing set of songs, ripping through the head-hunting-death-to-the-old-ways first track to the final cut which is a no-holds-barred self-analysis of the band's lyrics and purpose. I've listened to P86 go through many of my same struggles, questions, and frustrations with life and God and people. Now, they set those aside and insist (demand with a vengeance) that it's time to move on and shed the junk from the past. These are words that tear at me, hammer me over the head, and leave me contemplating my own direction. In other words, this is music that means something.

If you've followed P86's journey, this will be a surprising next step--but a fully satisfying one. If you're just jumping on board, hang on and turn it up. This is the album I've been waiting for these guys to put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is Project 86 leading or following?, September 30, 2005
If you look into my history of reviews on past Project 86 records you would find that my respect for this band has grown with every record. From the okay-to-good debut to the sophomore album that threw away convention and put P86 on the map as a band to be reckoned with. Truthless Heroes was a concept album that worked not only with it's infectious melodies but with it's poignant and powerful storytelling techniques. Songs to Burn your Bridges By was a record that does a fantastic job of just being honest about where the band was at that point. They were angry and without a label. Andrew is a very honest and mature lyricist and it contiinues to show as he grows with his band and as they grow with him.

So this leaves us with their 5th record in a very long career. The album as best described as a mixture between Truthless Heroes and Drawing Black Lines. Unfortunately the obnoxious choruses of TH have returned with songs such as "ALL OF ME". But the uber creepy slow singing of songs like "bottom feeder" has also returned and thats a very good thing. Andrew's voice gets a real work out on this record as he goes from a low singing to loud screaming at a moments notice.

I have to say that it's not better than Songs to Burn your Bridges By simply because that was a record made by a band that had nothing to lose. They didn't care who they upset with that record. Their is much to be said about true raw emotion over the forced cynism of many other bands who simply are depressed just because it's cool to be dark when your in a rock band these days. As a storytellers and spiritual revolutionists Project 86 continues to shake up my mind with some very profound and honest songs.

So where does this album ultimately find itself flawed? It's just so damn predictable at times. You know when the band is going to get hard you know when they are going to get soft. The verse, the chorus, the bridge, the chorus. The silent intro that goes off into the loud distortion chord progressions. I would like to see alot less use of the Drop D tuning and alot more use of single picking and chords with alot more distinct melodies in future records.

That doesn't mean this is a bad record the songs are highly enjoyable and the record is pretty solid from beginning to end. Its just that at the 5th record you expect a little more from veterans in the industry. The experimentation on TH and the raw emotional element on STBYBB made up for any short comings in the music but now it's starting to hold the band back. I think Blinside took more chances on their new record "The Great Depression" and I was really impressed just with how different they sounded. Thats the kind of record Project 86 should have gone for instead of just doing more of the same.

So in conclusion, for fans this is more good stuff, but its going to sound familiar. (MxPx fans are used to this as well.) For those who are new to the band you may enjoy it alot more but do check out their past records as well. ...And The Rest Will Follow right now stands as a big question mark in the bands career. Where it will take them is yet to be seen. But I just don't see this as the record that takes them out of seclusion and into the spotlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like, but unlike, Project 86, September 28, 2005
By 
Truthless Heroes was a hit -- in-you-face songs like "Another Boredom Movement", "S.M.C." and "Bottom Feeder" that brough out the darker side of P86. The next album "Songs to Burn Your Bridges By" was a very good album: aggressive, well-written and flawlessly done, aside from the fact that some people didn't like the punk-ish feel of it. Well, their fifth release will certainly please those who like Project 86 in general.

Now, this album peppers the listener with sounds that are unique... the only way Project 86 knows how to do it. The flavor of this album reminds me of their self-titled debut, "Drawing Black Lines" and "Truthless Heroes", both musically and somewhat lyrically. The lyrics are slightly more poetic than those of the before-mentioned albums, but the message still delivers a blow to the conscience... just as devastating as the ones made in the first three releases. Personally, I enjoyed some of the messages in "Sincerely, Ichabod"... "My will be a Dead Man"... "Doomsday Stomp" and the closinig song (one of the best, message-wise), "Wordsmith Legacy." Truly a treasure... definately a find.

Musically, Project 86 mixes the darkness of "Truthless Heroes" with the force of "Drawing Black Lines". All sprinkled with traces of their self-titled debut and, yes, even some "Songs To Burn Your Bridges By." Aside from a few songs like "My Will be a Dead Man" and the title track, which sound like nothing I've heard P86 do before, you can rest assured that Project 86 will deliver. There's more melodic voices than in "Truthless Heroes", which could be considered a turn for mainstream, but there's still enough aggressiveness to keep them inside of their "hard & dark" status.

This is an album with no obvious singles, since all of the songs are great. Truly worth a listen... definately worth a buy.

The beauty of this album is that it's a musical timeline for the band's workings. With each album, they've outdone themselves and, with this, it's no different. Truly a remarkable album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD IS AMAZING, March 19, 2006
I have listened to many cd's. I have heard many bands. No one comes close to how amazing this band is. Since their first cd, no one has been as lyrically diverse as them. This cd, though not as hard as their previous stuff, will blow your shoes clean off of your feet. This is the best cd you will never hear about on tv this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back to the Projects, October 24, 2005
By 
Lyn Waldie (Rapid City, SD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is, hands down, Project's best cd since "Drawing Black Lines". I honestly didn't know if they would return to the form that they had for "Black Lines" but they have done it both musically and lyrically. The intensity of this album is off the charts! If you are any kind of a Project 86 fan buy this disc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

And The Rest Will Follow
Buy MP3 Album$7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.