Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Paquet Parfait DVD (The Perfect DVD Package)
La Femme Publique (The Public Woman) (1984) is the story of aspiring young actress Ethel (played by the stunning and versatile Valérie Kaprisky), who by accepting a role in a film based on Dostoyevsky's 'The Possessed', directed by controversial Czech filmmaker Lucas Kessling (played with icy cool and raving madness by Francis Huster) is sucked into a world of...
Published on November 13, 2008 by Daniel J. Sardella

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad Acting Ruins Film
All the reviews rave about the Director, cinematography, soundtrack, etc., but all I saw was bad acting that couldn't be saved by the non-erotic nudity.
Published on March 4, 2009 by Chuckg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Paquet Parfait DVD (The Perfect DVD Package), November 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
La Femme Publique (The Public Woman) (1984) is the story of aspiring young actress Ethel (played by the stunning and versatile Valérie Kaprisky), who by accepting a role in a film based on Dostoyevsky's 'The Possessed', directed by controversial Czech filmmaker Lucas Kessling (played with icy cool and raving madness by Francis Huster) is sucked into a world of manipulation, political conspiracy and confusion.

There are many subplots in this film and the line between reality and acting is blurred for both Ethel and the viewer, but this doesn't detract from the beautifully composed shots, visual style and colors or the film itself.

This was the first film I've viewed by Polish director Andrzej Zulawski and it has left me impressed. I'll definitely be seeking out more films by him.

Video/Audio:

The Hi-Def Anamorphic film transfer (approved by Zulawski) retains the film's original 1.66:1 ratio and was undertaken by gifted UK videophile David Mackenzie ([...]) and it is a visual feast - clean, vibrant, film-like (grain!) and overall - amazing. The audio is crisp and well-balanced.

Supplements:

Commentary with Zulawski
An interesting interview with the director where he talks about, among other things, co-writing the film with the Dominique Garnier, author of the original novel.
Trailer
Image gallery

Package:

Here's the other area (besides the film transfer) where this DVD really shines. The Premium Collector's Edition packaging is absolutely gorgeous. It is black box with red holo-foil stamping, great artwork, 10 B&W photo reproductions (with their own envelope), a Certificate of Authenticity (ltd. to 2000), a CD soundtrack (track list is included) remastered by composer Alain Wisniak (I am a huge fan of DVD sets that include this) AND a glossy 48-page booklet featuring an essay by Daniel Bird (who moderates the DVD's Commentary) and interviews with the director and cast members from 1984. Best of all the whole package fits on your DVD shelf next to all your other standard clam shell cases (it's only slightly larger overall).

Final Thoughts:

This is a perfect film for fans of unconventional/drama/art house/indie/foreign flicks. Thank you Mondo Vision, this DVD set gives Criterion a run for their money. Here's hoping for more quality packages from this company. I only wish more films were treated this well.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

****/***** for this erotically charged drama
*****/***** for the Premium Collector's Edition DVD by Mondo Vision
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way cult movies should be presented!, June 29, 2009
By 
Aussie Joe "Aussie joe" (Melbourne, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Andrzej Zulawski's La Femme Publique (The Public Woman, 1984) UNCUT Special Edition [Digipak] by MONDO VISION (DVD)
Great, less hysterical, mid period Zulawski about an independent woman who tries to make it in the world of acting, amidst the usual exploitation one goes through to express themselves for commerce. She is sandwiched in a crazy bisexual love triangle between two psychotic male actors, one who thinks he's hitler, and the other who might as well be Hitlers boyfriend and is some some of political freedom fighter! Valerie Kaprisky is a sexual stun-gun, she appreas naked for large chunks of the film and has a booty that great artworks are based upon - including this film!

Mondo Vision has presented this film in an eye-watering print, you get a Zulawski commenatary and 15 minute interview. The disc itself is pretty much like your standard Blue Underground presentation, modest though not chock full of extras. The packaging of the disc itself is the kicker. Whilst this is only the 'sepcial edition', you get a digipack encased in solid carboard box with a little ribbon to help extract it from it's sleeve. Full colour thickish booklet with lots of intellectual essay work on Zulawski. My copy had little tissue paper insets to protect the booklet! This disc is a collector-scum's wet dream!

Seriously in a depressed market, the fact that Mondo Vision have gone to this length to present a fine intellectual obscurity like this, in such a presentation is cause enough to vote with your pocket and purchase it! It's worth every cent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Femm Publique A new release by Mondo Vision, December 8, 2008
By 
This review is from: Andrzej Zulawski's La Femme Publique (The Public Woman, 1984) UNCUT Special Edition [Digipak] by MONDO VISION (DVD)
I watched this newly released DVD and enjoyed it tremendously. I watched it several times and learned more with each viewing. This movie does not have the routine "happily ever after" ending that many viewers like. It may even disappoint some people; however it is, in my opinion, a masterpiece by Andezej Zulawski, a Polish director. This 1984 movie was made in the era of the political unrest in Eastern Europe. In this movie a young director( Francis Huster) hires a beautiful actress( Valerie Kaprisky)to play a role in his movie. This Young actress has been trying to get on the big screen and into the film business without much success. For survival, she has been dancing nude for a photographer who exploit her. The movie is a mixture of suspense, violence, exploitation, paranoia, sex, nudity and political plots. It was based on Dastoyevsky's "The Possessed". The conclusion is left to the viewer since Zulawski leaves the ending open to your interpretation. The screenplay is written by Dominique Carnier and modified by Zulawski. It could be assumed that part of the character of the director in the film is Zulawski's own character and the story is about making a movie, similar to 8 1/2 by Fellini and the Player by Robert Altman. Viewer may need to review the movie for several times in order to appreciate Zulawski's artistry and talent. I certainly learned more each time I saw it.

It ts introduced by Mondo Vision to the Market with a very attractive packaging, a useful booklet and an interesting interview with Mr. Zulawski.

Congratulation to Mondo Vision for producing a superb art piece as their first product into the market. This version with clear English subtitles will add to Mr. Zulawski's fame. the new viewer gets a chance to know and learn about this controversial director.

A must see DVD, to learn and enjoy this masterpiece of film making. Wish the best of success for Mondo Vision and I hope to see more work from this compant.

Kosrow Nowroozi,MD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faultless!, March 15, 2009
Utterly briliant package with a wealth of extras sure to satisfy any true fan of Zulawski's. Great film, beautiful transfer and timeless commentary by Zulawski. Well worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film lover's dream, November 19, 2008
By 
Luminoso (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow! The transfer of this film is amazing! Prior to last night I'd only seen LFP on a murky Canadian vhs rental and an equally dark (visually - the story is another matter) Asian dvd release - both sans subtitles. Even with inky shadows and soupy colors I was so taken with this film - the story, the direction and the performances that I signed up for this release the day I got the Amazon notice! Now, finally seeing LFP as it was originally intended, I am amazed at how much the overall impact of the film is intensified - and LFP is pretty high voltage even in half-light!

Previous reviewers have laid out the storyline, so I'll omit a synopsis of Ethel's journey to her big break as an actress. Suffice it to say, Zulawski is a master at taking what is essentially an over-the-top story, setting it in a specific historical context, and then making it chillingly real.

As to the extras, the essays and transcribed 1984 interviews (what tipped me to the premium ed) are fascinating and well worth the extra cost. Interesting to project on where many of the principals are now compared to their comments made almost 25 years ago.

Zulawski's commentary and on-camera interview give the viewer a glimpse into his attitudes and philosophy of film direction as well as specifics about making the film and creating an adapted screenplay. Interesting for film buffs; invaluable to screenwriters. The soundtrack is a stand alone bonus I didn't expect to enjoy this much. Now it's on my favorites play list.

There is no fluff here. The Premium Edition is crammed with great stuff not the least of which is a fabulous transfer of a truly intriguing film.

Way to go Mondo Vision... so what's next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This film must have your undivided attention while viewing.
This is due to the sub title translation throughout
It is a story about a young woman that as it unfolds the viewer
,taking the time to digest the scene, can follow and understand.
There is alot of sex for sure which may offend some people but
this is not free love. It is her love, her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Andrzej Zulawski's La Femme Publique (The Public Woman, 1984) UNCUT Special Edition [Digipak] by MONDO VISION (DVD)
despite the different way used to show his idea, i really thought it was a good thing to watch as long as you very 'flexible' view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Andrzej Zulawski's La Femme Publique (The Public Woman, 1984) UNCUT Special Edition [Digipak] by MONDO VISION (DVD)
One of my favorites from the Zulawski's filmography! Possession fans who are interested in seeing other films by the same director should consider this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Criterion watch out!!!, February 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Andrzej Zulawski's La Femme Publique (The Public Woman, 1984) UNCUT Special Edition [Digipak] by MONDO VISION (DVD)
If you appreciate high quality transfers with outstanding extras that not only add but enhance the film watching experience then BUY THIS.
Criterion watch out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very, very good actrice with a super dance!, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Schade, dass die Sprache nicht Deutsch ist.
Aber die Hauptdarstellerin ist mit ihrem Tanz ganz große Klasse!!!
Ich hätte davon gerne mehr gesehen.
Freundliche Grüße
Michael Menzel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.