Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story Depicting a Far too Familiar Topic
And Then She Was Gone is a story about a young girl named Lauren who was kidnapped and held for 6 nightmarish years before she was found and reunited with her family. The complexities and hardships that the family goes through during Lauren's captivity and then once Lauren is found are brilliantly explored by Rosalind Noonan. We all want to believe that the nightmare...
Published 7 months ago by Cherice Wale

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Major inconsistency
Minor spoilers ahead...

I liked that this book focused on Lauren's reintegration with her family rather than on the details of the time that she was held captive. However, it all just seemed too easy...I never felt any real emotion from the characters, and there was no time invested in how they moved from one point to the next. One minute Lauren didn't want...
Published 6 months ago by A reader


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story Depicting a Far too Familiar Topic, January 16, 2014
And Then She Was Gone is a story about a young girl named Lauren who was kidnapped and held for 6 nightmarish years before she was found and reunited with her family. The complexities and hardships that the family goes through during Lauren's captivity and then once Lauren is found are brilliantly explored by Rosalind Noonan. We all want to believe that the nightmare ends once any victim is rescued and I appreciated Noonan's beautifully written novel depicting the long hard struggle that Lauren must endure to assemble a new life for herself. A moving tale that will won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great story, I wanted to hurry up and read it to find out what was going to happen,but I didn't want it to end! Rosalind Noonan is a great story teller. Can't wait to share it with my friends. Thank you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story of the trauma that replaces the happily-ever-after that we all unrealistically cling to, January 1, 2014
This review is from: And Then She Was Gone (Paperback)
I think most of us can identify with the raw, desperation of powerlessness; the experience of being struck bare; our frail impotence exposing our inability to take action. The abject humility of it. Like an tattered cotton pillowcase faded on the line, its worn fabric bleached by the sun and made transparent; a fade so gradual we are taken unaware when we see that its face, once splashed with color, has vanished into holes. Where once there was something, now, nothing.

In reading And Then She Was Gone by Rosalind Noonan, I expected to identify on some level with Dan and Rachel O'Neil, the parents of ten year old Lauren, who was abducted walking home from school one afternoon just before her birthday. The pain and confusion of losing a child must be unimaginable; the desperate search for answers that no one can give a torment beyond understanding. I get that. What took me by surprise int his thoughtful, well-written novel, is the heartbreak that follows when your lost lamb is returned home, reminding me that in life, there is no flag waving in the distance to signal us when an event has concluded, but in its stead, a processes, overlapping other experiences. without a measurable end.

Written in a style reminiscent of Jodi Picoult, And Then She Was Gone broaches a topic that most of would rather close our eyes to; the personal experience of child abduction, and worse, the trauma that replaces the happily-ever-after that we all unrealistically cling to.

A physical copy of this book was provided by the publisher or author for purposes of review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Page Turner That Is Much Much More, February 23, 2014
This review is from: And Then She Was Gone (Paperback)
One doesn't expect a rich, complex novel--a meditation, really--about how the members of a loving family struggle in the aftermath of an unthinkable crime, to be a page-turner. But Rosalind Noonan's AND THEN SHE WAS GONE is just that. That, and much, much more. Noonan's story of the O'Neil family is at once poignant, deeply moving, and chock full of insight regarding how family relationships work in the real world. And the author weaves in a mystery that is only resolved in the last few pages of the book. Noonan chose to tell this story in the voices of the entire O'Neil family, a feat that should only be tried by the most skilled writers. She manages to combine these disparate voices into a seamless story that flows with a kind of effortless grace. If you're looking for a great read that is honest, thought-provoking, and uplifting, I strongly recommend you read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, heart breaking, captivating, engrossing highly recommended!, January 12, 2014
Received an emotional, heart breaking, extraordinary free good reads story And Then She Was Gone by Rosalind Noonan. I started reading this book and could not put it down until the end of the captivating story of Lauren O'Neil's struggles.
Lauren O'Neil, eleven years old, is walking home from school one day and stops to sketch a picture of a hummingbird and is kidnapped. Lauren's parents, Rachel and Dan, continue to search for Lauren for six years. Lauren's kidnapper, Kevin, has brainwashed her into believing that she is damaged goods and no one wants her. In addition to emotional and physical abuse, Lauren is sexually abused by Kevin and gives birth to a baby girl, Mackenzie. When Mackenzie, nicknamed Mac, is three years old, Mac and Lauren become violently ill. When Lauren is feeling better, she is informed that Mac passed away. Meanwhile, Kevin is arrested for robbery and Lauren is found. Lauren is scared and gravitates toward Paula, a social worker. Lauren opens up to Paula about some of her terrifying experiences. When Lauren's family come to see her, Lauren is shy, awkward, and wants to stay with Paula. As Lauren spends more time in therapy, she begins to see that it was not her fault the things that happened to her.
Read the engrossing, complex, insightful, emotionally charged recommended story And Then She Was Gone by Rosalind Noonan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book Club Read!, March 19, 2014
This review is from: And Then She Was Gone (Paperback)
This is one of those books you think is just going to be about a child getting kidnapped and then whether they are ever found. If they are found will they be dead or alive? This book covers much more than that. It really tells the story of the emotions of everyone involved and how victims sometimes find it easier to talk to and trust a complete stranger rather than their own family. For a mother to have to live through this is bad enough but then to have her daughter back and she wants nothing to do with her is another tragedy. I think the author did a wonderful job giving every character a voice and allowing the reader to experience the emotions that each person was going through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for this wonderful story!, March 7, 2014
This review is from: And Then She Was Gone (Paperback)
I couldn’t put this book down and, in fact, stayed up half the night to finish it. Rosalind Noonan’s insights into the human psyche show unusual wisdom and candor. She is so skillful at making her characters believable that you find yourself jumping on an emotional roller coaster right with them. My heart ached especially for the mother whose love for her daughter never wavered amidst great sorrow and joy. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful look into a family's tragedy that twists into an unexpected ending you won't want to put down., January 26, 2014
Although a new fan of Rosalind Noonan's, "And Then She Was Gone" is by far my favorite. This tragic Northwest story sucks you in from the start of how Lauren is abducted and brilliantly walks the fine line of filling in the details without going to far. She captures the pulse of an upscale posh town riveted by the notion that a horrific crime occurred in their backyard and their unrelenting search for Lauren. It's Noonan's gift of insight into the family dynamics throughout the story of Lauren's return that kept me wanting to read more. With the many missing children stories in the news all hoping for a happy ending, no one thinks of what happens to a family who does get their happy ending.

"All the time that she was gone, we were hurting for her," Rachael said. "We were missing a piece. I dreamed of her coming back to us, but I never thought that this could happen - that she would no longer fit. We're all like puzzle pieces left out in the rain. Swollen cardboard. Nothing fits together anymore."

As the story unfolds, a new twist emerges guaranteeing a page turner to the end. A great read you'll be glad you invested in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this book I didn't want to put down, the story just flowed and kept my interest the whole way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could Not Put this Book Down!, July 23, 2014
I could not put this book down. It portrays how a girl can be a true survivor after going through hell at a young age. Being kidnapped at 11...having a baby at 12 and then loosing your daughter when she is three. Oh and the entire time being led to believe you parent's don't care about you and no one will ever love you because you were used at such a young age. What this girl and this family had to deal with in this book had me so caught up I could not wait to see how the story for Lauren was going to end. I loved the book from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

And Then She Was Gone
And Then She Was Gone by Rosalind Noonan (Paperback - December 31, 2013)
$15.00 $11.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.